Customer Reviews for

Anne of Green Gables

Average Rating 4.5
( 348 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(257)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Anne of Green Gables :)

Anne of Green Gables is a novel by Lucy Maud Montgomery. It is titled Anne of Green Gables because it follows the adventures of a mischievous girl, Anne Shirley, who lives in Green Gables. The story takes place in the 1890's and follows Anne through several years of h...
Anne of Green Gables is a novel by Lucy Maud Montgomery. It is titled Anne of Green Gables because it follows the adventures of a mischievous girl, Anne Shirley, who lives in Green Gables. The story takes place in the 1890's and follows Anne through several years of her life. Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert had decided to adopt a boy to help on the farm. Instead the orphanage sent a talkative and troublesome girl. They were going to send her back, but quickly came to love Anne and decided to adopt her. The major conflict of the story is Marilla's trouble raising Anne, the protagonist. The rising action involves Anne's imagination, which always provokes her to do foolish things. In addition, Gilbert Blythe (the antagonist) provokes Anne. There never is a true turning point in the book. Anne promises to behave after each incident, but once again finds trouble. The resolution is made when Matthew, her adopted father, dies. Anne promises Matthew she'll behave just before he passes away. The characters and the plot in the book were very well developed and believable.
The writing in Anne of Green Gables was vividly descriptive. Anne always liked to imagine things, and often times the book would describe in detail what she dreamed of. The dialogue used was 3rd person. One of my favorite passages was, "Pretty? Oh pretty doesn't seem to be the right word. Nor beautiful, either. They don't go far enough. Oh, it was wonderful- wonderful. It is the first thing I saw that couldn't be improved by imagination." The theme of Anne of Green Gables would be imagination can make the rainiest days bright. The author is trying to say that imagination can lift you through troubled times. I really liked the book Anne of Green Gables. It was very entertaining and I would suggest it to all.

posted by CassidyR on October 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

annoying abridgment

I didn't notice that this was an abridged version (audio mp3) when I ordered it. But I wasn't too concerned until I started listening to it. Being a die hard Anne of Green Gables fan I was extremely disappointed that their idea of shortening the story was to completel...
I didn't notice that this was an abridged version (audio mp3) when I ordered it. But I wasn't too concerned until I started listening to it. Being a die hard Anne of Green Gables fan I was extremely disappointed that their idea of shortening the story was to completely cut out key events and rewrite new contrived events that fall flat and do not lend themselves to the dramatic, touching, sometimes comical life of Anne Shirley. That coupled with the squeaky mouse-like voice that the narrator uses for Anne, and I will be searching for a new audio book for Anne of Green Gables to replace this one. This is NOT Lucy Maude Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables...fans be forewarned!

posted by Headina_Book on December 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    Best Book Ever Written

    This book is so imaginative and original. It is beautiful. The entire series is echanting.

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    U

    NEVER FEAR! THIS BOOK IS THE ORIGINAL VERSION. THE PERSON WHO SAID IT WAS A SHORTENED VERSION POSTED THE SAME COMMENT ON MANY OTHER ANNE OF GREEN GABLES BOOKS. I BOUGHT THIS BOOK, SO I'D KNOW IF ITS REAL OR NOT, AND, LET ME ASSURE YOU, IT IS.

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Wonderful for all young girls

    Love this series. My mother read them, my daughter and now my granddaughters. These are wonderful books for little girls. Recommend highly for all young girls.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    The best book ever

    I would give it more stars if i posiibly could

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Great Book!

    I really had fun to read this book. This book refreshed my brain from the real world.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Orphan Anne

    Anne Shirley comes to Green Gables in hopes of finding a home to call home at last. That she does find in Matthew and Marilla who take her in. Of course at first Marilla does not want her because she is not a boy who she wanted but Matthew has fallen in love with Anne wants her to stay. Stay she does and changes their lives forever. She had her ways of living and seening life and gets into plenty of trouble all on her own. Even Gilbert had noticed Anne he does something that Anne really does not like and ends up not likeing him for what he even though he is sorry.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic Starts Series, Ann of Green Gables

    My 7 year old loved it. She read it in one day, all by herself. She went back and read it again. I would recommend the Classic Start Series for all young children.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Best book ever

    I love this book it makes you
    Feel good inside and you will laugh out loud in this sweet daring and funny adventure of anne of green gables

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Anne Of Green Gables

    Anne Of Green Gables is a wonderful and amusing book. Anne is a little red-headed girl who comes to live with Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert from the orphanage. It turns out thoughh that they wanted a boy to help Matthew, who is gettinng on in years on the farm. So Marilla prepares to take Anne back to the orphanage, but Matthew has grown to love Anne and begs Marilla to keep Anne

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Great book and movie

    I love this book. I also love the movie! For the movie it is almost exactly like the book exept a couple parts taken out and put into into. They are both really good. My favorite character is Gilbert then its Anne. This is an injoyable book to read and to watch.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Good book

    This is a good book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    What happens when a mischevious 11 year old girl mixes with a quiet farm couple?

    Find out in Anne of Green Gables! This book is a wonderful classic that has enthralled readers for many generations with its compelling plot, well developed characters, vivid writing, and emotions. After reading this book, you will want to sprint to your local library for the next book in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    My daughter is currently re-reading Anne of Green Gables and is very delighted with it.

    I purchased this book as a gift for my daughter who had read it as a young person. She was thrilled.
    Bookworm1FG

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    To below

    I'm thirteen and I totally agree. I have even read Les Miserables (unabridged) so to me Twilight is just plain stupid.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Grow up

    Yall need to learn to enjoy the clasics and not rely on those stupidbooks on vampires and zombies and all this twilight crap im 11 and like the clasics

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Fun

    Love the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Awsome

    Love it. I have actually seen the movie. And guess what that girl on the cover of the book is megan follows.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful lovely story for women all ages!

    When I was a little girl, I received each book of the series (in Norwegian) for birthday and xmas, and I loved the books so much. So when I saw Barnes & Noble had a leatherbound version of the first book, I just had to have it!
    The book itself is very cute and little (despite it being almost 400 pages!), you could even bring it with you! The light parts in the cover has a really cool silver reflective effect - And on the first page you can write your name (or your child's)! The book even has vintage black-and-grey pencil illustrations, which I didn't expect! A lovely surprise.
    Now, let me get to the story! Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert are an elderly pair of siblings, who wants to adopt a boy from the orphan's asylum to help them out. But when Matthew is to pick him up at the train station, the only one there is little 11 year-old Anne, sent by a mistake. Matthew takes her home to Marilla, and Marilla is slightly angry and wants to send her back. But she's so adorable and talkative and lovable, so they eventually decide to keep her.
    Anne Shirley is a wonderful character who no one can help but love! The book follows her from being a lively and talkative 11 year-old girl who renames places with romantic names and imagines a lot of things, to a grown up woman of 16 and a half, but still with a hint of the same girl.
    The book is heartbreaking near the end, but L. M. Montgomery manages to make the ending happy as well, and may or may not make you hungry to read the rest of the books about Anne's life! And I just have to mention that I love the fact that Montgomery mostly uses Anne herself to talk about her adventures (to Marilla, for example). It makes the story so much more real!
    I think this would be a lovely book to read together with your child, or cuddled up in your duvet, remembering your childhood. I think that children will be inspired by Anne, who does well in school but she makes mistakes in her life as well (making her more real as a character) and learning from them, so they can as well! And the book also shows different forms of love.
    So I would recommend this to anyone! Preferably women though, but if men are interested, I don't think they'll be disappointed either! :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Lttle boy

    I have this book on the nook.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    The ARose Books version of "Anne of Green Gables" has

    The ARose Books version of "Anne of Green Gables" has been carefully edited, even correcting typos from the original publication. It is a beautiful book with custom illustrations. A nice version if you collect and keep your books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13