Customer Reviews for

Annie John

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tomorrow tomorrow I'll love ya tomorrow, wait wrong Annie. This is the Story of Annie John.

Some parents more than others have an incredible impact on their children. In my opinion, Annie John is an example of this. Annie John is a young girl who has always had a pleasant life because of her parents. She is especially loved by her mother who she's always with ...
Some parents more than others have an incredible impact on their children. In my opinion, Annie John is an example of this. Annie John is a young girl who has always had a pleasant life because of her parents. She is especially loved by her mother who she's always with and respects the most as a little girl. Around the age of twelve however, Annie is no longer just a little girl. She's becoming a woman with her own opinions and ideas about life. Living on Antigua her whole life, she only knows the island culture she was taught. So with her own ideas comes uncertainty about the only way of life Annie has ever been taught. Being only human, she has questions about life that because of her strict culture she feels can only be answered by leaving her family and Antigua. And when she finishes school, Annie chooses to do this and becomes detached from her family. I feel sort of ridiculous because I often think I can relate to characters I read about, but this really was the case with Annie John. I know what its like to grow up I guess and realize things that have always been, just gone unnoticed. This is why I sort of look up to Annie, because in the end she decided to do something about it for herself. I definitely recommend this book to others. It wasn't very difficult to read, and I think teenage girls especially would enjoy it.

posted by BookwormWithMcIntyre6th on June 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Annie John

Annie John is a little girl who loves her parents very much. Her and her mother do everything together and Annie obeys and respects her mother always. As Annie grows up and starts school, she becomes first in her class and is liked by all her teachers and most girls wan...
Annie John is a little girl who loves her parents very much. Her and her mother do everything together and Annie obeys and respects her mother always. As Annie grows up and starts school, she becomes first in her class and is liked by all her teachers and most girls wanted to be friends with her. One girl named Gwen catches her attention and they become the best of friends. Once Annie turns 12 her world changes. Her mother distances herself from Annie and Annie becomes annoyed by Gwen. Annie becomes ill and once it passes, she leaves Antigua and heads to England to be away from her family.
I think this story was a easy but good read. I enjoyed the characters and Annies character made me want to continue to read and find out what happens to her. I would recommend this book for others to read.

posted by JessicaWale on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Annie John

    Annie John is a little girl who loves her parents very much. Her and her mother do everything together and Annie obeys and respects her mother always. As Annie grows up and starts school, she becomes first in her class and is liked by all her teachers and most girls wanted to be friends with her. One girl named Gwen catches her attention and they become the best of friends. Once Annie turns 12 her world changes. Her mother distances herself from Annie and Annie becomes annoyed by Gwen. Annie becomes ill and once it passes, she leaves Antigua and heads to England to be away from her family.
    I think this story was a easy but good read. I enjoyed the characters and Annies character made me want to continue to read and find out what happens to her. I would recommend this book for others to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Annie John

    Annie John was about a young girl (Annie)who had her own interest against her mothers wishes. Her mother was a very uptight clasey women who played everything by the book and was against rule breaking. Annie of course was the opposite of her mother, Annie was rebellious and broke the rules constantly. Annie's mom made her go to sunday school every sunday unless she was ill. Annie also attended a religious based school with only females. Annie made a friend named gwen who annie's mother very much so approved of but annie fell in love with the "dirty girl". Who Annie's mom did not approve of what so ever this girl played games that girls weren't suppose to play she only showered once a week she was the type of child that mothers wouldn't approve there kids to play with. I thought that this story was told pretty well, certain parts of the story were left open for your mind to decide what the story was trying to tell. Overall I liked this story I wouldn't say it was a favorite but I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    The One and Only Annie John

    Annie John was a young women who lived with her mother growing up. She went everywhere her mom went; they were attached at the hip. When she turned 12, her life changed dramatically. She begins to wonder about her culteral background and ends up leaving her family. She dreads time away from her mother but she had to leave Antigua, her hometown. Annie Fulfills her journey around the world by herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    A touching, and intriguing story of a young girl growing into a woman.

    I found this book was very interesting. It had parts that surprised me and other parts that explains a normal kid. I don't know if I would read this story over again but it wasn't a waste of my time to read it the first time. I also don't think I would recommend it to classrooms but maybe adults with strong opinions and people that want to hear a story of a different persons perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    A Story About Growing Up

    Overall I think Annie John is a good book. There were times throughout the book when I was waiting for something tragic or exciting to happen like most storylines. Then I realized that's not the purpose of this book. Annie John is simply a story about leaving childhood and entering adolescence. As a child, Annie's mother was her entire world, but by the end of the story she can hardly stand to be in the same room as her. Before, she had overwhelming feelings of love and adoration for her girlfriends, especially Gwen. At seventeen all she feels is embarassment for those feelings and for giving so much of herself to her former friend. This story shows that it's difficult growing up and experiencing not only physical changes, but a change in thoughts and attitudes as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Annie John..a story of a girl!

    Annie John is a novel about a young girl and what her life was like growing up. As a child Annie and her mother were very close, not just as mother and daughter, but also as close friends. They liked to dress alike, and went almost everywhere together. Once Annie began to grow into her teenage years, she noticed how her relationship with her mom had changed. Her mom was no longer her closest friend, but now someone that she could hardly stand being around. Annie started making new friends, and slowly started sneaking around to see them. She also began to play games that she was not allowed to as well as lie to her mother and steal books from her local library. When Annie moved away once becoming an adult, I believe that she was hoping for the old friendship to come back with her mom, but when they said their goodbyes they simply walked away.

    I think that this book was well written, and had a way to keep you interested. My only problem I had while reading through it, was that the length of each chapter was too long for me. Each chapter was at least 15 pages long and in my opinion, I prefer shorter chapters so that you can move on to other incidents throughout the book without getting bored. I give this book 3 out of 5 stars because I think the book had good context, but the outline could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    Annie John was a good but confusing book that tests the bounderies of mom-and daughter relationships. The subject of "DEATH" is a big part in this book. Annie is trying to understand why and what death means. I really enjoy how this book toys with the sexual orientation of Annie and what she thinks of other people. The constant strain between Annie and her mom slowly gets worse as Annie ages and matures. This is a great book for all ages and I highly recommend it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1