Customer Reviews for

Anna Karenina

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

HIghly recommend

The picture doesn't do it justice---it isn't pastel--it is a rich red, gold, and blue! I LOVE it---a perfect addition to my library!

posted by EHD on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I wish the reviews for this book would consist to the Barnes and

I wish the reviews for this book would consist to the Barnes and Noble Leatherbound  Classic I am reviewing for purchase . I am recieving a million e-book reviews. B&N please, please do a better job not lumping all reviews together. We classic buyers want to know if...
I wish the reviews for this book would consist to the Barnes and Noble Leatherbound  Classic I am reviewing for purchase . I am recieving a million e-book reviews. B&N please, please do a better job not lumping all reviews together. We classic buyers want to know if there are problem with the latest editions, translations and font sizes. Thanks.

posted by BirdieOH on June 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    I wish the reviews for this book would consist to the Barnes and

    I wish the reviews for this book would consist to the Barnes and Noble Leatherbound  Classic I am reviewing for purchase . I am recieving a million e-book reviews. B&N please, please do a better job not lumping all reviews together. We classic buyers want to know if there are problem with the latest editions, translations and font sizes. Thanks.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The cover of the book was the first thing that caught me - It re

    The cover of the book was the first thing that caught me - It reminded me of my favorite Yule bauble as a child. When I read the overview, I thought it sounded wonderful, so I got it.
    It's a tragic story, about affairs and family, mostly. Anna Arkadyevna Karenina married her 20 year older husband Count Alexei Alexandrovich Karenin young, but not out of love, and she finds what she thinks is love in the young and handsome Count Alexei Kirillovich Vronsky; they have an affair, and she gets pregnant. Karenin is of course furious, and takes their young son Sergei "Seryozha" Alexeyich Karenin away from her, but refuses to divorce her, and leaves her miserable.
    Another story in this novel is about Konstantin "Kostya" Dmitrievich Levin, who wants to marry the young Princess Ekaterina "Kitty" Alexandrovna Shcherbatskaya, who is the sister-in-law of Anna's brother (wow, confusing). So we get to see him deal with his own personal issues as well, which I personally found a little distracting, but okay.
    Honestly, I wouldn't really recommend this 800-page novel for everyone. I'm usually used to heavy reading, though this was very difficult to read I felt, and I had difficulty in remembering which characters where who - And there are even sentences in conversations in french and german. Though the chapters are very short, only a few pages, so you can get through it. So I would recommend this to adults, maybe specialty interested young adults. Maybe if you liked the movie, and like big books, you should give it a try.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    HIghly recommend

    The picture doesn't do it justice---it isn't pastel--it is a rich red, gold, and blue! I LOVE it---a perfect addition to my library!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2015

    Barnes and Noble do it again! An excellent product, expertly man

    Barnes and Noble do it again! An excellent product, expertly manufactured and intrinsically beautiful in design. A must-have, must-read book, not a Dan Brown-esque page tuner but high brow literature testamentary of contemporary Russian works. I shipped this product to Malta and it only took 2 weeks to be delivered, excellent stuff!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    So lovely

    Everything about this book is lovely. I'm so happy I bought it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I have only once had a poor experience ordering with Barnes & Noble as a member. Every other time has been wonderful and this was no exception. I had seen this in store several times and had wanted to get it since it was such a beautiful cover to a classic story and a great classic to have. I decided to treat myself to it for Christmas and am glad I did. It arrived in 2 days, even with the weather delays with shipping and was a wonderful addition to my holiday. Enjoy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    awesome

    just for display never intend to unwrap

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely love! Barnes and Noble has done it again, I love all

    Absolutely love! Barnes and Noble has done it again, I love all of their
    leatherbound classics and this one is no exception. Would recommend to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    The new leatherbound cover is inexcusably bad. Way too busy, ug

    The new leatherbound cover is inexcusably bad. Way too busy, ugly colors, bad design. Was this rushed out because of the upcoming movie?

    What happened to the clean, simple, stylish covers like Tom Sawyer, Frankenstein, The Scarlet Letter, etc.

    What an upsetting missed opportunity for the leatherbound collection.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1