Customer Reviews for

Anno Dracula

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Unique and Unforgettable

This utterly entertaining book is not just another clever mash-up. It does delight by placing literary and historical figures in the framework of a horror-inspired plot, but it goes beyond that to deliver a sweeping story of alternative history. The mix of surreal image...
This utterly entertaining book is not just another clever mash-up. It does delight by placing literary and historical figures in the framework of a horror-inspired plot, but it goes beyond that to deliver a sweeping story of alternative history. The mix of surreal imagery and accurate historical settings is simply mind-blowing at times. The plot is multi-faceted. At first, the reader is ensnared by a fascinating crime thriller and a horrific but atmospheric version of London. By mid-book a contemplative romance and wry political satire enter the mix. During the last third of the book, an ingenious conspiracy is slowly revealed. It all culminates in a heart-thumping climax that leaves the reader smiling and cheering for more.

Although supporting characters from history and period literature amuse the reader throughout the narrative, this story goes beyond mere entertainment. Simply stated, it's a brilliant and maniacal masterpiece. I'm grateful that this book was reissued. Otherwise, I would have probably missed a truly unique and unforgettable read.

This book is based upon the premise that Van Helsing failed to destroy Dracula a/k/a Vlad Tepes who went onto marry Queen Victoria and impose a chaotic police state on Victorian England harkening back to the Middle Ages. London is torn between those who have chosen to remain warm (humans) and vampires which range from Dracula's bloodthirsty Carpathian Guard to elders with mysterious vampiric powers to new-born from every strata of society. Unfortunately, most of the new-born carry Dracula's grave tainted bloodline causing twisted mutations and self-destructive, blood born behavior.

At first the prose seems antiquated and dense, but that's only because the story starts with a letter authored by Dracula and the insane ravings of an obsessive killer. That killer, initially dubbed Silver Knife, eventually becomes known as Jack the Ripper. His gruesome evisceration of vampire streetwalkers in Whitechapel is sensationalized by the press and destabilizes the tenuous status quo between vampires and humans. A sympathetic and newly engaged Charles Beauregard, an undercover human agent for the mysterious Diogenes Club cabal, is tasked with stopping the murders. Meanwhile, an intriguing vampire elder named Geneviève Dieudonné is asked by vampire elements at Scotland Yard to become involved. Charles and Geneviève investigate the murders separately, but eventually meet and collaborate.

In addition to the experiences of Charles and Geneviève, the narrative focuses upon the fascinating perspective of Jack the Ripper. Other notable characters include Beuregaurd's naive fiance, the relatively newly turned Lord Godalming a/k/a Arthur Holmwood, (borrowed from Stoker's "Dracula"), and the manipulative vampiric British Prime Minster who is named Lord Ruthven after Polidori's 'The Vampyre'. A wide cast of supporting characters, some taken from period literature and history, contribute to the narrative, and a few historic figures make amusing cameo appearances. Dracula and Queen Victoria aren't introduced until the climactic conclusion, but both make indelible impressions.

I highly recommend this book to all vampire genre lovers and anyone who enjoys reading an intriguing and surreal story set within a meticulously envisioned Victorian era. IMO, any general fiction reader who appreciates a deeply layered story will enjoy this book.

posted by dalnewt on September 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of my faves!

I read this too many times to count. I didn't read Dracula, but I totally love this book.

posted by Anonymous on January 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique and Unforgettable

    This utterly entertaining book is not just another clever mash-up. It does delight by placing literary and historical figures in the framework of a horror-inspired plot, but it goes beyond that to deliver a sweeping story of alternative history. The mix of surreal imagery and accurate historical settings is simply mind-blowing at times. The plot is multi-faceted. At first, the reader is ensnared by a fascinating crime thriller and a horrific but atmospheric version of London. By mid-book a contemplative romance and wry political satire enter the mix. During the last third of the book, an ingenious conspiracy is slowly revealed. It all culminates in a heart-thumping climax that leaves the reader smiling and cheering for more.

    Although supporting characters from history and period literature amuse the reader throughout the narrative, this story goes beyond mere entertainment. Simply stated, it's a brilliant and maniacal masterpiece. I'm grateful that this book was reissued. Otherwise, I would have probably missed a truly unique and unforgettable read.

    This book is based upon the premise that Van Helsing failed to destroy Dracula a/k/a Vlad Tepes who went onto marry Queen Victoria and impose a chaotic police state on Victorian England harkening back to the Middle Ages. London is torn between those who have chosen to remain warm (humans) and vampires which range from Dracula's bloodthirsty Carpathian Guard to elders with mysterious vampiric powers to new-born from every strata of society. Unfortunately, most of the new-born carry Dracula's grave tainted bloodline causing twisted mutations and self-destructive, blood born behavior.

    At first the prose seems antiquated and dense, but that's only because the story starts with a letter authored by Dracula and the insane ravings of an obsessive killer. That killer, initially dubbed Silver Knife, eventually becomes known as Jack the Ripper. His gruesome evisceration of vampire streetwalkers in Whitechapel is sensationalized by the press and destabilizes the tenuous status quo between vampires and humans. A sympathetic and newly engaged Charles Beauregard, an undercover human agent for the mysterious Diogenes Club cabal, is tasked with stopping the murders. Meanwhile, an intriguing vampire elder named Geneviève Dieudonné is asked by vampire elements at Scotland Yard to become involved. Charles and Geneviève investigate the murders separately, but eventually meet and collaborate.

    In addition to the experiences of Charles and Geneviève, the narrative focuses upon the fascinating perspective of Jack the Ripper. Other notable characters include Beuregaurd's naive fiance, the relatively newly turned Lord Godalming a/k/a Arthur Holmwood, (borrowed from Stoker's "Dracula"), and the manipulative vampiric British Prime Minster who is named Lord Ruthven after Polidori's 'The Vampyre'. A wide cast of supporting characters, some taken from period literature and history, contribute to the narrative, and a few historic figures make amusing cameo appearances. Dracula and Queen Victoria aren't introduced until the climactic conclusion, but both make indelible impressions.

    I highly recommend this book to all vampire genre lovers and anyone who enjoys reading an intriguing and surreal story set within a meticulously envisioned Victorian era. IMO, any general fiction reader who appreciates a deeply layered story will enjoy this book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    awesome

    This is one of the best alternative supernatural history books I've ever read. If you are a fan of vampires or the victorian age you will love this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    One of my faves!

    I read this too many times to count. I didn't read Dracula, but I totally love this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    An intriguing novel!

    This is a very different take on history! For those who liked Dracula, this is a must! The way the author weaves real and fictional literary characters is one of the best! I would recommend reading, or rereading Dracula, prior to reading this, but it's not crucial!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Tremendous Novel

    This is a great Victorian sci-fi, horror, fantasy, crime mashup. It skirts the edge of being overweighted by its references, but keeps sailing along. A few plot points are left a bit vague and the ending chapter is just a touch weak, but otherwise this is a great story with some great characters. Great touches abound, like why Sherlock Holmes isn't around to help fight the Ripper or Dracula. The two main characters are both likable and complex enough. Bonus points for a strong female protagonist. I am a little pessimistic that the followups can meep itup, but also look forward to them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Fun idea, lacks restraint

    It was neat to read an alternate history book like this one, but the Newman falls into name dropping way too easily. The story was weirdly stilted; it felt like it was over before it was actually over twice before the ending. If it weren't for the famous characters the story would not have been good at all. Would not read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Amazing!

    Kim Newman never disappoints

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    To many borrowed ideas.

    As said above the only thing original about this book is the premise that Dracula is married to a widowed Queen Victoria. There is hardly an original idea and far to many characters in this book. It jumps back and for between said characters that I found myself loosing interest quickly. And the final chapter was a vague attempt to make the story go out with a bang. If this is your cup of tea, then read it. Me, I deleted it when I was finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    What have I missed?

    This book was not particularly well written, the characters poorly developed and the historic personages were poorly selected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I liked the premise of the book -- Dracula fulfills his mission

    I liked the premise of the book -- Dracula fulfills his mission to overtake England and create a "new" future where vampires are members of society. The distracting downside is the author's insistence on adding dozens of tangential characters who do nothing to further the plot. The appear to serve the author's self-aggrandizing agenda of showing off his immense knowledge of the most obscure vampire references throughout literature and film.

    It's a good story, but be prepared to wade through some irrelevant tangents and even more irrelevant characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unique and Well-Imagined

    What a total surprise this book was. It took me a good 4 or 5 chapters to really get into it, which may be the same for you...The cover jacket didn't make it clear that this was a bit of an "Alternate Universe" story chock full of literary characters.

    First off, Queen Victoria is a new-born vampire married to (you guessed it) Vlad Tepes, a.k.a. Dracula. England is relatively acceptant of vampires day-to-day because of the Queen and her consort....and whores (both warm and cold alike) litter the streets selling not just sex, but blood as well. Caught up in this world, we find ourselves introduced to a new Jack the Ripper.

    Yes, he still preys on whores. Yes, he is still surgically precise. But now he's connected to Van Helsing and only murders vampire whores.

    Scotland Yard, Carpathian Guards, beat cops and others are concerned that the killings will start an uprising that may or may not deter the "vampire cause." Characters that pop up are the Stokers, Mina Harker, Sherlock Holmes, Oscar Wilde, and others.

    In the midst of it all are our two "main characters," Beauregard and Genevieve. The former a mysterious, occasionally bottom-dwelling cop with a brain the size of England itself. The latter a vampire doctor-ess who has been alive since the time of Joan of Arc.

    If you can make it into the story and get past the first "set up" chapters, you will thoroughly enjoy the intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very intriguing concept that was obviously well researched. Loo

    Very intriguing concept that was obviously well researched. Looking forward to reading the sequel as well as additional books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    eerie

    if Dracula had married Queen Victoria, amazing idea, sometimes difficult to get through the book, but overall good read,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Vampyres for adults

    Jack the ripper is at large, Sherlock Holmes is in a concentration camp for rebelling against the crown, Queen Victoria has married Count Dracula, and England is being torn apart by violent terrorist groups both for and against Vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Yes, I do recommend this ebook (or paperback)

    A unique and decetively entertaining tale.
    roger

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Dracula rp mixed with castlevania meet result 6

    Alucard

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Don't Know

    Don't know if this book is any good. It will not down load on my nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    ??????

    Since I am unable to open this book on my NOOK I am unable to write a review. What a waste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Tedious.

    Very hard to "get into".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Kept me reading

    I was not sure I would enjoy this book because I don't read this genre much and I am pretty skeptical of the inexpensive featured books. So I was pleasantly surprised. The book was well written and researched. I particularly enjoyed the tributes to so many literary figures. I will probably even try out the second book when it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4