Customer Reviews for

Anna Karenina (Pevear/Volokhonsky Translation)

Average Rating 4
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    One of the best books I ever read

    I must say I didn't want this book to end. I got caught up in the story and had a hard time putting the book down. I tried to read this book many years ago but couldn't get started. Pevear and Volokhonsky are brilliant. Thank you for your wonderful translation. I'm looking forward to reading your other works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    Thanks for a great read, Oprah!

    I read this book when I was just thirteen, but I absolutely loved it. My favorite character was Levin, since I could relate to his inner stuggles. It is a beautiful, dark tale of love and heartbreak. The writing is suberb. I might even tackle War and Peace now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2005

    Best book on love I've read

    Hats off to tackling one of the hardest themes in literature. The whole book deals with love, in its myriad of forms. Since the topic is so broad, it takes a lot of different characters to accurately describe it. Tolstoy doesn't skimp on flushing out more of the supporting cast. That's evident by some of the reviewers' attachment to Levin and Kitty. As to the translation, I thought it was easily readable and colloquial. I'm dying to read War and Peace, but I'm holding out in hopes that Pevear and Volokhonsky come out with their own translation. In the meantime, I'm settling for their translation of Brother's Karamazov- which definately isn't a complete waste. Word of the wise when switching to the BK- it took me well over 100pgs before I got into, but then it flew. If you have trouble with slow starts, I hear Crime and Punishment is the better one to read as it grips you with an opening murder scene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    Read this book with Oprah

    I found this book hard to put down. I don't know why the title Anna Karenina came about - the story is about many characters. Levin was my favorite. The ending seemed to drag on, almost as if Leo Tolstoy didn't know how to end it or didn't want to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2004

    Amazing

    This book was so well translated that despite the Russian names and occasional awkward phrases, reading it was as smooth as reading Mitch Albom. I enjoyed the book because it conveyed a passion and darkness that only the Russian prespective can convey. There were many levels to this book, the culture and politics were was simply the outer level.There were intricacies that I am sure were above my level of understanding. This book can be as deep and powerful as the reader can handle. I would recommend it to anyone with the committment to see it through!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2004

    Stands the test of time

    This elegant story is a reminder of how well an author can reach a reader without modern day vulgarity. Tolstoy is captivating with his delivery of a true love story. I did not find this book cumbersome or difficult. It is a story that plays out like a symphony and gives the reader a chance to use imagination instead of an author's biased stance on sex, love and matrimony. Tolstoy was clever and dignified with the seduction scenes which in no way compare to tired, fictional trysts found today in nearly every novel. The character development is brutally honest and shows great confidence and skill in writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2004

    Transformation

    A wonderful novel of the human transformation of Anna and Levin. I throughly enjoyed the translation...excellent reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    Marathon Books Worth Reading!

    A 'marathon book' is a book that is not only going to take a lot of time for you to read, but it is also a book that will force you to exit yourself and enter a new way of thinking. You will have to accept new rules, new scenarios, new kinds of motives. 'Anna Karenina' is a book of stories intertwined. The characters are real to the point that we must live with them throughout the events of their lives. Anna is comfortable in a marriage to a man she does not love. She has a son and he is singly her whole life. A nobleman soons falls in love with her and pursues her until he convinces her to become his lover.This is just the beginning and I must not say much more for fear that I will spoil it for you. I recommend this book. Like the other great 'marathon books' ie: 'moby dick', 'lucky monkeys in the sky', 'war and peace', etc., 'Anna' will not only engross you, it will devour you for the time and feeling you devote to it. Like 'lucky monkeys in the sky' and the other forementioned novels, 'Anna' carries the themes: fate,death, the meaning of life, and faith. You will most likely love it or hate it, but, most of all, you will think. In the end, I believe, it will be a devotion well worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Disappear for awhile

    After reading Tolstoy in high school, I came back to this novel after college, and this translation blew me away. I would recommend 'Anna Karenina' to anyone: definetly worth locking yourself up for a week or two to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    A tale of tales┬┐

    What we have here is a conglomeration of short stories sewn together into one wonderful tale. For the most part, the stories swirl around the life of Anna Karenina, a lady that has conformed with her life. She lives in a comfortable marriage and a boy that she loves to death. But that safe world would quickly be turned upside down when love, the one thing that she really is missing, comes calling in the name of Count Vronsky. Anna is torn between what is right and what is desired. Her desires trump righteousness and she succumbs to the yearning arms of the nobleman. After they pursue their passion, the happily-ever-after ending seems to avoid them. Is the Count willing to continue their relationship? Is she truly happy with this adulterous affair or will she want more? In the middle of the affair is another relationship begging to blossom. Levin, a calm and collective farmer that has deep thought about life itself is in love with Kitty. However, Kitty has a crush on the Count and that throws blinders on what is right in front of her. Eventually, the story will show two types of relationships with these four characters. Anna and Vronsky¿s sinfully passionate versus the path of logic of Levin and Kitty. Overall, the story is one that cannot be ignored. For better or worse, you will have to opinionate on it. It forces you to like it or leave it. There is no room for indifference. I enjoyed the tale and recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    One of the best

    Blown away. Tolstoy writes with great description.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    A Timeless Classic

    Not only one of the greatest novels ever written, but now wonderfully translated by Pevear & Volokhonsky. I hope War and Peace is also on their itinerary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2001

    I was sad to have to finish!

    This book is now one of my all time favorites. I work at a library, so I read a lot! Even though this is lengthy, it is well worth every bit. Don't be discourage by the length!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4