Customer Reviews for

Anne of the Island by Lucy Maud Montgomery

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A wonderful read: Anne of the Island

As old friends come out of the picture and new ones come in, Anne Shirley clings on to the days of the past. But as old friendships become far more than friendships, she¿s not so sure she can. From young frivolous, little Anne to grown up woman going to college, Anne ...
As old friends come out of the picture and new ones come in, Anne Shirley clings on to the days of the past. But as old friendships become far more than friendships, she¿s not so sure she can. From young frivolous, little Anne to grown up woman going to college, Anne Shirley has changed a lot over the years. She wants to hang on to the past, but as old friends marry off and new ones come into the picture, Anne firmly believes that she has finally reached adulthood. But, is she really happy? I really like the story plot in Anne of the Island because it¿s a sweet story and many parts of it remind me of special memories that I had. To me, the plot of this story is like a winding path. Whenever I think it¿s going uphill, it¿s going downhill, whenever I think it¿s turning right, it¿s turning left. There are many unexpected, yet subtle, turns in this book. It really makes me wonder what will happen in the next book of the series. The characters in this book are so real, so defined, it seems to me, that they could never be anything but themselves. This book plants very firm pictures of the characters in my head, so they look very different to me when I see a picture on the cover or something else. This is probably because of the many great descriptions shown in this book. I wouldn¿t change one single character in this book, they¿re just so unique and special. The writing style of this book is very old-timey and professional. Many times while reading, I find myself thinking, ¿Huh?¿ And that¿s a good thing I learned new words and it challenged me. The language in this book is very poetic. There are many metaphors and similes, and it creates a mood for the reader. If you ever decide you want to read this book, I think you¿ll really like it, I know I did. It is the third book in L.M. Montgomery¿s wonderful series Anne of Green Gables. Just like the two before it, it is a very fun and unique book. A. Ambler

posted by Anonymous on September 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

L.M. Montgomery Reader Who Was VERY Disapointed

This Book on Cd may have high quality discs and sound (though very cheap cases), but the reading is absolutly horrid. Be warned! The reader simply butchers the lines and makes all the characters sound whiney and far too dramatic-not realistic. A complete disgrace to a w...
This Book on Cd may have high quality discs and sound (though very cheap cases), but the reading is absolutly horrid. Be warned! The reader simply butchers the lines and makes all the characters sound whiney and far too dramatic-not realistic. A complete disgrace to a wonderful novel is the best way to sum up this monstrosity!

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    My all-time favorite!!

    I first read the Anne of Green Gables series as a pre-teen and they are the only books that I feel a need to revisit every couple of years. They are like dear old friends, and I love them as much now in my late twenties as I did as a girl! Anne of the Island is my favorite! It is so sweet & romantic, you just can't help but fall in love with Anne & Gilbert and their story!! They truely were meant for one another! If only every girl could have a Gilbert Blythe to love her faithfully & unconditionally!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    a reviewer

    Anne of The Island was an abslutely charming book. It's my favorite book of the whole series- that is, for now... I'm still on #4!! ='

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    L.M. Montgomery Reader Who Was VERY Disapointed

    This Book on Cd may have high quality discs and sound (though very cheap cases), but the reading is absolutly horrid. Be warned! The reader simply butchers the lines and makes all the characters sound whiney and far too dramatic-not realistic. A complete disgrace to a wonderful novel is the best way to sum up this monstrosity!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    Best out of the series

    This book had all the charms of Anne of Green Gable--Anne is her usual sweet, vivacious character, and her friends are all interesting and well fleshed out, not to mention that some parts of the story are amusing and entertaining. The thing that really makes this book stand out, however, is that this book has a very clear direction. It is a love story, rather than the collection of adventures the other books tend to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    Anne will always be a favorite!

    Anne of the Island is one of the sweetest books i have ever read. It has the same Anne, always getting into scrapes with romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    My favorite book

    Hi, I'm 10 and I think this is absolutly the best book EVER! Anne really figures out who she is in this book. It is very involved and the characters really become real. Everyone NEEDS to read it. Oh, by the way there is a prequel by Budge Wilson called Before Green Gables, it is really good and it explails a lot about her life when she was an orphan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    ;)

    It was so beautifullly romantic! <3 ~giggles~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Nexus 7 Users

    While I LOVE this series, this version on the e-book in particular doesn't work properly on the Nook app of my Nexus 7. Go ahead and spend the extra dollar or two for a different version.
    Happy Reading! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Beautifully romantic

    This book is beautiful!! It is all about anne finding true love. I wanted to cry when i reaches the end because of how heart stopping it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    RJ to all!!!!!!!!

    Go to the jacket" res1(has apicture if bar cells) and sign up for the nook police department. Go noow!(: ~Ree

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Question

    What is the 4th book in this series?

    -M

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Amazing book

    I loved it and finished it in 2 days, i liked the ending. This is my favorite of the series so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No life

    People who think this is boring have no life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Never

    I have never read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Anne of the island

    I have npt read alll of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    DO NOT READ THIS UNTIL YOU READ THE BOOK!!!! Comments on other reviews

    Dont put that. It spoils the ending.
    Yes its a romance.
    Anne of the island is during a war?
    Its not jane that dies. Its ruby gillis.
    Ok, i will keep in mind not to listen to the audiobook.
    P.s. Love This!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Awseome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!=:)

    So far its a good book. Sooooo excited! I have only read 1 bad report and foowy (foowy is not a word.) on them! I absolutly LOVE Ann (sorry i mean Anne=;) )!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    ANNE OF THE ISLAND

    I thought that this book was charming, with lots of thinking put into it. It is just right for fourth, fifth, and sixth graders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2005

    Very good!

    Anne of the Island is my favorite of all of the Anne books. I love all of them, though, and I've read them all except for Rilla of Ingleside in just a few weeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    Oooh lala Romance

    This is my favorite book of all the Anne Book Series. I just couldn't put it down. Gilbert fianlly reveals his love for Anne. Anne tries to decide if he is 'The One'. Full of happy,sad and shocking emotions. Beautiful love story. I will ALWAYS remember this book and tresure it forever!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7