Customer Reviews for

Anne of Green Gables

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    A Timeless Story

    I read this story, for the first time, when I was a very young girl, about 56 years ago and, since I come from Nova Scotia, I found it very interesting as Prince Edward Island is very close to where I grew up. I've lived in the USA for the last 35 years and have read it several more times through the years. I know it will continue to be read for many years to come by people of all ages, places and cultures. It is a wonderful story that little girls will love and continue to love throughout their lifetime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    It's like looking in a mirror!

    L.M. Montgomery's human insight is excellent. She was a very perceptive woman. I LOVE Anne of Green Gables!!! At the age of six (20 years ago) my mother woke me up in the middle of the night laughing and said, 'I'm reading a book about you!' Naturally, this startled me that there could be a book about me in circulation! Her friend had recommended it to her, saying 'You should read Anne of Green Gables, because you're raising her!' I've been a fan of Anne ever since! Reading the book is a good outlet when I feel misunderstood:-'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2007

    Outsanding Book!

    This book was a wonderful book! Anne had a big imagination, and she used in alot of things. When she had something she didnt like, she imagined it was fancy and in her mind she turned it into something she did like.I loved this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2003

    Simply a Classic!

    Could there be any other book more classic and heart warming than this book? I'd say never. It is amazing how much imagiation and wonder is in such an enchanting tale. This young girl is the girl everyone is jealous of because of her radient opinion and imagation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    I have been searching for some time now for a preschool version

    I have been searching for some time now for a preschool version of Anne for my daughters, who are 5 and 3. I've loved Anne since I was a child and was too impatient to wait for them to be old enough for the full-length series! This book arrived today and I could not be more happy with it. It's beautifully illustrated and adapted perfectly for this age group. I can't wait to give it to my girls for Christmas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    Limited Excitement!

    The fictional story Anne Of The Green Gables is a very interesting written book .It begins by a prince wanting to adopt a boy from Nova Scotia in Canada. But something does not go right. The day came when the adopted boy was going to meet his or her adoption parent so the doorbell rings and the prince says "come in" the kids and his or hers chaperone that brought the kid from the orphanage to meet this prince. The prince thinks he is getting a boy but sure enough it was a girl. A girl named Anne Shirley.
    Anne is a very nice lonely girl who has spent most of her live at the orphanage. The prince was very discouraged that he got a girl and he said he did not want her but Anne Shirley said" I have always wanted a actual home to live in not a orphanage". He said "ok" you could stay here for a night or two and see how it works out for you. Anne said ok and said goodbye to the chaperone. The price ended up adopting her. She is now living a wonderful life with the prince.
    As the days pasted she goes outside and looks around and walks over to the neighbors yard and asked the girl across the street if she would like to be best friends. The best friends said ok and off they did everything together. That is what the story is mostly about. Some negative things that happened in the story is a old lady named Marllina chopped of most of Anne's hair. Anne did not enjoy her new look. But eventually it grew back. Some positive things are that Anne now lives in an actual home that she can call "home" also that she has new best friends that she does everything with.
    The author wrote this book in a style that I would call very softly and mellow. I did not find this book that exciting I would recommend it to girls that like not so exciting books. I recommend the book Hoot and A Penny From Heaven and P.S Longer Latter later. Some similar books are Anne Of The Avolea and Penny from Haven. Overall I enjoyed this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    fantastic book!!!!!

    this is an amazing book!! it gives you such a different perspective on life because Anne has such an amazing imagination. Before I read it I thought it would be to wordy but I was completely wrong!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was a literary masterpiece; enjoyable for all ages. The characters were realistic, as well as the predicaments they encountered. I think that the main character, Anne was passionate about her likes and dislikes. The first two chapters are a little slow, but once you get into the story, you won't be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1