Customer Reviews for

Anne of Green Gables (Norton Critical Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(196)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Anne of Green Gables :)

Anne of Green Gables is a novel by Lucy Maud Montgomery. It is titled Anne of Green Gables because it follows the adventures of a mischievous girl, Anne Shirley, who lives in Green Gables. The story takes place in the 1890's and follows Anne through several years of h...
Anne of Green Gables is a novel by Lucy Maud Montgomery. It is titled Anne of Green Gables because it follows the adventures of a mischievous girl, Anne Shirley, who lives in Green Gables. The story takes place in the 1890's and follows Anne through several years of her life. Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert had decided to adopt a boy to help on the farm. Instead the orphanage sent a talkative and troublesome girl. They were going to send her back, but quickly came to love Anne and decided to adopt her. The major conflict of the story is Marilla's trouble raising Anne, the protagonist. The rising action involves Anne's imagination, which always provokes her to do foolish things. In addition, Gilbert Blythe (the antagonist) provokes Anne. There never is a true turning point in the book. Anne promises to behave after each incident, but once again finds trouble. The resolution is made when Matthew, her adopted father, dies. Anne promises Matthew she'll behave just before he passes away. The characters and the plot in the book were very well developed and believable.
The writing in Anne of Green Gables was vividly descriptive. Anne always liked to imagine things, and often times the book would describe in detail what she dreamed of. The dialogue used was 3rd person. One of my favorite passages was, "Pretty? Oh pretty doesn't seem to be the right word. Nor beautiful, either. They don't go far enough. Oh, it was wonderful- wonderful. It is the first thing I saw that couldn't be improved by imagination." The theme of Anne of Green Gables would be imagination can make the rainiest days bright. The author is trying to say that imagination can lift you through troubled times. I really liked the book Anne of Green Gables. It was very entertaining and I would suggest it to all.

posted by CassidyR on October 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

annoying abridgment

I didn't notice that this was an abridged version (audio mp3) when I ordered it. But I wasn't too concerned until I started listening to it. Being a die hard Anne of Green Gables fan I was extremely disappointed that their idea of shortening the story was to completel...
I didn't notice that this was an abridged version (audio mp3) when I ordered it. But I wasn't too concerned until I started listening to it. Being a die hard Anne of Green Gables fan I was extremely disappointed that their idea of shortening the story was to completely cut out key events and rewrite new contrived events that fall flat and do not lend themselves to the dramatic, touching, sometimes comical life of Anne Shirley. That coupled with the squeaky mouse-like voice that the narrator uses for Anne, and I will be searching for a new audio book for Anne of Green Gables to replace this one. This is NOT Lucy Maude Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables...fans be forewarned!

posted by Headina_Book on December 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    The look of this book is phenomenal. The silver gilded pages and

    The look of this book is phenomenal. The silver gilded pages and detailing makes it a stunning book for your collection. The content itself is fantastic as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    fjjfjxjfjfjeviolin wo

    Dccovdtdwggdfhsbgdjfhji

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    Great book, loved it so much! BUT... I only gave it 4 stars beca

    Great book, loved it so much! BUT... I only gave it 4 stars because I didn't know, when I got this edition, that there was more then one book and that it was a series, in fact. Although this one ends pretty well that you don't really need to read the others but that's not the point. I want to read the others becasue I liked this one so much. The others in the "Anne Series" are NOT made in these kind of Collectible Editions, though. Why make only the first book in a series like this?! So in order to read the others in the series I now have to get them in different verisons then this one, which I'm so mad about! But like I said, great book. I just wouldn't get this verison if you what the read the whole series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Love it!!!!

    Loove it!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Dear three cheers for Anne

    I totally agreez

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Boooooring!!!!!

    Booooooooooooooooooooo!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Seth

    Walks in. "Morning everyone."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Rachel

    *Comes in with her friend Samantha.* That soccer game was awesome! Sam: Teah it was! We totally beat the Mares flat! Rachel: Go Wondercolts! *High fives Sam.* Sam: *High fives Rachel.*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Seth

    Put his finger under her chin and lifted it looking into her eyes.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Callie to abby

    Walks over "are you ok"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Dj Zoe

    ALRIGHT EBERYONE THERES A PARTY GOING ON SO LETS KICK IT UP A NOTCH! *Puts on party in the house tight.o*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    David

    Your bf will and i wanted to say will u go out with me?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Party time

    Lets have a party here!!!! Guys advertize if u r on

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Dj jacob

    U asked for it i play treasure and turn on the disco lights

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Bloop

    O.o

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    What happens when a mischevious 11 year old girl mixes with a quiet farm couple?

    Find out in Anne of Green Gables! This book is a wonderful classic that has enthralled readers for many generations with its compelling plot, well developed characters, vivid writing, and emotions. After reading this book, you will want to sprint to your local library for the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Terrenceray33@yahoo.com

    What your first and last name so i can send you a friend request:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Before I got married, my middle name was Anne.  With an "e.

    Before I got married, my middle name was Anne.  With an "e."  Just like Anne of Green Gables.  Now my middle name is my maiden name, but that's besides the point.

    I must have read Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery when I was a little girl, but all I remember is watching the movie.  So I decided to get through a bunch of the Anne books, obviously starting with the first: Anne of Green Gables.

    Anyone who knows anything about Anne knows that she feels like a plain child with red hair which she despises, and that she never stops talking.

    I love Anne.  She reminds me of Ramona (you know, Ramona Quimby??) because Anne is always getting into accidental trouble.  For instance, when she hosts her first ever tea, she ends up accidentally getting her friend Diana completely wasted (no seriously, it was an accident!).

    Anne of Green Gables is a fun book that gives you Pollyanna thoughts (about always being happy and seeing the bright side of things).  If it's one you haven't picked up lately or ever, it's worth doing so.

    And you know what else it reminded me of?  That amazing show Avonlea!  Anyone remember Avonlea???

    Are you an Anne with an "e" fan?

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Fun

    Love the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14