Customer Reviews for

Annexed

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend reading. It's an interesting point of view.

    Just reading through this was difficult as it leads to the inevitable tragic ending. However, I thought it was interesting, the story being told through Peter's point of view. It's well written and although some parts were fictional, others were factual and pretty much fully accurate.

    As you read through the book, Peter has his 'philosophical' moments with Anne, which..I found a little odd coming from a teenage boy. However on the other hand, there were moments where Peter does act like his age - his references to Lise are frequent, and his sullen sulky moods are also prevalent. At least in that, Peter is shown acting like a teenager.

    During the moments where they were almost caught, still gave me a moment of panic even though I already knew what was going to happen to them. Dogar does a good job writing here, as she successfully attempts to re-create the feelings of unease, and the feelings of uncertainty the inhabitants of the Annex would have experienced. I also liked how their 'happy' moments were treasured no matter how trivial it might be. It was moments like those, that kept them going and to keep surviving no matter how bleak the situation was.

    What really got me the most was the part with Peter and his father. It was a touching moment that brought tears to my eyes. What Peter's father did was what any loving parent would do for their child. It's more painful as Peter came so close to surviving towards the last final days of the war.

    I do recommend this book to others who are interested in Anne Frank, or are into Holocaust studies. It's well written and well worth the read. It's certainly an interesting point of view as we're so used to hearing about Anne Frank.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Annexed is a good read

    Annexed is a really interesting look at the story of Anne Frank through the eyes of Peter. This novel will make you laugh, cry, and feel their terror as you go through the journey with the characters.

    Sharon got the characters spot on. Anne was portrayed perfectly from her non stop chatting to her quick emotional shifts. Peter was more revealed in this novel. Through Sharon's words you begin to see how Peter might have been in life. Introverted, smart, brave, and willing to survive, Peter was amazing. At first I just wanted him to shut up and quit whining, but as the story progressed I loved him more and more.

    This novel also gives a great sense of what it would be like as a Jew during this time period. Dogar isn't afraid to show the more gruesome acts that were inflicted on this people. It was enough to make you shake your head, crying.

    Read Annexed. It is definitely worth it

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A compelling story!

    When I first started reading Annexed, I wasn't sure how I would feel about it, I had read The Diary of Ann Frank as a teen and wasn't sure how much of the story I actually remembered, but "Annexed" transported me back to Ann Frank, giving me a whole new perspective on life in the Annex, because we hear the story from the voice of Peter Van Pel, a young man just about to turn 16, who was hesitant about hiding out with the Franks, actually not really liking either of the Frank daughters but in the end, the families become close, and its easy to believe that young Peter could have fallen in love with Ann.
    This book is broken into two sections, with the first section giving us a glimpse of life in the Annex thru the eyes of Peter. He is a typical 16 year old boy, he grieves the loss of his first girlfriend Liese, wondering what might have happened to her when her family is taken away, knowing he and his family is going into hiding with the Frank's but dreading it. The finality of what is to be as the door closes and he spends the next two years in the Annex, the close quarters become stifling. He didn't really even like the Frank family in the beginning, but after spending time together he and Ann become close. While she expresses herself thru words he draws, and they both talk about what they will do once the war is over. Unfortunately they never get the chance to find out.
    The second section of the book is The Camps, which allows us to follow the Franks and the Van Pel's as they are taken on a train to the concentration camps. While it is a fictionalized account of what Peter experiences in the camp, they are reconstructed from others who survived.The accounts are so real that you can feel Peter's suffering. Hating the person he had to become in order to survive, often wondering if he was the only Jew left. In the epilogue the author gives us an actual account of what happened to the eight from the Annex.
    The author does an outstanding job of weaving fact with fiction,the story of Peter and the concentration camp is something I will never forget. A thought provoking story that puts a different spin on the time spent in the annex. A book that shouldn't be missed!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    SOO Highly Recomended!!!!

    I LOOOVVVEEEDD this so freaking much! DO NOT LISTEN TO WHAT OTHERS ARE TELLING YOU! It is so touching and sweet and does NOT have a lot of sex in it. They simply disscuss it. But I mean- they're teenagers- with hardly any hope for the future- what're they gonna do? Play scrabble? Anyway, the part at the end had me (of all people -.- I don't cry easily) had me in tears. She tells a very beautiful story of the possible POV of Peter. A bit confusing with the name changes, but she was being respectful of you jerky die hard- we will defend Anne Franks Diary to the end- fans (Who, bless there souls, ANNOY THE HELL OUTTA ME) Besides, if this storu was boring to you Anne Franks Diary must have been a DRAAG, so go read it and weep!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Great!!!!

    Really sad in the end but overall I loved this book and I would recomend it for anyone 13+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Amazing Very touching

    This book made me see that we really are blessed in what we already have. We should be thankful. Very inspiring read. A definite must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    A GREAT READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Annexed is a book that I will definetly read again. I read the diary of Anne Frank and it made me think that Peter was hapoy to be safe, but really, he was not too thankful. I was surprised at all of the things that just popped up. Great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Heartbreaking story, told beautifully. READ THIS BOOK

    This is a terribly sad tale shown through Peter's eyes. The author eloquently brings you intp the dark little attic and shows you what their world was like. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in that time period and Anne Frank.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Great book.....different perspective

    If you liked The Diary Of Anne Frank, you will like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Best book

    This book is amazing i would recommened it to everyone

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Anne's love story

    A further look into the annex, very well written except it had some dull moments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    So sad yet so good

    Wow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    This a great read

    This a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Love this book!!!!!

    I have already read this book but i will read over and over but i still love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    E

    Absolutely fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    People

    People still believe this holohoax propaganda Anne Frank was proven to be fake. People hate jews not because of who they are but because of what they do.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It's a good book. Pretty Good I guess, you don't get really att

    It's a good book.
    Pretty Good I guess, you don't get really attached to any of the characters. I would recommend it to a friend....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Kept me reading

    First novel of this sort I have read and I do love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    January, 17, 2012

    Just by reading the summary it really gives me that feeling that you really got to read this book. I have read the diary of Anne Frank and it was a wonderful book, but this one might be even better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Great book!

    I'm a freshman in highschool and this book interested me so much! I highly recomend it!! Great read for any age!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4