Customer Reviews for

Anne of Green Gables

Average Rating 4.5
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Anne of Green Gables :)

Anne of Green Gables is a novel by Lucy Maud Montgomery. It is titled Anne of Green Gables because it follows the adventures of a mischievous girl, Anne Shirley, who lives in Green Gables. The story takes place in the 1890's and follows Anne through several years of h...
Anne of Green Gables is a novel by Lucy Maud Montgomery. It is titled Anne of Green Gables because it follows the adventures of a mischievous girl, Anne Shirley, who lives in Green Gables. The story takes place in the 1890's and follows Anne through several years of her life. Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert had decided to adopt a boy to help on the farm. Instead the orphanage sent a talkative and troublesome girl. They were going to send her back, but quickly came to love Anne and decided to adopt her. The major conflict of the story is Marilla's trouble raising Anne, the protagonist. The rising action involves Anne's imagination, which always provokes her to do foolish things. In addition, Gilbert Blythe (the antagonist) provokes Anne. There never is a true turning point in the book. Anne promises to behave after each incident, but once again finds trouble. The resolution is made when Matthew, her adopted father, dies. Anne promises Matthew she'll behave just before he passes away. The characters and the plot in the book were very well developed and believable.
The writing in Anne of Green Gables was vividly descriptive. Anne always liked to imagine things, and often times the book would describe in detail what she dreamed of. The dialogue used was 3rd person. One of my favorite passages was, "Pretty? Oh pretty doesn't seem to be the right word. Nor beautiful, either. They don't go far enough. Oh, it was wonderful- wonderful. It is the first thing I saw that couldn't be improved by imagination." The theme of Anne of Green Gables would be imagination can make the rainiest days bright. The author is trying to say that imagination can lift you through troubled times. I really liked the book Anne of Green Gables. It was very entertaining and I would suggest it to all.

posted by CassidyR on October 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

annoying abridgment

I didn't notice that this was an abridged version (audio mp3) when I ordered it. But I wasn't too concerned until I started listening to it. Being a die hard Anne of Green Gables fan I was extremely disappointed that their idea of shortening the story was to completel...
I didn't notice that this was an abridged version (audio mp3) when I ordered it. But I wasn't too concerned until I started listening to it. Being a die hard Anne of Green Gables fan I was extremely disappointed that their idea of shortening the story was to completely cut out key events and rewrite new contrived events that fall flat and do not lend themselves to the dramatic, touching, sometimes comical life of Anne Shirley. That coupled with the squeaky mouse-like voice that the narrator uses for Anne, and I will be searching for a new audio book for Anne of Green Gables to replace this one. This is NOT Lucy Maude Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables...fans be forewarned!

posted by Headina_Book on December 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    annoying abridgment

    I didn't notice that this was an abridged version (audio mp3) when I ordered it. But I wasn't too concerned until I started listening to it. Being a die hard Anne of Green Gables fan I was extremely disappointed that their idea of shortening the story was to completely cut out key events and rewrite new contrived events that fall flat and do not lend themselves to the dramatic, touching, sometimes comical life of Anne Shirley. That coupled with the squeaky mouse-like voice that the narrator uses for Anne, and I will be searching for a new audio book for Anne of Green Gables to replace this one. This is NOT Lucy Maude Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables...fans be forewarned!

    37 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    Anne of Green Gables :)

    Anne of Green Gables is a novel by Lucy Maud Montgomery. It is titled Anne of Green Gables because it follows the adventures of a mischievous girl, Anne Shirley, who lives in Green Gables. The story takes place in the 1890's and follows Anne through several years of her life. Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert had decided to adopt a boy to help on the farm. Instead the orphanage sent a talkative and troublesome girl. They were going to send her back, but quickly came to love Anne and decided to adopt her. The major conflict of the story is Marilla's trouble raising Anne, the protagonist. The rising action involves Anne's imagination, which always provokes her to do foolish things. In addition, Gilbert Blythe (the antagonist) provokes Anne. There never is a true turning point in the book. Anne promises to behave after each incident, but once again finds trouble. The resolution is made when Matthew, her adopted father, dies. Anne promises Matthew she'll behave just before he passes away. The characters and the plot in the book were very well developed and believable.
    The writing in Anne of Green Gables was vividly descriptive. Anne always liked to imagine things, and often times the book would describe in detail what she dreamed of. The dialogue used was 3rd person. One of my favorite passages was, "Pretty? Oh pretty doesn't seem to be the right word. Nor beautiful, either. They don't go far enough. Oh, it was wonderful- wonderful. It is the first thing I saw that couldn't be improved by imagination." The theme of Anne of Green Gables would be imagination can make the rainiest days bright. The author is trying to say that imagination can lift you through troubled times. I really liked the book Anne of Green Gables. It was very entertaining and I would suggest it to all.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    Best Book Ever Written

    This book is so imaginative and original. It is beautiful. The entire series is echanting.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    U

    NEVER FEAR! THIS BOOK IS THE ORIGINAL VERSION. THE PERSON WHO SAID IT WAS A SHORTENED VERSION POSTED THE SAME COMMENT ON MANY OTHER ANNE OF GREEN GABLES BOOKS. I BOUGHT THIS BOOK, SO I'D KNOW IF ITS REAL OR NOT, AND, LET ME ASSURE YOU, IT IS.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was a good one, But had a few boring and weak parts in between the book and the book was a little too long. I would still recommend this book to age 12+, because of the thrilling and suspenseful parts. :)

    Anne of Green Gables:
    Book Review


    "I'll try and do anything and be anything you want, if you'll only keep me." Anne said. "Well," said Marilla. "I suppose I might as well tell you. Matthew and I have decided to keep you-that is if you will try to be a good little girl and show yourself grateful. Why, child, whatever is the matter?" " I'm crying," said Anne. "I can't think why. I'm glad as can be. I'm so happy. But can you tell me why I'm crying?"


    Anne Shirley is not an ordinary child. She is a little orphan girl who always talks and tries to make everything exciting. She is imaginative and has lots of ambitions even as a little girl. Anne has an atrocious and frightening life until she mistakenly comes to the Cuthberts' house. The Cuthberts are looking for a boy for help in their daily chores, due to becoming old, but when they meet the interesting Anne, the Cuthberts can't resist adopting her. Anne gets so excited and thanks the Cuthberts for their kindness to her. Ms. Cuthbert wants Anne to be a smart and humble old-fashioned girl while the quiet Mr. Cuthbert only wants to make Anne happy. This story tells about Anne's adventurous life as she adapts to her new environment, including making friends and going to school. Anne also struggles to fit in with all of the older, prettier girls in her surroundings. Beside a few weak and boring parts, this story is fun, exciting, and suspenseful, and it is thrilling to watch Anne as she grows up and tries to make the best of herself. I would recommend this lovable young adult novel to all those people who have ever wondered how it feels to be an orphan.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Wonderful for all young girls

    Love this series. My mother read them, my daughter and now my granddaughters. These are wonderful books for little girls. Recommend highly for all young girls.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Orphan Anne

    Anne Shirley comes to Green Gables in hopes of finding a home to call home at last. That she does find in Matthew and Marilla who take her in. Of course at first Marilla does not want her because she is not a boy who she wanted but Matthew has fallen in love with Anne wants her to stay. Stay she does and changes their lives forever. She had her ways of living and seening life and gets into plenty of trouble all on her own. Even Gilbert had noticed Anne he does something that Anne really does not like and ends up not likeing him for what he even though he is sorry.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic Starts Series, Ann of Green Gables

    My 7 year old loved it. She read it in one day, all by herself. She went back and read it again. I would recommend the Classic Start Series for all young children.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Great book and movie

    I love this book. I also love the movie! For the movie it is almost exactly like the book exept a couple parts taken out and put into into. They are both really good. My favorite character is Gilbert then its Anne. This is an injoyable book to read and to watch.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Great Book!

    I really had fun to read this book. This book refreshed my brain from the real world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    The best book ever

    I would give it more stars if i posiibly could

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Oo Ok book

    I liked it but you should not read it when your little

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Best book ever

    I love this book it makes you
    Feel good inside and you will laugh out loud in this sweet daring and funny adventure of anne of green gables

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Good book

    This is a good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    This is a beautiful book, and I plan to give it as a gift to my

    This is a beautiful book, and I plan to give it as a gift to my niece, but since one reviewer was saying otherwise, I just want to clarify that this is not the original version, nor should it be.  This version is shortened for younger readers.  I have read the original many, many times, and, unfortunately, this book does exclude some of the wonderful things that make Anne books so amazing, like Anne's precocious and lengthy explanations of her fantasies and the stunning details of idyllic Avonlea that characterize L.M. Montgomery's writing style.  Still, the story is there, and the illustrations are beautiful.  It is a good way to introduce younger readers to Anne. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Anne Of Green Gables

    Anne Of Green Gables is a wonderful and amusing book. Anne is a little red-headed girl who comes to live with Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert from the orphanage. It turns out thoughh that they wanted a boy to help Matthew, who is gettinng on in years on the farm. So Marilla prepares to take Anne back to the orphanage, but Matthew has grown to love Anne and begs Marilla to keep Anne

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    can there be a protagonist more entertaining and lovable than An

    can there be a protagonist more entertaining and lovable than Anne? Wonderful book, enjoyable AND didactic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Teh nook version awful and gross looking to read. hang on to yo

    Teh nook version awful and gross looking to read. hang on to your old books until they get a decent version for ereaders.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    MATT TO KISTEN

    LETS GO HAVE SEX BABY I WANT U!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Kristen

    We can till be together, just dont chain me to a bed. Anytime u need sex, my vagina will be waiting for u, like it is right now. I appreciate u licking my pu.ssy, and just dont scare me like that anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15