Customer Reviews for

Anne of the Island

Average Rating 4.5
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A wonderful read: Anne of the Island

As old friends come out of the picture and new ones come in, Anne Shirley clings on to the days of the past. But as old friendships become far more than friendships, she¿s not so sure she can. From young frivolous, little Anne to grown up woman going to college, Anne ...
As old friends come out of the picture and new ones come in, Anne Shirley clings on to the days of the past. But as old friendships become far more than friendships, she¿s not so sure she can. From young frivolous, little Anne to grown up woman going to college, Anne Shirley has changed a lot over the years. She wants to hang on to the past, but as old friends marry off and new ones come into the picture, Anne firmly believes that she has finally reached adulthood. But, is she really happy? I really like the story plot in Anne of the Island because it¿s a sweet story and many parts of it remind me of special memories that I had. To me, the plot of this story is like a winding path. Whenever I think it¿s going uphill, it¿s going downhill, whenever I think it¿s turning right, it¿s turning left. There are many unexpected, yet subtle, turns in this book. It really makes me wonder what will happen in the next book of the series. The characters in this book are so real, so defined, it seems to me, that they could never be anything but themselves. This book plants very firm pictures of the characters in my head, so they look very different to me when I see a picture on the cover or something else. This is probably because of the many great descriptions shown in this book. I wouldn¿t change one single character in this book, they¿re just so unique and special. The writing style of this book is very old-timey and professional. Many times while reading, I find myself thinking, ¿Huh?¿ And that¿s a good thing I learned new words and it challenged me. The language in this book is very poetic. There are many metaphors and similes, and it creates a mood for the reader. If you ever decide you want to read this book, I think you¿ll really like it, I know I did. It is the third book in L.M. Montgomery¿s wonderful series Anne of Green Gables. Just like the two before it, it is a very fun and unique book. A. Ambler

posted by Anonymous on September 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Borrrring!!! :P

This book was so boring, no offense to the five people who like it.

posted by 7997559 on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    A wonderful read: Anne of the Island

    As old friends come out of the picture and new ones come in, Anne Shirley clings on to the days of the past. But as old friendships become far more than friendships, she¿s not so sure she can. From young frivolous, little Anne to grown up woman going to college, Anne Shirley has changed a lot over the years. She wants to hang on to the past, but as old friends marry off and new ones come into the picture, Anne firmly believes that she has finally reached adulthood. But, is she really happy? I really like the story plot in Anne of the Island because it¿s a sweet story and many parts of it remind me of special memories that I had. To me, the plot of this story is like a winding path. Whenever I think it¿s going uphill, it¿s going downhill, whenever I think it¿s turning right, it¿s turning left. There are many unexpected, yet subtle, turns in this book. It really makes me wonder what will happen in the next book of the series. The characters in this book are so real, so defined, it seems to me, that they could never be anything but themselves. This book plants very firm pictures of the characters in my head, so they look very different to me when I see a picture on the cover or something else. This is probably because of the many great descriptions shown in this book. I wouldn¿t change one single character in this book, they¿re just so unique and special. The writing style of this book is very old-timey and professional. Many times while reading, I find myself thinking, ¿Huh?¿ And that¿s a good thing I learned new words and it challenged me. The language in this book is very poetic. There are many metaphors and similes, and it creates a mood for the reader. If you ever decide you want to read this book, I think you¿ll really like it, I know I did. It is the third book in L.M. Montgomery¿s wonderful series Anne of Green Gables. Just like the two before it, it is a very fun and unique book. A. Ambler

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Um not really rating just asking...

    Does this book have romance?

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Book 3

    I love these books! Suitable for all ages. The movies are good, as well, except for the very sensitive (like me) you may not want to watch the last one; it takes place during a war and it broke my heart to watch all the suffering even if it is just a movie.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Anne

    I absolutely love this book. It is such a sweet CLEAN romance, and in a world like today thats hard to come by. Anne really grows a lot in this book. L.M. Montgomery did a fantastic job with the third book in the Anne of Green Gables series

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    Incredible

    Anne of the Island is a wonderful book. It takes you back to another place and time and has delightful characters that are very easy to relate to. I felt myself experiencing the highs and lows that Anne and the other characters were going through. It is my favorite book of the series, probably because it is the most romantic. It is an incredible book!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    Outstanding!

    Anne of The Island is a very exciting booek. This book keeps you guessing. L.M Montgomry is an excillent writer. Everything about this book makes you want to keep reading it. This book takes place in a course of four years. It starts out with a young lady who cannot afford to go to college but she really wants to go. But when one of her friends reccomend her and she makes it shes shocked but she jumps at the chance and she also gets a scholorship. When shes there she meets many friends and starts writing a book everyone pointed out the bad but she sent it in anyway and she won a contest. This book is so well writen you never want to put it down. I cant wait to read the next book in the series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Redmond

    This was a great book. It was well written, great vocabulary, and an intresting plot. I cant wait to read number 4.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Awsome i loved ending so romantic Awesome loved ending so romantic

    This is like the book that talks about annes lovelife

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Awesome

    Love it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2007

    Terrific read... could hardly put the book down

    This book is terriffic. I've read it over 10 times. This book sucks you into Anne's life, her romances, her sorrows, and her joys. This book leaves off in a perfect spot that makes you want to read the rest. This is probably my favorite book in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2005

    Anne

    Lucy Maude Montgomery was one of the most remarkable writers of her time. All of her books are incredible, but Anne of the Island is by far the best. Anne must finally come to terms with what her imagination had always told her she wanted the most, and what life really has in store for her.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Great Book! Splendid!

    This book was great! It had all the romance i love! I can totally relate to Anne! I love reading about Anne and Gilberts relashonship and how it fizzled and grew! Anne experienced heartbreak and loss! The best one out of the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2001

    Awesome read!!!!!!!!

    If you are familiar with the Anne of Green Gables series, than you know what I'm talking about when I say that Harry Potter doesn't come close to this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Borrrring!!! :P

    This book was so boring, no offense to the five people who like it.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Love these books!

    I have watched the "Anne movies" since I was a little girl. And now though I'm grown (reading wasn't so interesting when I was a little girl) I started reading the books, and they are better than the movies! This one is the latest I've read, and I have to say, probably my fav so far. Can't wait to read the rest. I highly recommend these books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite Anne book

    This is by far my favorite of the Anne books. My mother bought me the series when I was young and I have probably re-read all the books at least 3-4 times, but I've read Anne of the Island more than a dozen times. I always discover something new each time I read it. I've often left it out on the coffee table and picked it up here and there and read a chapter or two. I think that I have it memorized by heart. It's absolutley delightful and will stay in your memories for a long time. I can't wait for my daughter to start reading Lucy Maud Montgomery!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Anne is a classic...

    Book number three in the Anne of Green Gables series is just as beautiful as the previous two. Anne of the Island is full of charming characters and enchanting situations. It's so much fun to watch Anne grow and learn in her college years. She makes some interesting new"chums" at school but many of the same old dear characters return from the previous stories. L.M. Montgomery created a classic with Anne!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    My all-time favorite!!

    I first read the Anne of Green Gables series as a pre-teen and they are the only books that I feel a need to revisit every couple of years. They are like dear old friends, and I love them as much now in my late twenties as I did as a girl! Anne of the Island is my favorite! It is so sweet & romantic, you just can't help but fall in love with Anne & Gilbert and their story!! They truely were meant for one another! If only every girl could have a Gilbert Blythe to love her faithfully & unconditionally!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    a reviewer

    Anne of The Island was an abslutely charming book. It's my favorite book of the whole series- that is, for now... I'm still on #4!! ='

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    L.M. Montgomery Reader Who Was VERY Disapointed

    This Book on Cd may have high quality discs and sound (though very cheap cases), but the reading is absolutly horrid. Be warned! The reader simply butchers the lines and makes all the characters sound whiney and far too dramatic-not realistic. A complete disgrace to a wonderful novel is the best way to sum up this monstrosity!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7