Customer Reviews for

Anna Karenina (Signet Classics)

Average Rating 5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    A great love story

    This remarkable story by one of the few mega-novelists of all times is an ageless story that is more real than fiction. I decided to read a copy of this book on my way to vacation last the summer and ended up spending most of my first week being glued to the book. Though it is a Russian story of a century and a half ago, its essence still resonates today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    A 16 Year Old's Opinion

    As a teenager I hardly have to to ever read a long book. But this novel was the greatest piece of literature i have ever had in my possession. It was very clear on its message and was very thrilling on the realisticness of human behavior.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    Wow! I haven't read such a thrilling book in a long time! Anna karinina is one of the best novels I have ever read! It weaves the two lives of Anna and Levin seamlessly and keeps your attention to the very end. I definitly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    Best of the Classics

    I think Anna Kerenina is the best of Tolstoy's work and consider it one of the best novels ever written. Tolstoy weaves a tale like no other author and with every chapter you will be amazed at his way of describing a situation to the reader or his keen insight into human behavior. Highly Recommended. If you want to try Tolstoy on a smaller scale, try some of his short stories such as 'How much land does a man need?'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    Marathon Books Worth Reading

    A 'marathon book' is a book that is not only going to take a lot of time for you to read, but it is also a book that will force you to exit yourself and enter a new way of thinking. You will have to accept new rules, new scenarios, new kinds of motives. 'Anna Karenina' is a book of stories intertwined. The characters are real to the point that we must live with them throughout the events of their lives. Anna is comfortable in a marriage to a man she does not love. She has a son and he is singly her whole life. A nobleman soons falls in love with her and pursues her until he convinces her to become his lover.This is just the beginning and I must not say much more for fear that I will spoil it for you. I recommend this book. Like the other great 'marathon books' ie: 'moby dick', 'lucky monkeys in the sky', 'war and peace', etc., 'Anna' will not only engross you, it will devour you for the time and feeling you devote to it. Like 'lucky monkeys in the sky' and the other forementioned novels, 'Anna' carries the themes: fate,death, the meaning of life, and faith. You will most likely love it or hate it, but, most of all, you will think. In the end, I believe, it will be a devotion well worth the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    The Best Novel of all TIme!

    When i settled down to read Anna Karenina, i was prepared to enjoy a book that i had heard was remarkable. After the first chapter, i knew it was more than that; it is the best book ever written! It takes you along the sordid road of Anna Karenina's life, and the more pleasent and sefl fulfilling one of Levin. This book delves into the human spirit, morality, and human weakness and emotion. Leo Tolstoy is an OUTSTANDING writer who deserves the applauses of millions. I reccommend this book to every living person!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    i really liked this book.

    i really liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    Doom and Tranquility

    This is the perfect portrait of society in czarist Russia, besides being a fantastic novel. The characters are vivid, the storylines compelling. Through reading this book you will get a better understanding of yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2004

    A disappointment

    As this is a classic and considered by some as 'the best novel ever written', I was disappointed. The story moved very slowly and was anti-climatic. I found myself forcing myself to finish it waiting for something to happen. Not much did. I think that the early relationship between Anna and Vronsky should have been developed in more detail. A better read would be The Crimson Petal and the White or The Forsyte Saga.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    Great Book!

    Anna Karenina is truly one of my favorite novels of all time! I'm a senior in high school and I read this novel for my 11th grade A.P. English Literature class. The plot is rich and captivating, and the 'drama' that occurs throughout the book, as well as the decisions made by Anna and the antagonists in the novel makes it a truly heart breaking tragedy. Just a must-read masterpiece! I totally enjoyed reading this beautiful piece of literature!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2003

    A truely captivating book

    I absolutly couldn't put this book down! I love the contrast between the lives of the characters. It is amazing how Tolstoy gives all of his characters their own individual personalities. I am a 13 year old girl in the 8th grade, but I loved this book exceedingly. The beginning is captivating, the middle is unbelievable, and the end is tragic, but prepossessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2003

    Beauitful

    I read this book several years ago, and recently read it again. I was still amazed at how well written it is, and how wonderfully Tolstoy makes the story accessible to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2002

    Worthwhile Reading

    This is a wonderfully written love story. There are some passages that are a bit tedious, but plow through them and reap the rewards (and satisfaction)of having read a real classic. As with any good book, I wanted to know more about what happened to the characters after the book ended. Tolstoy's insights into history and into personal dynamics and complexities are astounding. Although the book is over 120 years old, it still has appeal to a modern reader with all of the wonders of life's tragedies and triumphs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    My favorite novel! Highly Recommended:

    Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy was fantastic! I couldn't put the book down until I was finished. The plot is so deep and mysterious. I found myself falling in love with the charachters and the story felt so realistic. I give it an A+!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2000

    Definitely Worth the Time

    This is a long book, but it is great partially because it is long. The author gives a lot of depth to the characters and creates believability in them. The translation is very readable, and all it really takes is the time to get through the 1000+ pages. People who try to summarize the theme as 'Don't commit adultery' are missing the point of the book. The characterization is so well, that every reader should be able to identify a little with each character in the book. If the reader is honest and reflects seriously, he(she) should be able to recognize himself(herself) in a lot of places here. This is really a book to help you get to know yourself. It is one of those rare things that can actually make you a better person. It can help you lead a better life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1