Customer Reviews for

Annie John

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    I've read better

    I'm not really sure about this book. I though it was a good book but i had a hard time picturing that it was based around a colored girls life. It seemed a lot like it was more about a preppy little white girl who seemed to think she was better then everyone else. The book as a whole is ok but it just screams middle class white girl who lives in the suburbs to me...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ANNIE JOHN, the spunky lesbian little girl that's trying to find her breasts and her womanhood. The "Little Miss" of the family and the hater of her own mother.

    I've never read a lesbian type book before until I read Annie John. In this story, Annie starts out as a little black girl that loves her mother dearly and wants to become just like her. Soon she is put into school and falls in love with her best friend Gwen. During school hours the girls talk about their body and reveal their body parts to each other. When her achievement in school puts her into a higher grade she looses her friendship and love with Gwen. Her mother becomes less her friend and more as her guideline mother. She has no one to turn to and she must find out who she really is. By the time she's fifteen the drought ends and is replaced by floods of rain. She soon becomes sick and is like that for 3 months, during this time she grows more and more, realizing she's grown into a woman. At sixteen she leaves her home of Antigua destined for England. On her way to the ship she looks back on the life as a child and soon she takes her place as a woman leading into a new life alone. I have to say I enjoyed this book. The beginning was more indulging than the end, because she was a young spunky girl in the beginning, then by the end of the book she became boring. Overall it is a good book and I would recommend it to any women's book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    Tomorrow tomorrow I'll love ya tomorrow, wait wrong Annie. This is the Story of Annie John.

    Some parents more than others have an incredible impact on their children. In my opinion, Annie John is an example of this. Annie John is a young girl who has always had a pleasant life because of her parents. She is especially loved by her mother who she's always with and respects the most as a little girl. Around the age of twelve however, Annie is no longer just a little girl. She's becoming a woman with her own opinions and ideas about life. Living on Antigua her whole life, she only knows the island culture she was taught. So with her own ideas comes uncertainty about the only way of life Annie has ever been taught. Being only human, she has questions about life that because of her strict culture she feels can only be answered by leaving her family and Antigua. And when she finishes school, Annie chooses to do this and becomes detached from her family. I feel sort of ridiculous because I often think I can relate to characters I read about, but this really was the case with Annie John. I know what its like to grow up I guess and realize things that have always been, just gone unnoticed. This is why I sort of look up to Annie, because in the end she decided to do something about it for herself. I definitely recommend this book to others. It wasn't very difficult to read, and I think teenage girls especially would enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    reds the color

    i enjoyed this book very much it had a lot of emotion in it annie went through a lot with her mother and father they all have had a loved one die more than once in there lives and have handled it alright annie is a very brave kid saving the red girl from a fire not a lot of kids would do that she helped her parents a lot of the times to which is a great thing even though he parents were a bit controlling of her i love how she can be very independent at times also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    My own reason for leaving home. ;)

    I liked this book because as you read along with it you can tell that the charecter was growing as you read. One moment you're reading about when she is 5 and has a fling with another girl her age named Gwen, and their fun and journeys together. Then in another moment she is about 15 and growing apart from her mother, like almost every other teenager I know. She is also, at some point, very ill. Ill for about 3 and a half months. And in the last moment she is leaving home to go to England and become a nurse. ", but I remembered that I wasn't a child anymore, and that now when I made up my mind about somethings I had to see it through." This really spoke to me because I can see myself saying that to myself when I leave for college in 2011. This is a really good book for every age because the charecter herself is every age at some point in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    Annie John - all grown up

    This is a story about a young girl going through the stages of becoming her own person. She is attached to her mother, but has to learn to make a name for herself. She does this by rebelling against her mother and collecting marbles and stolen items, like books. I believe that this book is a good illustration of how young women learn to become adults and shows how young women go through the process of separating from their parents to pursue their own interests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    Annie John - Real & Relatable

    Annie John was a well written book about a young girl who becomes disconnected with her parents after being sheltered by them. It seems to me that after Annie reaches a curtain stage in her life, her and her mother's relationship deteriorates. When Annie's mother tells her she is becoming a women she treats her differently and Annie begins to feel as though she is alone and without the love that she feared losing throughout her childhood. Although this book shows the disconnection of a mother daughter relationship, it also shows how close the two can be. Annie John also shows a young girl coming of age and the growth of a teenager. Being a male, I personally cannot relate to Annie John's situation but I believe I hold a good understanding. Jamaica Kincaid has done a wonderful putting the reader into the characters shoes. I would definitely recommend this to all readers, simply the story is so real. Many people around the world are able to easily relate to not only how Annie but how her mother feels as well. Also, I feel that many readers are able to be intrigued by this book because it takes place in a country other than America or England. It shows readers a different part of the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    Classroom Hauntings

    This book was just alright for me. It was hard for me to get a clear picture of things in my head. When I read I play a little movie in my head, but with this book it was like a skipping dvd. Although, this book does illustrate a good understanding of the tensions of a mother/daughter relationship. It could represent any sort of parent/child relationship for me. I perceive Annie to be more of a white cheerleader who has everything she needs and is kind of stuck up because she knows that she is well liked and smarter than everyone. But at the same time she still would stand up for you but more for the praise and attention than for her self. In the end with her getting sick and bedridden, it is represented by the weather. But I think that if you combine her gettting sick and the weather turning bad it is symbolic of her relationship with her mother and how it went from good to bad. Also, how she is like a little kid that wets the bed and needs help eating, I think that that represents how it used to be and how everything was good for them when she was at that age before she got older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    somethng that will touch you.

    I thought that this was a really good book. I don't like reading a lot of books but I thought that is book was a really good book. It is such a wonderful book. This story had me from the beginning just by the way it touched me. It just was completely a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    A captivating story that will have you from the start

    This story had me at the very beginning! I liked the how the author wrote in a way that was easy to understand and had you captivated. This story was of a young girl named Annie and it told of her transforming from a young child into a woman. I was very into this book the whole time I was reading it and for me, it takes a lot to get me to sit down and finish a book. I really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    props for kincaid

    Annie John was a sort of "read between the lines" kind od book. It had a good plot to keeep me reading and a message to keep me thinking. The reason i really liked this book was the realism this boook portrays, this could be happening to any young girl or boy. It brings up some of the questions we think of and try to answer as we grow up. The mother-daughter relationship in this book is just as vivid as my own life. I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    A Childhood To Remember

    Annie John was quite an interesting read. At first, I was skeptical on whether or not I would be able to enjoy this book. (It is quite the opposite of what genre I typically read). But then , the first few pages caught me. The mood, and point of view from a child's perspective was quite refreshing. The emotions once felt seemed almost familiar. The plot was not generic, in fact it was very original. Sometimes, you felt sorry for the girl, other times you were at a loss on how she acted, but all, in all you could identify with this story. I really did like this book, it is the farthest thing from a boring read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    confusing but good.

    i was really confused. it never said if she was homosexuall or what. she only talked about boys one time and it was about her moms friends boy that made her take her clothes off and sit under a tree right where there were fire ants. she talked about kissing girls and it never said on the mouth or the cheeck so i was really confused about her sexuallity. i really enjoyed the book even though i was confused alot. it was a book that i didnt want to put down and i read it in 5 days, usually it would take atleast a month for me to read a book that small!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Confused is what I am

    I was terribly confused throughout this book as to whether she was homosexual. She never really spoke anything about boys but an incredible amount about girls. In her thoughts she would explain in detail the beauties of girls but make no comments of boys ever. Also as she ran through the cemetery with her friend Gwen naked once again left me in question. This book was definitely food for thought. Several times I had stop to think about the things I was reading just because of how strange and out of the ordinary to me. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read a book that is different and thought provoking.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    Interesting

    Annie John was a well written book about a young girl who after being sheltered by her parencts becomes disconnected from them. It is seem as if after Annie john hits a curtain stage in her life her and her mother relationship deteriorates. I think in general when a parent gets to attached to they child when there younger they breakaway when they start to get older. When Annie mother tells her she is becoming a women she treats her different and annie begans to feel as though she is alone in this world without the love that she feared losing throughout her childhood. This was a cause to Annie hatred towards her mother which she once could not be apart from. I dont really relate to Annie but I can understand her. Jamaica Kincsaid has done such a good job on writing Annie John and does a wonderful job getting you to actually feel the characters pain and happiness encountered throughout the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2002

    Highly Recommended

    This a touchingly poignant story about a girl's coming of age that takes on a new life of its own. Really fascinating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2002

    Wonderful

    This book is excellent it showns the closness between mother and daughter. It also shows the growing up of a girl many years ago. This book is easy to read. When reading it you dont get bored because there is always something going on. Females may be more apt to understand this book just because it shows the realtionship of a mother and daughter only having a man play a part when it is just a part of how the woman will react. I would defintly reccomend this book to anyone to read just for pleasure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2000

    I am reading this story in my English class and I think...

    I think that this story is good so far. Annie John is just like every little girl as they grow up. As she grows, she starts to see the not so perfect side of her mother. I can't wait to read the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2