Customer Reviews for

Annie on My Mind

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Wasn't able to put it down!

This story was so amazing. I couldn't put it down! I got in so much trouble in school for reading it during class. This book was heart-warming, as well as breaking. It brought back emotions I have not felt in a while. This book helped me find stength in myself. We all h...
This story was so amazing. I couldn't put it down! I got in so much trouble in school for reading it during class. This book was heart-warming, as well as breaking. It brought back emotions I have not felt in a while. This book helped me find stength in myself. We all have mountains to climb. This book helped me start heading toward the summit.

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Really not that great

I read it as a high school student, and I re-read it as a high school teacher. It is a very bland and formulaic romance novel for young readers. It is a good read for youngsters with questions, but I don't think its destined to be a classic. It owes its popularity to...
I read it as a high school student, and I re-read it as a high school teacher. It is a very bland and formulaic romance novel for young readers. It is a good read for youngsters with questions, but I don't think its destined to be a classic. It owes its popularity to the controversy surrounding it, rather than quality writing.

posted by Anonymous on September 20, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    Wasn't able to put it down!

    This story was so amazing. I couldn't put it down! I got in so much trouble in school for reading it during class. This book was heart-warming, as well as breaking. It brought back emotions I have not felt in a while. This book helped me find stength in myself. We all have mountains to climb. This book helped me start heading toward the summit.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Nancy Garden's ANNIE ON MY MIND, originally published in 1982, was recently re-released. (It includes an interview with the author herself.) <BR/><BR/>The book represents an early example of realistic young adult fiction depicting a lesbian relationship between two high school seniors. It is still a fitting portrayal for today's teens. <BR/><BR/>Liza and Annie meet in a New York museum and develop a fast friendship. Both seem to realize there is something different about their relationship, but admitting that at the start is difficult for both. The story is told as Annie remembers it, and focuses mostly on her struggle to accept the facts she is learning about herself. <BR/><BR/>The book's first half takes the reader into the growing friendship between the girls. There is considerable time spent describing how they discover their common interests and the activities they find to spend time together. The girls come from different backgrounds - Liza attends a relatively sheltered, private school currently struggling with financial difficulties, while Annie attends public school and is faced with drugs, violence, and other social problems public schools must deal with both then and now. <BR/><BR/>As the girls' relationship develops, the plot becomes more involved in Liza's role as student council president and her school's struggle with a fund-raising campaign. Liza and Annie begin to accept the true direction of their friendship, and of course, as other people become aware, controversy surfaces. Will the admission of their gay lifestyle cause acceptance or abandonment by family and friends? Could their situation adversely affect a similar relationship between two teachers in Liza's private school? <BR/><BR/>ANNIE ON MY MIND delves into the acceptance of homosexuality. It seems there will always be two sides to this controversy, but the re-release of the book may ask readers to decide if things are changing as time passes. What really matters in love - what is "right" for those involved or what is perceived as "right" by those whose views may differ?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    Really not that great

    I read it as a high school student, and I re-read it as a high school teacher. It is a very bland and formulaic romance novel for young readers. It is a good read for youngsters with questions, but I don't think its destined to be a classic. It owes its popularity to the controversy surrounding it, rather than quality writing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    I just finished this book, and have given it off to let my best friend read it. I can't wait for it back because I know I'll read it again...and again...and again. It made me think of myself, that there will always be something to climb to be happy, but happiness does happen if you work for it. I loved it. It is a must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    THE best lesbian/gay love story I have ever read!

    Liza and Annie are both great role models in that they love who they are, and are in a very healthy relationship. They have to deal with discrimination, homophobes, and shame, but they still pull through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    a reviewer

    Nancy Garden¿s ANNIE ON MY MIND, originally published in 1982, was recently re-released. (It includes an interview with the author herself.) The book represents an early example of realistic young adult fiction depicting a lesbian relationship between two high school seniors. It is still a fitting portrayal for today¿s teens. Liza and Annie meet in a New York museum and develop a fast friendship. Both seem to realize there is something different about their relationship, but admitting that at the start is difficult for both. The story is told as Annie remembers it, and focuses mostly on her struggle to accept the facts she is learning about herself. The book¿s first half takes the reader into the growing friendship between the girls. There is considerable time spent describing how they discover their common interests and the activities they find to spend time together. The girls come from different backgrounds ¿ Liza attends a relatively sheltered, private school currently struggling with financial difficulties, while Annie attends public school and is faced with drugs, violence, and other social problems public schools must deal with both then and now. As the girls¿ relationship develops, the plot becomes more involved in Liza¿s role as student council president and her school¿s struggle with a fund-raising campaign. Liza and Annie begin to accept the true direction of their friendship, and of course, as other people become aware, controversy surfaces. Will the admission of their gay lifestyle cause acceptance or abandonment by family and friends? Could their situation adversely affect a similar relationship between two teachers in Liza¿s private school? ANNIE ON MY MIND delves into the acceptance of homosexuality. It seems there will always be two sides to this controversy, but the re-release of the book may ask readers to decide if things are changing as time passes. What really matters in love ¿ what is ¿right¿ for those involved or what is perceived as ¿right¿ by those whose views may differ? **Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka 'Readingjunky'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    Lesbians Deserve Better

    I was disappointed with Annie On My Mind. The narrative voice was stiff, and the language style, dialogue, and some of the plot ideas were so dated, I felt like I was reading something written in and set in the 1950s rather than the 70s or 80s. For example, the narrator loses her status as class president because she fails to report a peer for piercing other students' ears. The book was published in 1982. The author was a young lesbian herself in the 50s. I would love her to rewrite the book with a more authentic, updated narrative voice. In a world of crazy conservative anti-gay activism, lesbians need to be realistically represented so that today's young lesbians can identify.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    me

    this book was awsome... it maded me relize who i am and was to be in the future...this book is for anyone...especially for ones who are quesstioning their sexuallity...it leaves knots in your stomach because of the pain they endure, but its a beautiful love story about love lust and pain

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2004

    Magnificent!

    This book is a must-read. I mean everyday at school I would read it, and try to hide what I was reading to my friends, it was soO gewd. But then one day I got caught by one of my close friends, just when I was about to finish. Yet, she didn't care that she saw it and she even wanted to read it herself! READ THIS BOOK, PLEASE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    I finished this book in 10 hrs!!! I could not put it down. I've

    I finished this book in 10 hrs!!! I could not put it down. I've never had to question my sexuality or anything. (I've always known I was a laesbian) But, I'm a sucker for a good love story especially involving lesbians. And, its just so good and could be a great help to those who are questioning. They will definitely find comfort in Liza. And, of course I TOLD my girlfiend to read this book!!! LOL!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    This book just made me feel even more better. Some people might

    This book just made me feel even more better. Some people might not
    agree that this book isn't very classic, but i think it has a classic
    background and the characters are pretty interesting. It's really like a
    story about two young maiden in-love. When i read this book i couldn't
    make my heart stop throbbing so fast when it comes to the climax scene (
    well for me ). It was emotional, deep thinking and... well i think it's
    also magical ( if i use the word rightly hehe. ) It brought me the
    madness, bored, nervous and the happiness in every scenes from Liza and
    Annie. Yet, i couldn't put the book down for long. It keeps in me, like
    i want to know what's really going to happen to Liza and Annie after
    they meet, fallen in love, facing their life troubles, struggling
    moments. To me, this book is a great classic -love story about young
    maidens fallen in love at the first sight. And uhm.. I don't quite know
    how to put my last thought in words.. but I think people who loves this
    book would feels similar to me. This book made me feel beautiful about
    being in love, yet being in-love with the person who would feel the same
    as you. And i love the plot, everything changes slowly and very make
    sense to me how the characters would be that way in the story. Pretty delightful...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Best Book Ever!

    I have read a lot of books and Annie on My Mind is by far the BEST. Annie on My Mind is a book that I would recommend to anyone no matter what books they like to read. Annie on My Mind is a very will written book that captures the importance in a relationship such as love and lust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing

    this is one of the best books i have ever read in my whole life! i couldnt put it down. anyone will love this book gay or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    Highly Recommended!!

    I received this book yesterday. It was so good that I finished last night! Only thing I can complain about is that it was too short because I could've read it forever. I can see myself reading it again and again. The plot and the romance was excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Love Story that Makes Me Believe

    I love this book so much! Sometimes i think about my sexuality and I read this book and it just puts my mind at ease. A story like this should be a coming up and coming out story for girls who want to and who are lesbians. Thank you Nancy Garden for making a lovable book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love it!!!!

    This book was very addicting. I couldnt get rid of it. The characters you can instantly fall in love with. It's such a sweet an loving story. I found myself crying sometimes. Sometimes i would laugh. There are so many mixed emotions. I really really recommend this to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Easy read.

    I thought this was a very easy read. It pleasantly surprised me. Most teen lesbian novels are filled with drama and tragedy, but this one was very light heart-ed and fun to read. Enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    wow

    Ive read several lesbian books and this one actually jumped to my favorite. So well written so hopeful and I think I even cried at the ending. It was a beautiful book even if it was written along time ago it is sooooooo worth the purchase to add to any collection. Im not a teenager but Ive been there and it was great to relate. Thank you for writing it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gorgeous

    This book was overwhelming is how it portrayed life and love and what is important. It inspires true courage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Amazing

    It is ONE of the best books i have ever read....and i haven't even finished it yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6