Customer Reviews for

Anna and the French Kiss

Average Rating 4.5
( 653 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(532)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Phenomenal Read!

Anna and the French Kiss is a phenomenal read. It is one of those books that draw you into the plot and it feels like you are actually there. The characters are very easy to connect to because they are teenagers who are very much human. By giving the characters faults a...
Anna and the French Kiss is a phenomenal read. It is one of those books that draw you into the plot and it feels like you are actually there. The characters are very easy to connect to because they are teenagers who are very much human. By giving the characters faults and human qualities, Perkins makes the characters come alive! The plot was easy to follow with a few surprises here and there. Anna is the one that I could connect to the most. I could picture myself in her shoes and the happenings in the story were so life-like that they could have actually happened. To think that this book is actually filled with teenage drama, I actually loved this book and would recommend it to any teenage girl who is looking for a great book to read over the summer. I am looking forward to reading the next two books written by Perkins. Hopefully they will contain the same life-like qualities that draw you in.

posted by Girl-with-da-Boots on May 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Not my style, but I eniyed it.

I only read this book because John Green showed a glimmer of interest in it. Had I not been influenced, I would have never given it a chance. Sappy teenage novels don't do it for me. Generally. But this one wasn't awful. In fact, I can relate to the collegebound-new-in-...
I only read this book because John Green showed a glimmer of interest in it. Had I not been influenced, I would have never given it a chance. Sappy teenage novels don't do it for me. Generally. But this one wasn't awful. In fact, I can relate to the collegebound-new-in-town aspect and I enjoyed Anna's voice. This was the first book I've read on my nook, so there's even more sentimetal value. Good writing, not a very complex story line. It was aiight.

posted by Anonymous on December 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 532 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Phenomenal Read!

    Anna and the French Kiss is a phenomenal read. It is one of those books that draw you into the plot and it feels like you are actually there. The characters are very easy to connect to because they are teenagers who are very much human. By giving the characters faults and human qualities, Perkins makes the characters come alive! The plot was easy to follow with a few surprises here and there. Anna is the one that I could connect to the most. I could picture myself in her shoes and the happenings in the story were so life-like that they could have actually happened. To think that this book is actually filled with teenage drama, I actually loved this book and would recommend it to any teenage girl who is looking for a great book to read over the summer. I am looking forward to reading the next two books written by Perkins. Hopefully they will contain the same life-like qualities that draw you in.

    35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Super read

    This one was great. I loved every minute reading this.

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!!

    I don't think there are words to express my love for this novel. It was seriously that good. I can't believe that I waited so long to finally read it. I was a little worried I would be disappointed because it has been so hyped up and I am glad to say that I most definitely was not. This is one of those books that I will be pushing everyone that I know to read.

    I adored Anna and St. Clair. They were one of my favorite duos ever. They fit so perfectly together. I also loved all of the supporting characters because well, without them, this story would not have been what it was. Teenage love in the city of romance. Yes, please! I virtually read this in one sitting because I did not want to put it down. Time flew by and I didn't even notice.

    Even after I finished this I couldn't stop smiling. It was such a feel good book! It was so easy to connect with Anna. She handled certain situations in the same way that I could see myself doing. She was incredibly realistic! She could easily be someone who is a friend of mine. I swear that I could actually feel what Anna felt. I wanted to laugh when she laughed and cry when she cried. She was such an extremely likeable character!

    I can't wait to see what else Stephanie Perkins has in store for us in the future!

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kelsey Jones for Teens Read Too

    Gold Star Award Winner! ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS is, without a doubt, one of my favorite books ever! Stephanie Perkins is a fabulous author and she created a romantic, fun, and addicting debut. Considering I visited Paris over the summer, this book was even more relevant because I recognized so many of the places Anna and her friends visited. Paris is a beautiful city and the perfect setting for any novel. It made me want to return as soon as possible, or even start attending a boarding school there! Anna Oliphant was an awesome main character. She was so realistic and believable, and best of all, she wasn't perfect. Anna was an ordinary teenager, and reading about her experiences was so much fun. She never failed to add humor to the story and I really wanted to know her in real life. Anna is one of those characters you can't help but like and want the best for and I was constantly rooting for her throughout the novel. Her family wasn't perfect, either, but I enjoyed reading about them. Her father especially. I always find it interesting when a character in a book is an author, and Mr. Oliphant was no exception. He reminded me of Nicholas Sparks in a way, or at least his books and movies did. Sean was a sweet younger brother and he really did love Anna. She had a lot of ups and downs with her friends in America, but I'm satisfied with how everything turned out. The characters that played the largest role in ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS were Anna's friends at the School of America in Paris. It was such an original idea to have Anna go to boarding school in Paris, and it made the story that much more magical and intriguing then if it was just in the US. All of the people Anna met in Paris made an impact on both Anna and the reader and I loved them all. Especially her best friends; Meredith, Rashmi, Josh, and St. Clair. They were a great group and each of them played a large role in the story, most importantly Etienne St. Clair. St. Clair deserves his own paragraph in this review- he is just that awesome. I loved his character and every page he was on. St. Clair was not your standard typical, gorgeous, popular guy, but rather a sweet and realistic character who adds so much to the story. I especially liked watching Anna and St. Clair's friendship grow and develop into something more. The setting and plot was also great. The idea of attending boarding school in Paris was so original and reading about all the places they visited and people they met was one of my favorite aspects of the novel. Another part of the story I liked was reading about Anna's love for movies, most especially old classics. Stephanie Perkins wrote a magical and romantic first novel that will steal the hearts of readers everywhere and leave them dying to visit Paris. Anna and St. Clair were awesome main characters and the writing was fabulous. I can't wait to read Ms. Perkins' next release!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Feeling down?

    This book was a great pick-me-up. Witty, adorable, and filled to the brim with those ooey gooey warm fuzzies of young love. Read for a good time.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Very Romantic

    This book is very romantic, it is very well structured!! It is written so that you feel as if the story is happening to you or that you are witnessing the entire story. It makes you want to keep reading and never let the book go. This is a very amazing and intriguing book. I recomend it to everyone.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Finally a change!

    Honestly, every book that I've read lately about teens always starts the same, ends the same and is the same. That's what makes this book so different. Perkins tackles everything that those cliches attempt to do but in a much more realistic point of view. You literally see, feel, and understand everything from Anna's point of view. It's amazing how you can relate to her as well. She makes Etienne (St. Clair, depends how much you love him) crazy loveable. Every thing that Anna faces is so relatable that it feels like the stories actually about me even though I've never been to a boarding school in Paris. Also, Perkins works very well around the happy ending cliche and turns it to a realistic cliff hanging conclusion. I have read this book at least 3 times and I never read most books more than once. This is truly a wonderful piece that I would recommend to everyone. But I hope she contiunes the story or introduce one that is just as breath taking.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    LOVE

    3 words. Best.book.ever.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    Anna and the French Kiss was simply divine. An absolutely good read that I could not put down. I think what I loved most about this book was that everything was at the right pace, right words, right timing. Nothing was thrown at you and you weren't spinned out of control with info.


    Anna is devastated. She is being sent around the world to a bordering school where she is alone. No one to help her. She is ALONE! All she sees is a year of exil. What she doesn't see is the cute boy who will soon walk into her future.


    I liked St. Claire. I loved his accent, the way he talks, his perspective of things. He guided Anna when she need him and they had fun together. What I didn't like was that he was selfish. Sorry, but I had to say it. I know he didn't mean to but he used her as his crutch when he felt lonely and that upset me. While I was glad that he like and fell in love with her genuinely, I was still saddened by his actions.


    Anna reminded me of me when I was in school. Scared to go to new places, try new things, and suffered in silence. Anna was so brave and took everything in stride. The character was likable and could relate to well. I like that she was strong. Even in a new and scary place, she held up her head high and made do with what she had. She is an easy person to make friends with and funny at times. He sarcastic side is something I l loved reading.


    Anna and the French Kiss is a great book. I think I may have even learned a french word or two. The love between St. Claire and Anna is sweet. It is a kind of loves that grows in time within the book and you just fall in love with them. I rooted for them all the way. I was extremely happy that they made it. If you have not, read this book. Read it!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    DONT BE FOOLED BY THE SYNOPSIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I read the syn

    DONT BE FOOLED BY THE SYNOPSIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I read the synopsis of
    this book and it sounded horrible, but I seen a lot of reviews that also
    mentioned this book so I figured I might as well try it and if I didn't
    like it i would put the book down. I have to say I loooooooooooved this
    book! The protagonist (Anna) wasn't perfect which made her easy to
    relate to she was sweet, funny but also real and made mistakes. Anna was
    someone who I would want to be friends with. Stephanie Perkins did an
    amazing job making the story and characters believable in a sense. The
    story was cute and fun to read, I read it in maybe 3 hours give or take.
    It's a great book to pick up any day and I will definitely be reading
    this book again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    So so so so good!!!!

    I love love love this book its sooo cute funny and romantic! Id recomend this to anyone looking for a laugh and a good book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Dang i could read it like everyday

    Love love love this book. I believe this demands a sequel, no?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I decided a few weeks ago that I wanted to re-read some of my fa

    I decided a few weeks ago that I wanted to re-read some of my favorite books. But, instead of reading the physical book or ebook, I’m listening to them on audiobook. I love listening to audiobooks in the car. It definitely helps to keep me calm in the horrendous DC area traffic.

    First up on the favorite re-read list was Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I fell in love with this book when I read it last year. I fell even more deeply in love with it the second time around. I mean, what’s not to love about this book? Beautiful English-French-American boy with an amazing English accent, sweet and likable heroine, PARIS. Big fuzzy hearts.

    “I mean, really. Who sends their kid to boarding school? It’s so Hogwarts. Only mine doesn’t have cute boy wizards or magic candy or flying lessons.”

    Anna is your average teenage girl. She was witty and cute, smart and sassy. She feels completely out of her element at an American school in Paris. She misses her best friend, Bridgette, and her crush, Toth. She’s annoyed with her parents for sending her away and concerned about her little brother. Once she starts to settle in at school, she misses home less and less. As she begins to drift from her friends from home, she forges some great friendships with Etienne, Mer, Josh, and Rashmi. After a few weeks, Paris was beginning to feel more and more like home. A disastrous trip home over the holidays solidified this.

    “I’m a little distracted by this English French American Boy Masterpiece.”

    Oh, Etienne St. Clair. I love him so. He was beautiful, charming, sweet, and thoughtful. He was a friend to everyone, but only close to a select few. He also had a girlfriend who was not Anna. Etienne doesn’t have an easy home life, either. His father is a jerk and his mother is sick. It really takes a toll on him in the book. So much was changing that he was trying to hold on to the constant in his life, his girlfriend Ellie, thought it was rather obvious he was having very strong feelings for Anna. They had a ton of chemistry and it was a joy to read.

    “Most people in Atlanta don’t have an accent. It’s pretty urban. A lot of people speak gangsta, though,” I add jokingly.

    “Fo’ shiz,” he replies in his polite English accent.

    I spurt orangey-red soup across the table. St. Clair gives a surprised ha-HA kind of laugh, and I’m laughing too, the painful kind like abdominal crunches. He hands me a napkin to wipe my chin. “Fo’. Shiz.” He repeats it solemnly.

    Cough cough. “Please don’t ever stop saying that. It’s too-” I gasp. “Much.”

    “You oughtn’t to have said that. Now I shall have to save it for special occasions.”

    “My birthday is in February.” Cough choke wheeze. “Please don’t forget.”

    I couldn’t get enough of the scenes with Anna and Etienne together. Their dialogue was snappy and playful. While their attraction and chemistry was nearly immediate, they took the time to get to know each other. They quickly became friends and then best friends. They were the one person the other leaned on. No need to look for instalove here. Instead, their feelings grew slowly and steadily. The book was full of the sweet taste of first love… and some teenage angst. I know I’ve mentioned it before, but I love the dynamic of a friend crush to first love story. There’s just something so real about it. I get sucked in every single time.

    “How many times can our emotions be tied to someone else’s – be pulled and stretched and twisted – before they snap? Before they can never be mended again.”

    There was conflict with friends and family, and sometimes with each other, as the novel continued. Anna and Etienne faced many obstacles: Ellie, their friends and relationships with them, uncertainty on what the future holds for them. But, I didn’t find anything to be overly dramatic in that way that YA books can sometimes be. The voices felt real – as did the situations that unfolded. This was a beautiful story of friendship, love and family set against a fabulous Paris backdrop that was described so well, in such detail, that it felt like I was there.

    “I don’t want to feel this way around him. I want things to be normal. I want to be his friend, not another stupid girl holding out for something that will never happen.”

    I loved that I got to spend the entire novel inside Anna’s head. Her inner dialogue was perfect. While it might have been nice to be inside Etienne’s, the story was perfect as is. Now, that’s not saying I wouldn’t thoroughly enjoy a book written from his POV. But it wasn’t needed. Stephanie Perkins does such a fantastic job of writing a teenage girl perspective that I had absolutely no problem believing it.

    “For the two of us, home isn’t a place. It is a person. And we are finally home.”

    Because this was an audiobook, I feel I have to touch on the narrator. She was perfect. She sounded just as I imagined Anna when I first read the book. She did a fantastic job with all of the different voices and accents. I found myself taking the long way home or spending extra time running errands, just so I could listen to more of this book. I swear, I had a big goofy smile on my face for almost the entire book. If you like lighthearted, whimsical contemporary young adult books, you will likely find yourself in the same position if you pick this one up. And you really should. You won’t be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Anna and the French Kiss is a charmer and appeals to the young a

    Anna and the French Kiss is a charmer and appeals to the young and “more mature”. At its heart, it is a love story, but it’s much more than romantic tension. Anna’s Dad sends her to boarding school in Paris. Imagine the opportunity! But, no, Anna is not happy with that decision. It doesn’t take long after friendships are developed and Etienne St. Clair enters her life for her to become more involved in her foreign experience. Etienne is involved with someone else but a strong friendship between he and Anna develops and evolves. It was filled with chuckle-worthy moments, also anxious, excited, angry, sad, and hopeful moments. The struggles of love and life can be messy and complicated. This is basically a romance novel but done well with a beautifully detailed backdrop of Paris that only adds to the mystique of love.





    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Awesome

    It was hilarious and really good

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Catlover

    Best book ever. It was smazing i wish it would never end

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Great Book

    This was such agood book! I loved every part of it :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Anna and the French Kiss is a really wonderful book. When you st

    Anna and the French Kiss is a really wonderful book. When you start it, you won't be able to stop. When you finish it, you won't be able to forget it. Perkins really brings Anna, St. Clair, and the other characters to life. It really feels as though they are real. When you read the story, it's like you're right there alongside Anna, in Paris. This book isn't just about Anna falling in love with Etienne. It's also about Anna falling in love with Paris. This isn't just a typical YA romance, though. Perkins tackles old clichés and the story feels fresh and new despite the "American in Paris" premise. This book is incredible. You really won't regret reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Easy read...which I really needed after all the boring drab I'm

    Easy read...which I really needed after all the boring drab I'm forced to read for school. I read this in just two sittings which is unusual for me, usually as soon as a book hits a dull point I put it down and pick up later then so on in till I've eventually finished. It was really nice to read something so easy (not in a bad way) just that the whole story flowed nicely, and I didn't have to struggle to keep with it, the next thing I knew I was finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    I loved this book

    Did anyone notice that annas father writes those books with depressing endings (the entrance) but ladys love them? That is very similar to nicolas sparks (the notebook, the last song) and how the ending is totally depressing but ladys love them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 532 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27