Customer Reviews for

Anne of Green Gables (Norton Critical Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(220)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Anne of Green Gables :)

Anne of Green Gables is a novel by Lucy Maud Montgomery. It is titled Anne of Green Gables because it follows the adventures of a mischievous girl, Anne Shirley, who lives in Green Gables. The story takes place in the 1890's and follows Anne through several years of h...
Anne of Green Gables is a novel by Lucy Maud Montgomery. It is titled Anne of Green Gables because it follows the adventures of a mischievous girl, Anne Shirley, who lives in Green Gables. The story takes place in the 1890's and follows Anne through several years of her life. Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert had decided to adopt a boy to help on the farm. Instead the orphanage sent a talkative and troublesome girl. They were going to send her back, but quickly came to love Anne and decided to adopt her. The major conflict of the story is Marilla's trouble raising Anne, the protagonist. The rising action involves Anne's imagination, which always provokes her to do foolish things. In addition, Gilbert Blythe (the antagonist) provokes Anne. There never is a true turning point in the book. Anne promises to behave after each incident, but once again finds trouble. The resolution is made when Matthew, her adopted father, dies. Anne promises Matthew she'll behave just before he passes away. The characters and the plot in the book were very well developed and believable.
The writing in Anne of Green Gables was vividly descriptive. Anne always liked to imagine things, and often times the book would describe in detail what she dreamed of. The dialogue used was 3rd person. One of my favorite passages was, "Pretty? Oh pretty doesn't seem to be the right word. Nor beautiful, either. They don't go far enough. Oh, it was wonderful- wonderful. It is the first thing I saw that couldn't be improved by imagination." The theme of Anne of Green Gables would be imagination can make the rainiest days bright. The author is trying to say that imagination can lift you through troubled times. I really liked the book Anne of Green Gables. It was very entertaining and I would suggest it to all.

posted by CassidyR on October 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

annoying abridgment

I didn't notice that this was an abridged version (audio mp3) when I ordered it. But I wasn't too concerned until I started listening to it. Being a die hard Anne of Green Gables fan I was extremely disappointed that their idea of shortening the story was to completel...
I didn't notice that this was an abridged version (audio mp3) when I ordered it. But I wasn't too concerned until I started listening to it. Being a die hard Anne of Green Gables fan I was extremely disappointed that their idea of shortening the story was to completely cut out key events and rewrite new contrived events that fall flat and do not lend themselves to the dramatic, touching, sometimes comical life of Anne Shirley. That coupled with the squeaky mouse-like voice that the narrator uses for Anne, and I will be searching for a new audio book for Anne of Green Gables to replace this one. This is NOT Lucy Maude Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables...fans be forewarned!

posted by Headina_Book on December 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 297 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    My daughter is currently re-reading Anne of Green Gables and is very delighted with it.

    I purchased this book as a gift for my daughter who had read it as a young person. She was thrilled.
    Bookworm1FG

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    The book Anne of Green Gables is an adventurous fiction about a

    The book Anne of Green Gables is an adventurous fiction about a girl named Anne, and her going to live in a new home. Anne meets many new and interesting people, and does many crazy things. 
    The story takes place on Prince Edward Island in Avonlea. It is about Anne living  in Green Gables with Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert and her growing up and making decisions in life. 
    This story was all in all a good book. In some parts, however, there would be conversations that would go on and on and on!!! The book also had a number of big words in it. The author did a good job of writing this book because there were happy parts, sad parts, and funny parts. 
    I would recommend this book to you if you are at least ten years of age because of all the big words and some parts that you have to  break down and really think about. 
    One of the books strengths was that it had a lot of detail. While reading you can clearly picture the setting. 
    Therefore, I definitely advise you read the book Anne of Green Gables. It is a funny yet serious novel about the life of a girl, and if you read it i am sure you will like it as much as I did! :)
     -Ducky

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    Anne Of Green Gables By L.M. Montgomery

    3 Stars

    Anne Of Green Gables By L.M. Montgomery<br />
    <br />
    3 Stars<br />
    <br />
    Anne comes to Avonlea to be adopted by Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert. She is not however what they were expecting. They wanted a boy and she is an outspoken red-headed girl. She wins the Cuthberts over though and they agree to keep her if she minds her manners and can be molded into what they consider a respectable little girl. Anne learns a lot during her time in Avonlea. She goes through many trials during her fight to be accepted by the community. She finally makes a friend in Diana who is her very first true friend. That even goes awry for awhile because Anne's outspoken ways are often misunderstood. This novel tells the struggle of Anne through her becoming a woman.<br />
    This is a truly delightful story. Good small town drama. I found myself completely relating to Anne through many of her trials. One being her inability to be seen and not heard even when it was something that was completely against what she believed in. It was also amusing reading how people viewed her red hair or anyone that had it. Not that it's much different now but it was much worse back then. I loved living in Anne's world for a little while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    To below

    I'm thirteen and I totally agree. I have even read Les Miserables (unabridged) so to me Twilight is just plain stupid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Grow up

    Yall need to learn to enjoy the clasics and not rely on those stupidbooks on vampires and zombies and all this twilight crap im 11 and like the clasics

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Awsome

    Love it. I have actually seen the movie. And guess what that girl on the cover of the book is megan follows.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful lovely story for women all ages!

    When I was a little girl, I received each book of the series (in Norwegian) for birthday and xmas, and I loved the books so much. So when I saw Barnes & Noble had a leatherbound version of the first book, I just had to have it!
    The book itself is very cute and little (despite it being almost 400 pages!), you could even bring it with you! The light parts in the cover has a really cool silver reflective effect - And on the first page you can write your name (or your child's)! The book even has vintage black-and-grey pencil illustrations, which I didn't expect! A lovely surprise.
    Now, let me get to the story! Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert are an elderly pair of siblings, who wants to adopt a boy from the orphan's asylum to help them out. But when Matthew is to pick him up at the train station, the only one there is little 11 year-old Anne, sent by a mistake. Matthew takes her home to Marilla, and Marilla is slightly angry and wants to send her back. But she's so adorable and talkative and lovable, so they eventually decide to keep her.
    Anne Shirley is a wonderful character who no one can help but love! The book follows her from being a lively and talkative 11 year-old girl who renames places with romantic names and imagines a lot of things, to a grown up woman of 16 and a half, but still with a hint of the same girl.
    The book is heartbreaking near the end, but L. M. Montgomery manages to make the ending happy as well, and may or may not make you hungry to read the rest of the books about Anne's life! And I just have to mention that I love the fact that Montgomery mostly uses Anne herself to talk about her adventures (to Marilla, for example). It makes the story so much more real!
    I think this would be a lovely book to read together with your child, or cuddled up in your duvet, remembering your childhood. I think that children will be inspired by Anne, who does well in school but she makes mistakes in her life as well (making her more real as a character) and learning from them, so they can as well! And the book also shows different forms of love.
    So I would recommend this to anyone! Preferably women though, but if men are interested, I don't think they'll be disappointed either! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Teh nook version awful and gross looking to read. hang on to yo

    Teh nook version awful and gross looking to read. hang on to your old books until they get a decent version for ereaders.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Great book

    Awesome book , theres alot of typos and realy easy too read .i totaly recamend it for any age !

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Beautiful reading.

    Beautiful reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Lttle boy

    I have this book on the nook.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    The ARose Books version of "Anne of Green Gables" has

    The ARose Books version of &quot;Anne of Green Gables&quot; has been carefully edited, even correcting typos from the original publication. It is a beautiful book with custom illustrations. A nice version if you collect and keep your books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Great

    Beautiful pictures but overall, a great novel!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    This is a wonderful book. I've read this over and over throughou

    This is a wonderful book. I've read this over and over throughout my life, and enjoy it the more I read it. By the way, this is a very nice version of this book and doesn't have lots of typos and is not abridged. For some reason all the reviews are for different versions of this book, not this one only.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Fabulous!

    A great story and lovely charm; my granddaughter really liked this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    My mother's favorite

    My favorite as well and now, my granddaughter's favorite!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Love ann

    Beautiful book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Lemonade Mouth

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    A Whimsical Read That Will Leave Readers Breathless

    Anne of Green Gables is a story about a little girl with a HUGE imagination. The language used makes the book sound like it should be worth a million dollars. The richness of the classical literature will leave you breathless and wanting to frame this book for all to see. On a personal note, this book is at the top of my favorites list; in fact, I love it so much that I have multiple copies! Call me crazy, but this book is a treasured gem in the world of children's classics. Every child should read this book because it will enrich their childhood and fill them with an avid appreciation for poetry, literatue, and life. Overall, a great read! Life-changing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    AWSOME AMAZING GREAT!!!

    I loved this book! The second i got this book I could NOT put it down! I would say its a must read!! i read it in a day and when i finished it, I was sad that it was over.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 297 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15