BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Anna of Byzantium

Average Rating 5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    A riveting and intesely emotional story that you'll want to read again and again!

    For any fans of Meyer's 'Mary, Bloody Mary,' this is the Byzantium version of it, with the eldest daughter of the ruler going from beloved daughter and intended heir to disgraced princess watching helplessly as her younger sibling replaces her! A riveting, intensely emotional book, it brings tears to your eyes to read about her tragic and frustrating fall from grace and power, and the forlorn dashing of all her hopes and dreams in the end. And in contrast to the reviews, I found Anna to be a sympathetic character from the very beginning--from the time I first read the description of the book. The characters, especially Anna, are also wonderful and well defined, except for a few minor ones who did not appear much. The only problem is that in making Anna seem so sympathetic, the author manipulated her younger brother's character to seem vile, spoiled, spiteful, and just plain evil, with making him seem possibly okay only in the very end. But according to history, her brother was a wise and kind ruler, perhaps one of the best Byzantium rulers ever. So perhaps the author manipulated history a bit too much. But still, as a story in itself, it is exceptional.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2001

    Must Read!!!!!!

    Anna of Byzantium is a great novel!!! We were reading medieval novels in school and I didn't think I would enjoy any of the novels on the list, but that changed when I started reading this book. Anna Comnena is a princess. She is also her father's first born and is his chosen succesor which means she is to rule the Byzantine Empire after him. The barbarians who think it is strange to have a female ruler don't bother her at all, nor does the birth of her baby brother. Anna's father's advisor, his manipulative mother, starts giving Anna lessons. As Anna matures into a young lady, her intellagence threatens her grandmother. So her grandmother moves on to Anna's younger brother, John, and trys to convince Anna's father that John is better suited to rule. Almost overnight, Anna sees her chances of becoming a ruler wrenched away by her evil brother and grandmother. Bitter and wanting revenge, Anna waits for the right moment to seek what is rightfully hers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2001

    Excellent!!!!

    The author managed a good deal of emotion for the reader. Throughout the novel, I despised the young John more and more, as did Anna. I was furious when she lost her crown, all through the scheming of her 'wicked' grandmother. Surprisingly, I felt that the ending was excellent, though it was not what I had originally predicted. I would recommend this more to teen girls than boys, as it was narrated by a girl, and I think they would appreciate it more. It is also a good introduction to the people and rulers of the Byzantine Empire, as I had never really been interested in it previously. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!

    Love this book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Great

    I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    This is a great book...

    I loved it my teacher picked for my class and...
    The main character (anna) is a spoiled princess but the book is still great.

    This isn't important but,my name is anna too!:)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Amazing book

    I absolutley loved this book! I finished it in 4 days and fell in love with it from the start! I had to read this for my 8th grade reading projet and I hope to get an A on it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Superior

    This book was absolutely amazing! Kudos Ms. Barrett! I fell in love with the depth, the emotions, the detail, the history, and the thrills of this novel. It's a beautiful story and I was amazed at how easily my feelings were affected by the characters actions and what happened. The ending is perfect and it is the best story about a woman who became a legend because of her brilliant mind and knowledge. Do no pass up on this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!

    This book is full of feeling,humor, and gilt. This book is the best book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    Exceptional

    The ending was great and I loved the descriptions... I enjoyed learning more of the Byzantine history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    Fabulous!Fabulous!Nothing but Fabulous!!!!!

    I love this book,it is extremely well written.You want to laugh,cry,and scream when she does,you feel her pain her joy when she does.You want to comfort her when she is in sorrow you want to defend her when she can't stand up for herself.You see her future that she used to hold in her own hands suddenly taken away by her cruel brother and manipulative grandmother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2002

    A great book for just about anyone!

    A very good book that I would recomend to all. It kept me reading! One of the best historical fiction books out there I'm sure. It made me want to read the 'Alexiad.' I don't know how historically acurate it was but still worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2002

    Keeps You Reading!

    This book has a simple story - yet keeps you reading to find out what is going to happen. Many life lessons emerge from this tale based upon a historical figure. It was a little lacking in historical details for my taste, but was wonderful as a purely fictional novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2002

    exellent

    tragic.this book was so good and beautful! my imaginaton ran wild. i felt as if i was her and i loved it! only great books can do that to you!i got so much out of it and it truly touched me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    A great view of the Byzantium Empire!

    I loved this book. It was so interesting, I couln't put it down. It gave me the feeling like I was really in the Palace and I could feel how Anna felt. It was really enjoyable to me, and I reccomend it. The plot and characters were excellent. An outstanding read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Okay, I LOVE this book, I think everyone should read it! My Latin teacher read it and loved it, I read it, AND LOVED IT!!!!!! I'm sorry though, I would've killed that John ---- person too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2002

    Not Ordinary History

    When you hear the word "history", you probably think about that social studies class you had with the teacher that was SO INCREDIBLY BORING!!!! Your opinion will probably change when you read this book. Though its filled with hisorical facts, its also exciting and suspensful and sad. I read this book for the first time last year and i love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    THE BEST!!!

    A great and enjoyable way to read and learn about the Byzantine Empire and the personal life of the royal family during the first crusade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    I can't believe this is a NON-FICTION book!

    Usually I hate non-fiction, but this is an absolute exception! Anna is such a powerful and deep character, and a good role model for women. She may be a little too power hungry, but she's still cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2002

    Wonderful Book!!

    This is a very good book. It is about a girl named Anna who works very hard to get the throne, although she unfortunately loses it in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2