Customer Reviews for

Another Bullshit Night in Suck City

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Suck City Not Bulletproof, But Worth the Trip

    In SUCK CITY, Nick Flynn enters a world most of us are content walking past with the drop of a quarter into a cup. This is the world of desperation, of addiction, illness, and despair, the world of Jonathan Flynn, a father whom Nick knows little about. Using obvious narrative skill and free-flowing prose, the story moves between an instropection of and a documentary on Nick's life and its bizarre criss-crossings with his downward-spiral father. Though, clearly, introspection is the stronger attribute, and in this sense Suck City does show a chink in its armor: While Nick takes great pains in recounting Jonathan's life, the details of his own life remain somewhat obscure. His relationship with longtime girlfriend Emily is understated and peripheral, while others (his Pine Street friends, his brother) move in and out of his life at random, leaving us at times to wonder who Nick is, what impact his parents have had on feeling for others. While this book can be bolstered in some places and trimmed elsewhere, Nick achieves an impressive feat nonetheless. He introduces us to Jonathan Flynn, a figure of deceit, an alcoholic, a deadbeat dad and beatdown poet, and shows him for what he truly is: a human being. In turn, Jonathan gives voice to thousands of other human beings who lie at our feet in Suck Cities across the country, revealing their story (or one variation) at last. For this, the read is well worthwhile.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Searing, emotional and stunning; this story could be anyone's st

    Searing, emotional and stunning; this story could be anyone's story. In
    a rare gift the movie adaptation; Being Flynn is just as excellent as
    this book which it is drawn from. Flynn writes at times in poetry style
    about his smart yet delusional father who came in and out of his life.
    His mother who did her best raising 2 boys and ultimately committed
    suicide. It's a story we really never want to talk about here in
    America where everything is always so wonderful. Yet, until we no
    longer have people struggling with depression, living on the streets or
    in shelters and spiraling downward; we will always come up short of
    being great. This story reminds us of what is necessary as human beings
    and that is to be mindful of how we are all are broken in some way.
    It's also our responsibility to help each other with our greatest gift
    of all; compassion. This story only heightened my compassionate nature,
    made me tear-up at times and made me want to simply embrace Nick Flynn
    and wish him well. It's simply unforgettable and changed me forever.
    Thank you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Great read

    Highly enjoyed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Boring in spots

    Am still reading this book but am almost done. It's a little jerky and jumps back and forth and repeats a lot. Over, it's an ok read. Kind of gives you a insight into the homeless and how they live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    A

    Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Compelling memoir! Looking forward to the film starring Robert DeNiro and Paul Dano

    I found this memoir about the writer's homeless, alchoholic father very compelling. Since he's a poet it's written in a style a bit out of the box but i ultimately enjoyed it. I must admit "enjoyed" is a funny word for a book about such a troubling subject !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    Great Read!

    This has been one of the most inspirational books I've read in months! This books isn't necessarily happy, but it made sense to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    For anyone who's ever doubted their grip on reality

    Poet Nick Flynn crafts an unflinching portrait of self- doubt in his debut memoir, the story of his accidental relationship with his absentee father. After a misspent youth of making do with substitutes¿other questionable men his mother takes in¿Flynn¿s encounters with his father begin in his 20s while working in a homeless shelter. Now 40, the author braids his past with his father¿s, based on personal observation and the memories of others. The elder Flynn, a poet himself, has spent his life nurturing but one thing, a belief he will write the Great American Novel, even as he descends into alcoholism and homelessness. Set in and around Boston, the story invokes the drama of the sea, Moby Dick and Noah¿s ark without hyperbole, successfully blurring the line between fact and fantasy, a mirror of Flynn¿s reality. Done without hyperbole, even his mother¿s suicide is described bluntly as a ¿palmfull of pills, a gunshot wound, a splintered chair. A nightgown left heavy with blood.¿ Despite the evidence it won¿t end well, Flynn turns to drugs and drinking whenever possible. He drops out of school and skitters on the verge of homelessness himself, living on board a ship for a time. When redemption does come he resists the urge to offer up easy answers, instead pulling aside the thin veil that separates he and his father. Rather than label the man¿s painful existence as insanity, something to dismiss, he says, ¿he is constructed entirely of the stories he tells, like the scaffolding around a building still unbuilt.¿ This tale, by contrast, is pitch perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Waaaaay out and very good

    I can't but echo what so many other reviewers have said in praising Nick Flynn's account of working with the homeless, including his own father from whom he had been separated from early infancy, and with dealing with the impact of his mother's suicide. A unique contribution to our understanding of what it means to be down and out in contemporary America. But I can tell you that it¿s one heck of a book all-round, the same way McCrae's 'Katzenjammer'is with its downtrodden theme of being abused and taken advantage. I highly recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2005

    An honest and fascinating book

    Most men reading this book will not have a father like Nick's but we can all recognize the difficult relationships that can exist. This book was honest and forthright and interesting. You can't ask for more. Also, you learn a lot about the homeless and the underside of Boston.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2004

    Non-fiction written like it's the opposite

    I loved this book. I'm normally a very dedicated fiction reader, but this book grabbed me. From the title, to seeing Flynn on the Dennis Miller show, I decided it sounded like an interesting enough TRUE story for me to read. Flynn writes pretty much in the same minimalistic fashion as Palahniuk, Clevenger, and Baer, where the only punctuation is periods and commas, but the story isn't hinged upon perfect prose. If, however, you are a literary snob, you might want to put this down and go re-read Michael Chabon's latest. Flynn tells an interesting story like he would if he were talking right to your face, and manages to get across what he needs to without being too sentimental. A couple times I was sure it was fiction, but only because of my overwhelming enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    A beautiful weaving of literature and poetry.

    This is simply the best book that I've ever read. Perhaps biased by having grown up in the same town at the same time, a fact that allows his imagery to truly come alive for me, I was also blown away by the way every line is so delicately, perfectly constructed. Self depricating without being pitiful, saintly without expecting, or I imagine even accepting recognition, Flynn tells his hugely emotional life story as if it was that of the average Joe. I learned about myself, about my city, and about the world through his eyes. I sincerely hope that he writes more, and soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2004

    Outstanding

    Nick Flynn has written, arguably, the best memoir of the year. Do not be turned away by the hipster title: this book carries weight, while the narrative is punchy and jarring, the prose soars, weightless and atmostpheric. There is a sublimity to the language, and the story he tells with it, that Flynn can call his own. This is not a confessional. It is a radical aporia of a text, bearing witness to the true and often terrifying relationship to the father. Please buy this book and read it, and then give it to many others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2