BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Anna Karenina

Average Rating 3.5
( 465 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

92 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

One of the Greatest Novels Ever Written

This is one of the greatest, most beautiful and most heartbreaking novels ever written. No wonder Oprah Winfrey selected it, even though it was written well over a hundred years ago!

posted by Nick_The_Book_Lover on February 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

101 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

Garnett not a good translation

Tolstoy's Anna Karenina is all that and then some, but let's talk translations. This is the same 1901 rendering by Constance Garnett used in most of the e-editions out there. Though familiar (especially for its opening sentence), it is widely criticized for its deficien...
Tolstoy's Anna Karenina is all that and then some, but let's talk translations. This is the same 1901 rendering by Constance Garnett used in most of the e-editions out there. Though familiar (especially for its opening sentence), it is widely criticized for its deficiencies and considered a poor choice among better alternatives. The 1918 Maude translation is far better. It is the one most read in college literature classes. The Norton Critical Edition uses the Maude translation, with some revisions by George Gibian. That edition has not been published for e-readers, but a good NOOK edition of the Maude translation is attached to this review (or search "Anna Karenina Maude"). The 2000 translation by Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky is the one associated with Oprah's Book Club. Oprah selected the novel itself more than a particular translation, but a print edition of the Pevear and Volokhonsky translation was featured on her website, so people think of that one as Oprah's pick. The NOOK edition is attached to this review (or search "Anna Karenina Pevear"). It is a matter of taste which translation is preferable, the Maude or the Peavear and Volokhonsky. The influence of the translator is second only to the author in shaping the text. The quality of the translation is crucial.

posted by ereaderbookworm on March 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    Don't buy this e-book

    Don't buy this e-book. It is full of typographical errors. I am so disappointed! I am only a few pages into this book and I cannot believe the poor quality. How hard can it be to get it correct. I have asked for a refund, we'll see how that goes...... ArgoKR

    36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    Extremely poor transcription

    I don't recall ever reading an ebook with more blatant errors. Although most of the misspelled/partial words can be deciphered, it greatly detracts from the readability. It is obvious that no effort went into the making of this book other than a likely OCR scan from what may have been a poor quality original text. A simple running of a spell checker could have probably caught at least 95% of the errors, but that would still amount to thousands of corrections.

    27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    A classic ruined by poor conversion quality

    I wish I had read the other reviews before I bought this one! I'd always wanted to read the book, so didn't think I needed to check out ratings. The frequency of typing/spelling errors was mindboggling, and should have been caught by any basic spell check; there was at least one on every page. Every couple of days, I would go back to it and try to give it another shot, but I would give up in irritation after a few pages. There's no excuse for publishing such a poor quality version of this classic.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    Masterpiece, but the e-book is full of typos

    There are 6 typos per page on average, the book had gotten digitized, and never corrected. Save your 99 cents and download for free from Project Gutenberg. I expected better quality control from B&N.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    THIS E-BOOK SHOULD BE WITHDRAWN - FULL OF ERRORS, TYPOS, MIS-SPELLING

    The lack of editing in this eBook is a disgrace!!!!! I cannot believe B&N had the audacity to charge for this disaster - Never-ending spelling mistakes and typos - it becomes impossible to read with so many errors.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    This printed version is TERRIBLE!

    I have always loved this book but there are so many extreme typos on each page, that the book is unreadable. It looks as though they put a typewriter in a cage of monkeys. A huge disappointment.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Great Book! Horrible publication!

    Of course Tolstoy is marvelous. However, this particular E-book publication is horrible. There are at least two spelling errors on each page. Get another printing of this book.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    Don't buy this version

    This story is good and I have no problem with the book itself, however, the B&N version is terrible. There are spelling errors and typos on nearly every "page". Not worth the $.99.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    Tolstoy must be rolling over in his grave

    Like several other reviewers, I was very frustrated by the huge number of typos in this e-book. I'm shocked at the poor quality - it's a disgrace to this amazing work of art. I love my nook -- fortunately I read other typo-free books on it before this one. I was so pleased to see such a great e-book deal for Anna Karenina but have since gone back to my paper version because of all the errors.

    Did I hear that there are other e-versions of the book that are typo-free?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    Too many spelling errors!

    With all the spelling errors, it feels like you are trying to translate from the original Russian. I know it is under a dollar, but why would B&N even put something of such poor quality on their web site?
    Spend the extra money and buy another version of this book- the story is excellent!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Filled with Typos

    As some of the other reviews have stated, this version of Anna Karenina was FILLED with typos -- at least 1 in 10 words was misspelled, some so badly that it was impossible to decipher what the word should be. This greatly affected the overall reading experience. Love the story, but buy another version.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Butchered Tripe

    This isn't a review of the book, but this edition of the book: The butchered one. If you're considering it, you're crazy. It's abridged. Know what that means? They took one of the greatest classics of all time, chopped out the parts that made the really eventful parts pop so that it has no major part anymore, and just...destroyed the book. Imagine your favorite movie limited to a tiny small limit. This isn't even half the book, it's LESS than that. WAY less than that. If you want to read the book, read the book, not a really big summary.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Skipped chapters!

    I would like to have finished this book, but in the first 1/4 of the book, it totally skipped chapters! Can't remember now how many, but enough that I couldn't make sense of what I was then reading. I e-mailed B&N, but never heard back from them. I was going to delete it from my library, but maybe someone there will read this and follow up. Hope springs eternal....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Terrible Nook Book

    Don't load this book. Large chunks of the text are missing and they are some of the most important parts of the book. you will miss the whole experience.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    DO NOT BUY

    Such a mess with errors and missing pages, can't believe it's being sold!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Don't buy it

    Missing a huge chunk, all out of order, some spelling mistakes. I was so excited about my nook and this version showed me the medium's short comings, very sad. I hope other books I buy are not like this. I will definitely read the reviews before I buy on the nook from now on. Barnes and Noble should try to filter these out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    DO NOT BUY THIS COPY (But do read Anna Karenina, just not this version.)

    The translations and format is of such poor quality I gave up and went out and bought the real book to be able to truly enjoy the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Dont buy

    This version has errors that prevent it from being read. The chapters are out of order and incorrect. The contents do not exist. You will be robbed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Missing words and sentences

    Do not buy this edition. It is filled with multiple instances of missing words and sentences. I am going to try to call customer service- surely they must know there are many problems with this edition. How can they charge money for a book that is incorrectly typed????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    Poor translation, I was not able to get the links to work. Dont

    Poor translation, I was not able to get the links to work. Dont buy this version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5