Customer Reviews for

Anne of Green Gables

Average Rating 4
( 599 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(383)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful book!

I had never read this book before but I'm sooo happy I finally did. I enjoyed it immensely! It would be "tragical" if you don't make time for this classic.

posted by Happier on July 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

tons of typos

Holy cow, there were some ridiculous typos in this e-book. "Marilla" was referred to as "Manila" half the time. I recommend finding a better version.

posted by 6995859 on February 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 383 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Wonderful book!

    I had never read this book before but I'm sooo happy I finally did. I enjoyed it immensely! It would be "tragical" if you don't make time for this classic.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Ok, don't listen to the other negative comments

    This book is amazing... the whole series is. I recomend this to anyone. You will want to read this so many times. However , i sugedt you read the first one to understand this one.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Wonderful

    The best, most entertaining book i have ever read! It deserves ten stars!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    Love this book!

    I am ashamed to say that at the age of 38, this is the first time I have read this book. I regret that I missed all of these years not knowing who Anne (with an e!) was. Cannot wait to dive into the rest of the series.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Anne if Green Gables

    This is SUCH a good book. Whoever reads it won't be able to not fall in love with Anne. Her spunk, intelligence, determination, and above all, her imagination make Anne a believable and relatable character. For those who think this is just a boring, sappy, and dull book, think again! This book series has a little something for everyone: action, romance, history, and parts that will make you chuckle. If this book seems boring to you, don't stop at the beginning. Trust me, it gets better when you find out about Anne's temper. (At school, she smashes a chalkboard over a boy's head, breaking it in half!) If this book still seems dull to you, that probably means it is above your reading level. This book uses some complicated and old-fashioned words. I tried reading this a couple of years ago, and couldn't understand a word! Don't be afraid to try it again later if it's too challenging for you. Trust me, if you don't understand it, you'll never be near to getting full satisfaction from this book. I would recommend this book for ages 13+ to get full satisfaction. I read it when I was 11, but I was in a program reading more than a year above my grade level. This book is good for reading to young children, to help encourage them to like books and have a good imagination. Please don't get a shortened version of this, it will never amount to the real one. I got a shortened version for my little sister so she could read it without trouble of big words, but the shortened version cut out all the key parts! If you want to develop skills of visualizing scenes, this book is great for you. The author is an absolute master at description. This is a story like the Romona Quimby books where the author knows how being a kid is like. This is a must read, good for everyone, but especially good for teen and preteen girls. Please read and don't give up because of a dull beginning. If you read this, I know for a fact you'll treasure it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Tap on this review!

    Anne is a bright poetice talkative girl who will touch your heart! Its a good read and be sure to read the nexr two books: Anne of Avonlea and Anne's House of Dreams. Be sure though to spell her name A-N-N-E not A-N-N.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Mk Jan.2th

    I Love Anne! This book is my favorite book of all time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great book

    I think this book was great and all ages gurantee a timeless classic other books i think are similar are black beauty old yeller where the red fern grows and the little house on the prarie series great book also how to ident

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    LUV IT!!!!!!

    Awesome book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    LOVE IT!!!!! Best book ever

    I love this biok soooooo much- i have the book version not the nook. Its so heartwarming and family-friendly and sweet, one of those books you will never get tired of reading again and again. My fav book in the universe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Luv it

    This is a really good book. I read the original and it was good. I did it 4 a book project put it on your must read list!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Wonderful story

    Loved reading this book to my children when they small and then reading it to my grandchildren! A wonderful story for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Best book in the world

    Must read now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Fantastic

    Such a good book that i think should become a newberry award winner!! Dramatic at times but a great story is told to the reader. It is also a little bit inappropriate but fantastic overall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Best book ever!!!

    Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    A MUST READ!!!!!!

    This book is better than anything!!!! A MUST READ!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    U

    I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    I

    O

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When siblings Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert decide they need help

    When siblings Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert decide they need help on the farm they decide to adopt a boy to bring some youth and strength to help them.  As Matthew makes his way to pick up the orphaned boy at the train station he finds that the orphanage made a mistake and sent a girl. Not just any girl but redheaded,and dramatic Anne Shirley.  Anne is a dreamer, a free spirit and full of exuberance.  Matthew and Marilla end up falling in love with and Anne even if she is drawn to trouble.   




     Anne Of Green Gables is the first book in a series written by Lucy Maude Montgomery  (L.M. Montgomery).  When I was growing up the t.v. channel PBS made this series of books into movies.  I knew of them but only caught bits and pieces here and there.  I hear they are excellent and hope to one day catch them.  Not only had I not seen the movies but I had never read the books.  Anne Of Green Gables was completely new to me. I loved Anne Shirley and her friend Diana.  They were such dreamers and so passionate about life and it’s beauties. 




     If I had to pinpoint anything I disliked about Anne Of Green Gables it would have to be… actually it would be nothing.  I can not think of a thing I disliked about story.  I mean Anne gets in trouble but the way she gets in trouble is just another piece of Anne’s character because usually when she in hot water it was because she was trying to be good.




     HIghly recommend for girls from ages 10 and up.  Boys might like it but it is a book of a girl in her world.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE ANNE!!!!!!

    This is absolutely my favorite book of all time! Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 383 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20