BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Anna Karenina (Maude Translation) Complete and Unabridged NOOK Book / Best Translation / Proofread and Formatted Error Free / Includes Tolstoy Biography and Life in Images

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Quality Edition; Still the Best Translation

This NOOK edition lives up to its billing for quality, and the Maude translation of Anna Karenina is still the best. The popular view is that the more recent translation by Pevear and Volokhonsky (made famous by Oprah's Book Club) is better. But new isn't necessarily im...
This NOOK edition lives up to its billing for quality, and the Maude translation of Anna Karenina is still the best. The popular view is that the more recent translation by Pevear and Volokhonsky (made famous by Oprah's Book Club) is better. But new isn't necessarily improved, and modernizing the language doesn't necessarily make it better. I have read and thoroughly enjoyed the Maude translation. It is reputedly the closest to the texture of Tolstoy's original -- which might feel a bit outdated now, but I don't want my classics updated.

posted by Daywriter on March 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

My husband is Russian, born and raised in Moscow. There are two main reasons I would never read this translation. The first is the cover art. Replacing the "R" in Karenina with an inverted "R" to make it seem Russian is silly, since that particular Cyrillic letter is a ...
My husband is Russian, born and raised in Moscow. There are two main reasons I would never read this translation. The first is the cover art. Replacing the "R" in Karenina with an inverted "R" to make it seem Russian is silly, since that particular Cyrillic letter is a vowel that makes the sound "ya". Sadly, this is done often in movie titles, etc and it drives my husband nuts. The second is the anglicizing of the names. Matvey becomes Matthew, Stepan becomes Stephan, etc. I see no reason for this. I am reading a Russian novel I would expect to see Russian names. I recommend the Kent/Berberova revision of the Garnett translation.

posted by 7896002 on April 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Quality Edition; Still the Best Translation

    This NOOK edition lives up to its billing for quality, and the Maude translation of Anna Karenina is still the best. The popular view is that the more recent translation by Pevear and Volokhonsky (made famous by Oprah's Book Club) is better. But new isn't necessarily improved, and modernizing the language doesn't necessarily make it better. I have read and thoroughly enjoyed the Maude translation. It is reputedly the closest to the texture of Tolstoy's original -- which might feel a bit outdated now, but I don't want my classics updated.

    28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Excellent classic for the NOOK!

    I especially liked the author's life in images section! I enjoyed seeing pictures of Tolstoy and his family. This is one of the best NOOK versions of any book I have read, classic or modern. It looks nice, and I haven't found any typos. Great job!!!

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    Totally worth the extra couple dollars!

    I really appreciated the cleanliness of the text! An edition like this makes a big difference -- without the irritation of typos, I was free to enjoy the beauty of this classic love story. It's totally worth the extra couple dollars. Levin and Kitty are two of my favorite characters in the world. Here's to them and Leo Tolstoy for bringing them to life!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Anna Karenina/Maude

    so glad that I checked many reviews before deciding on this translation. this book is wonderful

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    My husband is Russian, born and raised in Moscow. There are two main reasons I would never read this translation. The first is the cover art. Replacing the "R" in Karenina with an inverted "R" to make it seem Russian is silly, since that particular Cyrillic letter is a vowel that makes the sound "ya". Sadly, this is done often in movie titles, etc and it drives my husband nuts. The second is the anglicizing of the names. Matvey becomes Matthew, Stepan becomes Stephan, etc. I see no reason for this. I am reading a Russian novel I would expect to see Russian names. I recommend the Kent/Berberova revision of the Garnett translation.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great Book and Translation - Recommended Minimum age of 30 Before Reading

    Having read Anna Karenina over forty years ago in High School, it was a real treat to read the book as an adult. It makes no sense to me why English teachers would have adolescents read this book when none of their life experiences relate to the events described. As other reviewers have indicated, the Maude translation is excellent.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    This is the best translation. hands down.   I purchased another

    This is the best translation. hands down.   I purchased another translation of Anna Karenina  for my  nook, by mistake. It had 
     typos, etc. OK, my fault.  I discarded that (translation) with it's typos from my nook.  As I took the steps to discard, I was warned
    I would have to purchase "Anna Karenina", again, if I wanted to have it on my nook. OK.   BUT, I have tried and tried, and spent hours "chatting"
     with nook support and I am NOT able to purchase this translation of "Anna Kanenina" . It would seem reasonable one could purchase 
    as many  different translations  of a novel that exist, if that's what you want to do  and are willing to pay to do that.
     It is not in my nook library as b & n insists. I am just baffled. Baffled. Any thoughts, anyone...? 
       

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Great novel! And this translation was wonderful! It was very e

    Great novel! And this translation was wonderful! It was very easy to read and understand - this is the version everyone should read on their e-reader!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    The cure for Insomina

    I am a lover of books of all eras, themes, and genres. But there is nothing to love about this story. Anna Karenina is by far one of the most over-hyped books of the twentieth century. Every page is a struggle to get through as the story slowly winds through chapter upon chapter of Russian farming, boring party scenes and Anna's neurotic jealousy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    Poor translation

    Poor translation

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2