Customer Reviews for

Anne's House of Dreams

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Thanks for the heads up!

Yes, the other review was correct- there is another anne book in the series before this one. If you want the full series list here it is:
* anne of green gables
* anne of avonlea
* anne of the island
* anne of windy poplars
* anne's house of dreams

All in all this is ...
Yes, the other review was correct- there is another anne book in the series before this one. If you want the full series list here it is:
* anne of green gables
* anne of avonlea
* anne of the island
* anne of windy poplars
* anne's house of dreams

All in all this is a truly magnificant series i loved it!

posted by 15103510 on July 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

K. N. J. Its #5

This book is number five inthe series i love it!

posted by Anonymous on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Thanks for the heads up!

    Yes, the other review was correct- there is another anne book in the series before this one. If you want the full series list here it is:
    * anne of green gables
    * anne of avonlea
    * anne of the island
    * anne of windy poplars
    * anne's house of dreams

    All in all this is a truly magnificant series i loved it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Awesome

    I read all the books and they are great. READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    EQUESTRIA- To: Annoynomus with rating 4 stars.

    The book is not free! But it is cheaper than most books. It is only $2.99

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Love it!!!

    The anne series are definately my favorite! These books are funny, charming , and just a fun read! I totally recommend this book. It is number five in the series. Make sure to get the other ones too! They are: Anne of Green Gables, Anna of avonlea, Anne of the island, Annae of windy poplars, this one Annes house of dreams, anne of ingleside, Rainbow valley, and Rilla of Ingleside. I have been able to find almosr all of them for free on my nook. GET IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    ;)

    This book is awesome! ~giggles~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Awesomre

    I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    anne

    Annec

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Read this book

    This is a really great book for someone who would like to read the house of green gable bc this book is simular to it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    House o dreams

    This was among the best books in the seires, although the entire seires was probably the best i ever read. Though i did not like that Joyce died. I had looked foward to this book alot and when the wedding happened i think i was dissapointing. There should have been more detail. But like the other books it was ecedingly well writen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Awesome

    Love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    On ONE OF THESE REVIEWS IS WRONG!!!!!

    Someone said that this book was the fifth in this series, and that is corect. The only thing that this person said was wrong was that they said that the fourth in this series, Anee of Windy Poplars, was not avaliable. WRONG!!!!!!! Think im wrong? Type in the title. Its their!!!!! So if youve just finished anne of the island and want something more then anne of windy poplars is your next read!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    LOVE

    I love anne

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best of the Anne Series

    Besides the first book, I liked "Anne's House of Dreams" the best so far out of the whole series. Why? Although Anne and Gilbert are finally married, the tone of this book isn't so "cutsy-perfect" as some of the other books are. Hardships and tragedies actually occur, and we read how Anne and other characters handle them. A couple complaints: I wish Gilbert appeared more in the book, but we should be grateful for what we get of him in this story becauase he appears even less in the next. The wedding of Anne and Gilbert was kind of a let down. There was a big build up to this moment ever since Gilbert first yanked Anne's hair in the first book, and then when they finally got married, it was like we weren't even invited to the wedding! I would have at least liked a description of her wedding dress! I loved the banter between Captain Jim and Miss Cornelia, but for some reason I did not take to Susan Baker. I guess I felt like she got "in the way"... there always seemed to be other characters around Anne and Gilbert, and sometimes I just wanted our main characters to be left alone with each other more often! I could see, hear, and smell every scene in the story (my compliments to the author). This book also includes one of the biggest plot twists I've ever read! I'm a pretty good "guesser" but I was NOT expecting this!

    Spoiler: I'm glad Anne learned how to live and still enjoy life after the death of Joy. And I was so happy for Leslie that things turned out right in the end. Lessons could be learned from her strange circumstance. No matter what, do the right thing and be patient.. God will bring good about from any circumstance in the end for those who love Him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Great Book!

    I love this book! It's about when Anne and Gilbert get married and start a new life. Anne meets lots of new people. This book is one of the best ive read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    book number five...

    Anne's House of Dreams is book number five in the Green Gables series. Anne's first year of marriage is filled with perfect happiness. But with the happiness comes tragic heartbreak. Life at Four Winds Harbor is never dull and Anne takes life as it comes. The Anne of Green Gables series is beautifully written with stunning descriptions. I am really enjoying re-reading these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    Truly a Dream

    Anne's House of Dreams is wonderful. It leaves you breathless. I love this novel. Miss Corneilia is the greatest, and I cried so much when Captian Jim died. Definitely a great sequel to all the others. A must read for readers of all ages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    FULL OF IMAGINATION!!

    This is such a great book and I recomend it to everyone! You will love this book once you read about Captain Jim's adventures and how the tragic life of Leslie Moor turns around! I guarantee that you'd love this book and would never put it dow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2003

    This is a Wonderful Book

    ¿The night winds were beginning their wild dances beyond the bar, and the fishing hamlet across the harbour was gemmed with lights Anne and Gilbert drove up the poplar lane. The door of the little house opened, and a warm glow of firelight flickered out into the dusk. Gilbert lifter Anne from the buggy and led her into the garden, through the little gate between the ruddy-tipped firs, up the trim, red path to the sandstone step. ¿Welcome home,¿ he whispered, and had in hand they stepped over the threshold of their house of dreams¿..¿ What a romantic introduction, don¿t you think? Well, if you liked that part, you will definitely like the book Anne¿s House of Dreams by L.M. Montgomery. This book is about a girl named Anne, and her true love, Gilbert finally getting married and settling into a life that¿s their own. So they buy a house in Four Winds, that Anne calls their house of dreams. However what she doesn¿t know is what will happen while she¿s in this house. The newlyweds have gotten off to a great start. Gilbert has a job as the town¿s doctor, and Anne is making new friends everyday. Miss. Cornelia and Captain Jim have been a great help to get them settled in and tell them about Four Winds. However there is this one person that Anne can¿t figure out. She can¿t get close enough to know her, but she knows that if she could they would be great friends. Unlike other books I have read, this one has a moral that stuck out to me. The lesson I think that Ms. Montgomery was trying to teach was that not everything in life goes as we want it to. But sometimes things work out for the best. This book is very romantic, yet it is realistic at the same time. There are plenty of surprises, heartbreaks, and joyous moments in this book. It will make you laugh, cry, and you won¿t be able to put the book down. You will learn things that will stay with you for a long time. I absolutely love this book, but I would suggest reading the first four books before this book if you have the time. So if you are looking for a book to read, that is highly recommended, then read this book. I couldn¿t suggest a better book. Now go out and read this book and find out what happens to Anne and her House of Dreams!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    One Of the Greatest Series in the world

    I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    Wonderful Book. Wonderful Series

    This is such a wonderful series of books. I hope that these books last forever because I believe that every generation should get to know Anne and all of her friends and family. These books are so sweet and wonderfully written- L.M. Montgomery truly knew how to transport the imagination to another time and place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3