Customer Reviews for

Anna and the French Kiss

Average Rating 4.5
( 620 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(501)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Phenomenal Read!

Anna and the French Kiss is a phenomenal read. It is one of those books that draw you into the plot and it feels like you are actually there. The characters are very easy to connect to because they are teenagers who are very much human. By giving the characters faults a...
Anna and the French Kiss is a phenomenal read. It is one of those books that draw you into the plot and it feels like you are actually there. The characters are very easy to connect to because they are teenagers who are very much human. By giving the characters faults and human qualities, Perkins makes the characters come alive! The plot was easy to follow with a few surprises here and there. Anna is the one that I could connect to the most. I could picture myself in her shoes and the happenings in the story were so life-like that they could have actually happened. To think that this book is actually filled with teenage drama, I actually loved this book and would recommend it to any teenage girl who is looking for a great book to read over the summer. I am looking forward to reading the next two books written by Perkins. Hopefully they will contain the same life-like qualities that draw you in.

posted by Girl-with-da-Boots on May 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Not my style, but I eniyed it.

I only read this book because John Green showed a glimmer of interest in it. Had I not been influenced, I would have never given it a chance. Sappy teenage novels don't do it for me. Generally. But this one wasn't awful. In fact, I can relate to the collegebound-new-in-...
I only read this book because John Green showed a glimmer of interest in it. Had I not been influenced, I would have never given it a chance. Sappy teenage novels don't do it for me. Generally. But this one wasn't awful. In fact, I can relate to the collegebound-new-in-town aspect and I enjoyed Anna's voice. This was the first book I've read on my nook, so there's even more sentimetal value. Good writing, not a very complex story line. It was aiight.

posted by Anonymous on December 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    ugh

    toooo predictable! seriously! oooh lovely girl meets lovely guy and kaboom ther an item. no. doesnt work that way, sorry

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Utterly Adorable--A Fun Read

    Overall, Stephanie Perkins has a way with getting into the teenage girl's psyche and it works. This isn't some epic tale, but it's a fun, exhilarating read full of awkward, adorable and Parisian moments. The setting is intricate, the characters well-developed.

    I highly recommend this, especially for those looking for a feel-good romance.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A cheating romantic interest doesn't work for me...

    Well, I don't even know what to say about this one because it I rarely talk about books that I didn't enjoy. However, so many people loved Anna and the French Kiss while I had such a strong dislike that I feel like I should explain why it didn't work for me. But be warned, this has spoilers so do not read on if you don't like spoilers of any kind. Basically I didn't like the cheating that the two main characters do and how it was handled. And before someone tries to say "but wait, they didn't cheat!" read the book again. Because Etienne even admits to cheating on page 363 (in hardcover edition). Etienne: "I'm saying I'm in love with you! I've been in love with you this whole bleeding year!" Anna: My mind spins. "But Ellie-" Etienne: "I cheated on her every day. In my mind, I thought of you in ways I shouldn't have, again and again. She was nothing compared to you. I've never felt this way about anybody before-" And although he only admits to the emotional cheating and denies "actual cheating" in that same conversation, he does pursue Anna, flirtatiously touch her, and even spent several nights sleeping in same bed with her (though they do not have sexual contact) while still in the relationship with his long-term girlfriend Ellie. This kind of intimacy and emotional cheating just threw me completely! I didn't like that the storyline seemed to try and make all of it okay, or that major distress in life like a family member with cancer made Etienne's indiscretions logical or understandable. I was kind of okay with the character of Anna because she at least tries to do the right thing, but even so it wasn't enough for me to be okay with the story. I hated Etienne for his leading on of girls! He leads on not only Anna, but also his long term girlfriend who he cheats on emotionally and physically (kissing Anna, sleeping in her room, flirty touches in movie theater etc), and also leads on a friend named Meredith with a crush on him! As pointed out in excerpt below by Rashmi(page 315 hardcover) : Anna: "I wasn't thinking, it just happened. I've ruined everything. She hates me. Etienne hates me!" Josh: "St. Clair definitely doesn't hate you," Josh says. Rashmi: "Though if I were Mer, I'd hate him." Rashmi scowls. "He's been leading her on for way too long." Josh is indignant. "He's never once given her the impression that he liked her more than a friend." Rashmi: "Yeah but he's never discouraged her!" Josh: "He's been dating Ellie for a year and a half. You'd think that'd be discouragement enough-oh. Sorry, Anna." Anna: I sob harder. I just could not get past all of these infidelities that happen repeatedly because of Etienne. And in my opinion, cheating is cheating no matter if it's emotional or physical in form. So yeah, I think he's a douche LOL Especially because he dragged it out for a year!! Overall, while I didn't like the book, I know a lot of others did. SO check it out, decide for yourself if you think Etienne is swoon-worthy or not.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Kiss

    This book is ok i wish i can kiss my boyfriend like that hes is 10

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Yuck

    I realize that most people who have read this book enjoyed it but I ccould not even get past the first few chapters. Anna was an idiot. Maybe it is because I love learning about different cultures but she was rude and pathetic. I would not recommend this book. I was sick of Anna's voice on the first page. I do not even want to get into the plot because whileI have not read the book I already know what happens.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Nope.

    This book was such a waste of money. I was constantly cringing because it was so bad. First of all Anna has a gap between her teeth!! A GAP. Gross. Also she has a stripe in her hair that makes her look like a skunk. The guy, St. Claire, is shorter than her. It's just WEIRD! Anna is not even a likable character. The supporting characters are not likable either. Also, her dad is like Nicholas Sparks. Yeah, he rights novels and has movies made about them. I'm sorry but I like to read books with characters that I can relate to and root for. Do not read this book.

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1