Customer Reviews for

Annalea, Princess of Nemusmar

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved it! Great story about all kinds of pre-judged people

I loved this book because it showed a side to 'outcast' people that was interesting and funny. The narrator, Crockett, is an awesome character, being an old sea salt / Papa. His humor is great and his perspective on life is well thought out. I felt this to be a complex ...
I loved this book because it showed a side to 'outcast' people that was interesting and funny. The narrator, Crockett, is an awesome character, being an old sea salt / Papa. His humor is great and his perspective on life is well thought out. I felt this to be a complex book that did manage to tell a lot of different stories that were weaved around a central plot - the mystery of Annalea. The code of honor among the community was great - like a utopia of so-called 'miscreants'. Overall, it is a very unique, cohesive, and entertaining story. Can't wait to read the next one!

posted by 6031816 on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not bad, but not great either

This wasn't a bad book, but it wasn't real great either. I'm not sue how to review it, it didn't really seem to be about much. There are a lot of little things that happen, which you could categorize as subplots, but there wasn't on real main plot or storyline. It fe...
This wasn't a bad book, but it wasn't real great either. I'm not sue how to review it, it didn't really seem to be about much. There are a lot of little things that happen, which you could categorize as subplots, but there wasn't on real main plot or storyline. It felt jumbled and disjointed at times, but I read all 650+ pages so I suppose it entertained me enough to finish it.

posted by jenmurph21 on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Loved it! Great story about all kinds of pre-judged people

    I loved this book because it showed a side to 'outcast' people that was interesting and funny. The narrator, Crockett, is an awesome character, being an old sea salt / Papa. His humor is great and his perspective on life is well thought out. I felt this to be a complex book that did manage to tell a lot of different stories that were weaved around a central plot - the mystery of Annalea. The code of honor among the community was great - like a utopia of so-called 'miscreants'. Overall, it is a very unique, cohesive, and entertaining story. Can't wait to read the next one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not bad, but not great either

    This wasn't a bad book, but it wasn't real great either. I'm not sue how to review it, it didn't really seem to be about much. There are a lot of little things that happen, which you could categorize as subplots, but there wasn't on real main plot or storyline. It felt jumbled and disjointed at times, but I read all 650+ pages so I suppose it entertained me enough to finish it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Gteat read

    Very enjoyable and impossible to be a dissapointment unless you were born without good taste receptors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    History, romance and adventure~and a mystery as well. Check it.

    History, romance and adventure~and a mystery as well. Check it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly recommended great reading

    The author put you right in the activity of the story. I couldnt put the book down. His writing was absolute on target. I think anyonne reading this book will agree. I look forward to reading other books by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Good read, but a bit tedious.

    Upon attacking a ship, the piratical first mate discovers a girl-child in one of the cabins. Contrary to their stated custom, the child is not killed. Almost whimsically,the captain allows the girl to come with them for potential ransom. The captain has set up an isolated island for their "off-season", which is populated by a variety of people that have been taken prisoner and given the offer to stay. The community is pretty egalitarian, the captain splits the spoils of their attacks equally between his raiders, the islanders, and himself. The story is primarily about how the girl grows up and becomes an integral part of their community, as told by the first mate, Crockett. As the story is told by him, it often seems to be about him. Indeed, there is quite a bit of liscentuous behavior-- drunkenness, bawdiness, and drunken bawdiness! There is an element of foreboding as Crockett visits the "nearby" islands, trading for necessary goods that the islanders don't get "naturally" from pirating, and to make inquiries about his attempts to find the girl's kin. On his last trip, the town's official is seen talking to two men who look quite out of place, to Crockett's eye. Indeed, they are. The island is attacked by the British navy, and these two men are amidst the leadership of the attack! Crockett's spying reveals that one has the same surname as the girl, but curiously, he wants her dead! The pirates escape and then regroup. The captain and first mate decide the girl is at risk, and must be returned to England. After some adventures, we know Crockett is in England, talking to a young man about the girl, but we don't know why, as the book ends.

    By the end of the book, I was skimming the sex scenes, because they didn't add anything to the adventure. Actually, it seems as if this book had been tightened up a bit, it would have been a better read. Do we need to know, repeatedly, and in redundant detail, what an angelic person this girl was, or what a brilliant man the captain was? I wish to know what becomes of "me dear, sweet girl," so I bought the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    **

    After reading 50shades of grey, this is a pleasure. It doesn't repeat its self!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Great!

    It seems boring at frist but u thought the same thivng about the hunger games but just hang in there and soon you will love it!!!!!!! :),

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Ok

    Not tht bad just HORRIBLE

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Found to be interesting and entertaining

    As told by Crockett the story had an interesting perspective. It does leave you with the craving to want toknow how the story continues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1