Customer Reviews for

Another Faust

Average Rating 3
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Unique Read

Okay..so to start off, I didnt exactly read the beginning prologue thing, I never do. They are just so boring to me, even if they give valuable information. I am kinda glad that I didnt either, I read it once I was done with the book and I knew what was going on. It gav...
Okay..so to start off, I didnt exactly read the beginning prologue thing, I never do. They are just so boring to me, even if they give valuable information. I am kinda glad that I didnt either, I read it once I was done with the book and I knew what was going on. It gave information about the 5 children you will read about in this book, and how they wanted things that they couldnt have or how they said things they didnt truly mean..since they were just 10 year old kids.

But the story starts off with these kids in this house somewhere in Europe, they are taken there by this women with a fiery strange left eye. These kids have been taken from their houses because the woman promised them something in return, a gift. A gift that each child wanted so badly, one that would make them happy no matter who it hurt. The woman's name is Nicola Vileroy, she is not a pleasant person.

Fast forward 5 years to present day New York City, these children now teenagers, age: 15. They are about to start at a new school, Marlowe..a school for the elite, the smart, and the gifted. Belle, Bice, Christian, Valentine and Victoria all have their special gifts. Belle has her insanely gorgeous face and body, put she pays the price..her body gives off a foul odor and people just stare from the distance, mesmerized by her beauty but repulsed by her stench. Bice has the gift of hiding..you find out later in the book just how important her gift truly is. Christian steals, he can steal anything..someone's strength for example, he is a future Olympian. Valentine can go back and redo anything he wants, he can go back in time and stop things from happening, or changing things so even more chaos occurs. And Victoria..she cheats. She reads the minds of anyone around her, and takes any valuable or embarrassing information they have only for her own gain.

As the story progresses these kids do things with their gift. Things that I dont think I am going to tell you since that will basically give the book away, but I will tell you my thoughts on all the kids.

Belle - She is the twin sister of Bice, or at least she used to be until Vileroy gave her her gift and made her beautiful. I dont like her at the beginning of the book, but I do near the end.

Bice- She is my favorite, she is just very sweet and doesnt really do anything harmful to anyone. She is quiet and reads a lot, maybe thats why I like her..she is a fellow bookworm! :)

Christian- He again isnt really that nice in the beginning but near the end I warm up to him since he changes his ways.

Valentine- Not a good person. He is just mean. lol

Victoria- My least favorite person (besides Vileroy I guess). Vic is just plain mean to everyone around her, she cheats so much and I wish something more dramatic happened to her in the end.

All in all, I liked this book. But it could have been better. Maybe more detail and a little less confusing. There were so many things going on, that at times I just lost focus and had to reread a few things. But I still recommend this book to anyone who likes more 'evil-ish' books. I also wish the ending was better, there wasnt a good final BAM! this book is done..it was more gradual and could have been more exciting. Check this book if you are interested, it isnt half bad! :)

posted by Arielle on May 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Another Faust- another poorly executed idea.

Flat characters with lack of personality and motives. Barely described, confusing scenes. A missing plot. Another Faust equals to a book without a story.

posted by kritzy on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Kendall

    Same

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    Good not great

    Another Faust has an exquisite plot and ideal. This book has a good message, but the dialogue and writing style is deemed childish in ways. I feel that the authors brought the book's quality downward. Even though I moderately enjoyed Another Faust I would not read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    I haven't seen very many raving reviews for this one. I still wanted to give it a shot because the idea sounded interesting. But, it's very confusing in the beginning. I didn't feel the story did a very good job of explaining why these 5 (or really 4 and a tag-a-long) were picked. I also felt that even the 3 who knew what they had done really understood the full implications of the deals that they had made. It felt like they were getting little in return (not that any reason is good enough to sell your soul). What was the final goal? Was it to make them all rich and powerful and then remind them that they didn't own their own lives? It was also a very slow read. There isn't a lot of action, more like a lot of meticulous details. I think the story would have been better if there would have been less characters pitted against each other. It was hard to tell were one character's deeds ended and another one's began. They all seemed so intertwined, but at the same time they were trying to out do one another. It made it hard to like the characters, even those who had no real choice in the gifts given to them.
    I kept reading because I wanted to see what the end result would be. It's not a horrible book, but not something I would overly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OK!

    liked this book but I felt it could have been so much better. I'm not saying it's terrible, it's just not as good as it could be. This book is based on the Faustian bargain story which I have not read yet. It begins with five children who go missing, they all have something if not anything else in common, they all encountered a beautiful blond woman(Madame Vileroy) right before. Now five years later at the age of 15 they are living with Madame Vileroy and all but two remember their lives before. There are identical twin sisters Belle and Bice(not identical anymore because of Belle), Victoria, Valentin, and Christian. All of them have something special given to them by Madame Vileroy in which they all bargain something for, all except Bice. Belle is as beautiful as she ever wanted to be, Bice can stop time and is really good at learning languages because of it, Victoria can read people's minds, Christian can steal people's talents to help him in sports, and Valetin can make time go backwards and start new futures for people and himself. They quickly take over the school they are going to in New York. This is a story on what happens when one sells their soul to the devil, it's a story on betrayal and forgiveness. I say check it out for yourself, I'm sure most will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    Okay book

    This book has a good potential. If you like romance, betrayal, revenge, cheating, and selling your soul to the Devil. Then this is the book for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's a poor novel but has a cute lesson to share

    The novel, as hallow as the title, will truly get you to a state where in you are like hypnotized reading the book. It may be boring because there are flashbacks at the beginning but that would be very essential in the story as a whole. The moral of the story in the end was very true itself.
    It was absurd to know that ten year olds, with due respect to the book, made a deal to leave home and their parents behind. Each five of them reflects how young children be abusive of what they are given. First, Victoria's eagerness to be the best in what she loved to do became excessive greed and even a form of theft (because of her telepathic abilities). Christian's over flowing passion towards sports made him tired of it and rather write plays, in which Madamme Vileroy was maddened. Bice's hiding from present time abilities are exchange of her youth as well as Belle's borrowed beauty was slowly turning her into an ugly girl under the illusion of Vileroy. Valentin, whenever he goes back in time, develops several disorders and became an arrogant person. These are like warning to me not to be greedy of what I could and would have because what's too much is always bad not only for you but for others as well.
    The ending was quite a thrilling ride. Imagine Harry Potter battling Superman and Potter wins because he quitted the fight? That was like the ending.
    The character I hated most, despite how much similar our goals are, is Victoria. She was like the living Satan in a body of a young girl. She would really get you into your nerves. Valentin was quite annoying too because he is not just arrogant and grumpy towards boys but girls, and even teachers, too! Christian's character was quite passive. Belle's situation is to be pitied upon because she is not as mature as her sister. Bice, though the first half of the book was not showing her up, was impressive at the last part. She stood to the challenge on believing herself and finally controlling her desires. She did not know how to escape but the way she fought Vileroy was not a common thing to do in the most children of her age.
    The last part of the book will really get you more wicked feelings. The book ended witht he phrase "Who knows? This is not a story book ending... This might be a story book beginning with someone who desires" and after that were several blank pages! It gave me the creeps just by turning those blank pages!
    If you are looking for a bewitching book like the original Faust, I am sure that this will not just give you the fantastic creepiness and goose bumps you'd like but a very interesting and complex moral lesson in the end as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    plot was good...

    I was a little disappointed with this book. The description sounded excellent, and the satirical nature of it made me think it was sure to be a great read. Sadly, I was a tad mistaken. Although the satire was definitely there, and it subtly taught what happens when the soul is overpowered by greed, I did not warm up to the characters at all and was a little bored with their lives. The idea is ingenious, but I think the authors needed to follow through with the plot. I liked how it poked fun at the high-strung teenage society of today, and it certainly hit home with its message, but I didn't enjoy it as a 'great-read' novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2