Customer Reviews for

Annie John

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    I've read better

    I'm not really sure about this book. I though it was a good book but i had a hard time picturing that it was based around a colored girls life. It seemed a lot like it was more about a preppy little white girl who seemed to think she was better then everyone else. The book as a whole is ok but it just screams middle class white girl who lives in the suburbs to me...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Annie John

    Annie john is a book that is kinda difficult to understand .
    Although .. she was a very strange girl who believed that only people she didnt knew only died . And how she wanted to see how dead people looked etc . She was a curios girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ANNIE JOHN, the spunky lesbian little girl that's trying to find her breasts and her womanhood. The "Little Miss" of the family and the hater of her own mother.

    I've never read a lesbian type book before until I read Annie John. In this story, Annie starts out as a little black girl that loves her mother dearly and wants to become just like her. Soon she is put into school and falls in love with her best friend Gwen. During school hours the girls talk about their body and reveal their body parts to each other. When her achievement in school puts her into a higher grade she looses her friendship and love with Gwen. Her mother becomes less her friend and more as her guideline mother. She has no one to turn to and she must find out who she really is. By the time she's fifteen the drought ends and is replaced by floods of rain. She soon becomes sick and is like that for 3 months, during this time she grows more and more, realizing she's grown into a woman. At sixteen she leaves her home of Antigua destined for England. On her way to the ship she looks back on the life as a child and soon she takes her place as a woman leading into a new life alone. I have to say I enjoyed this book. The beginning was more indulging than the end, because she was a young spunky girl in the beginning, then by the end of the book she became boring. Overall it is a good book and I would recommend it to any women's book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    Tomorrow tomorrow I'll love ya tomorrow, wait wrong Annie. This is the Story of Annie John.

    Some parents more than others have an incredible impact on their children. In my opinion, Annie John is an example of this. Annie John is a young girl who has always had a pleasant life because of her parents. She is especially loved by her mother who she's always with and respects the most as a little girl. Around the age of twelve however, Annie is no longer just a little girl. She's becoming a woman with her own opinions and ideas about life. Living on Antigua her whole life, she only knows the island culture she was taught. So with her own ideas comes uncertainty about the only way of life Annie has ever been taught. Being only human, she has questions about life that because of her strict culture she feels can only be answered by leaving her family and Antigua. And when she finishes school, Annie chooses to do this and becomes detached from her family. I feel sort of ridiculous because I often think I can relate to characters I read about, but this really was the case with Annie John. I know what its like to grow up I guess and realize things that have always been, just gone unnoticed. This is why I sort of look up to Annie, because in the end she decided to do something about it for herself. I definitely recommend this book to others. It wasn't very difficult to read, and I think teenage girls especially would enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    reds the color

    i enjoyed this book very much it had a lot of emotion in it annie went through a lot with her mother and father they all have had a loved one die more than once in there lives and have handled it alright annie is a very brave kid saving the red girl from a fire not a lot of kids would do that she helped her parents a lot of the times to which is a great thing even though he parents were a bit controlling of her i love how she can be very independent at times also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Annie John

    Annie John is a little girl who loves her parents very much. Her and her mother do everything together and Annie obeys and respects her mother always. As Annie grows up and starts school, she becomes first in her class and is liked by all her teachers and most girls wanted to be friends with her. One girl named Gwen catches her attention and they become the best of friends. Once Annie turns 12 her world changes. Her mother distances herself from Annie and Annie becomes annoyed by Gwen. Annie becomes ill and once it passes, she leaves Antigua and heads to England to be away from her family.
    I think this story was a easy but good read. I enjoyed the characters and Annies character made me want to continue to read and find out what happens to her. I would recommend this book for others to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Not my kind of book

    This book was kinda boring, but it was about testing the strength of a relationship between mother and daughter. In the beginning Annie is trying to understand what "death" really meant and how it would never hapen to someone she knew. It shows how any mother and daughter go through life with their ups and downs and how they get through the "teenage" years. I am not much for books, but I really did enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    My own reason for leaving home. ;)

    I liked this book because as you read along with it you can tell that the charecter was growing as you read. One moment you're reading about when she is 5 and has a fling with another girl her age named Gwen, and their fun and journeys together. Then in another moment she is about 15 and growing apart from her mother, like almost every other teenager I know. She is also, at some point, very ill. Ill for about 3 and a half months. And in the last moment she is leaving home to go to England and become a nurse. ", but I remembered that I wasn't a child anymore, and that now when I made up my mind about somethings I had to see it through." This really spoke to me because I can see myself saying that to myself when I leave for college in 2011. This is a really good book for every age because the charecter herself is every age at some point in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    Annie John - all grown up

    This is a story about a young girl going through the stages of becoming her own person. She is attached to her mother, but has to learn to make a name for herself. She does this by rebelling against her mother and collecting marbles and stolen items, like books. I believe that this book is a good illustration of how young women learn to become adults and shows how young women go through the process of separating from their parents to pursue their own interests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Annie John

    Annie John was about a young girl (Annie)who had her own interest against her mothers wishes. Her mother was a very uptight clasey women who played everything by the book and was against rule breaking. Annie of course was the opposite of her mother, Annie was rebellious and broke the rules constantly. Annie's mom made her go to sunday school every sunday unless she was ill. Annie also attended a religious based school with only females. Annie made a friend named gwen who annie's mother very much so approved of but annie fell in love with the "dirty girl". Who Annie's mom did not approve of what so ever this girl played games that girls weren't suppose to play she only showered once a week she was the type of child that mothers wouldn't approve there kids to play with. I thought that this story was told pretty well, certain parts of the story were left open for your mind to decide what the story was trying to tell. Overall I liked this story I wouldn't say it was a favorite but I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    The One and Only Annie John

    Annie John was a young women who lived with her mother growing up. She went everywhere her mom went; they were attached at the hip. When she turned 12, her life changed dramatically. She begins to wonder about her culteral background and ends up leaving her family. She dreads time away from her mother but she had to leave Antigua, her hometown. Annie Fulfills her journey around the world by herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    Annie John - Real & Relatable

    Annie John was a well written book about a young girl who becomes disconnected with her parents after being sheltered by them. It seems to me that after Annie reaches a curtain stage in her life, her and her mother's relationship deteriorates. When Annie's mother tells her she is becoming a women she treats her differently and Annie begins to feel as though she is alone and without the love that she feared losing throughout her childhood. Although this book shows the disconnection of a mother daughter relationship, it also shows how close the two can be. Annie John also shows a young girl coming of age and the growth of a teenager. Being a male, I personally cannot relate to Annie John's situation but I believe I hold a good understanding. Jamaica Kincaid has done a wonderful putting the reader into the characters shoes. I would definitely recommend this to all readers, simply the story is so real. Many people around the world are able to easily relate to not only how Annie but how her mother feels as well. Also, I feel that many readers are able to be intrigued by this book because it takes place in a country other than America or England. It shows readers a different part of the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    Classroom Hauntings

    This book was just alright for me. It was hard for me to get a clear picture of things in my head. When I read I play a little movie in my head, but with this book it was like a skipping dvd. Although, this book does illustrate a good understanding of the tensions of a mother/daughter relationship. It could represent any sort of parent/child relationship for me. I perceive Annie to be more of a white cheerleader who has everything she needs and is kind of stuck up because she knows that she is well liked and smarter than everyone. But at the same time she still would stand up for you but more for the praise and attention than for her self. In the end with her getting sick and bedridden, it is represented by the weather. But I think that if you combine her gettting sick and the weather turning bad it is symbolic of her relationship with her mother and how it went from good to bad. Also, how she is like a little kid that wets the bed and needs help eating, I think that that represents how it used to be and how everything was good for them when she was at that age before she got older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    A touching, and intriguing story of a young girl growing into a woman.

    I found this book was very interesting. It had parts that surprised me and other parts that explains a normal kid. I don't know if I would read this story over again but it wasn't a waste of my time to read it the first time. I also don't think I would recommend it to classrooms but maybe adults with strong opinions and people that want to hear a story of a different persons perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    somethng that will touch you.

    I thought that this was a really good book. I don't like reading a lot of books but I thought that is book was a really good book. It is such a wonderful book. This story had me from the beginning just by the way it touched me. It just was completely a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    A captivating story that will have you from the start

    This story had me at the very beginning! I liked the how the author wrote in a way that was easy to understand and had you captivated. This story was of a young girl named Annie and it told of her transforming from a young child into a woman. I was very into this book the whole time I was reading it and for me, it takes a lot to get me to sit down and finish a book. I really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    A Story About Growing Up

    Overall I think Annie John is a good book. There were times throughout the book when I was waiting for something tragic or exciting to happen like most storylines. Then I realized that's not the purpose of this book. Annie John is simply a story about leaving childhood and entering adolescence. As a child, Annie's mother was her entire world, but by the end of the story she can hardly stand to be in the same room as her. Before, she had overwhelming feelings of love and adoration for her girlfriends, especially Gwen. At seventeen all she feels is embarassment for those feelings and for giving so much of herself to her former friend. This story shows that it's difficult growing up and experiencing not only physical changes, but a change in thoughts and attitudes as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Annie John..a story of a girl!

    Annie John is a novel about a young girl and what her life was like growing up. As a child Annie and her mother were very close, not just as mother and daughter, but also as close friends. They liked to dress alike, and went almost everywhere together. Once Annie began to grow into her teenage years, she noticed how her relationship with her mom had changed. Her mom was no longer her closest friend, but now someone that she could hardly stand being around. Annie started making new friends, and slowly started sneaking around to see them. She also began to play games that she was not allowed to as well as lie to her mother and steal books from her local library. When Annie moved away once becoming an adult, I believe that she was hoping for the old friendship to come back with her mom, but when they said their goodbyes they simply walked away.

    I think that this book was well written, and had a way to keep you interested. My only problem I had while reading through it, was that the length of each chapter was too long for me. Each chapter was at least 15 pages long and in my opinion, I prefer shorter chapters so that you can move on to other incidents throughout the book without getting bored. I give this book 3 out of 5 stars because I think the book had good context, but the outline could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    Annie John was a good but confusing book that tests the bounderies of mom-and daughter relationships. The subject of "DEATH" is a big part in this book. Annie is trying to understand why and what death means. I really enjoy how this book toys with the sexual orientation of Annie and what she thinks of other people. The constant strain between Annie and her mom slowly gets worse as Annie ages and matures. This is a great book for all ages and I highly recommend it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    i had one problem with this book

    Ok so this was a great book. I personally can relate and I believe that several others can too. My interpretation of the book was a young girl growing and maturing in a sheltered life style and not being able to express her choices or feelings with those that she is close to. She tended to have a moody change in her life throughout the book. My problem though was that she was a coloured girl living in Antigau. Its not that her race, skin colour, or birthplace bothered me, it was that from the text throughtout the book I personally could not, in any way, see her as a coloured girl, let alone see the surroundings as a coloured environment, because the amount of evidence of colonization in Antigau. but I did enjoy it and would recommend it to any of whom feel that they need to see life in a different perspective.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3