Customer Reviews for

Another Man's Moccasins (Walt Longmire Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    Amazing Author

    This is Craig's best yet. HE just keeps getting better. He appears to be a truly gifted writer and can bring his characters alive so you feel you should know them if you run onto them somewhere. The friendship between Walt and Henry Standing Bear brings something special to the series. Well all the secondary characters are interesting and you want to hear more about them. This book has a lot of depth to it as well as some humor 'loved the paragraph of Walt carrying on a conversation with the Rattler'. Craig Johnson is one of our local authors so we in Sheridan County can feel pride for such a gifted author. Living in Sheridan, I, of course recognize so many of the locations and areas Craig talks about in his book and it makes the book more interesting when you can visualize the scenes. Several times in the book he mentions 'WE need rain' and that's a given here. You hear that phrase all summer. I know I'm looking forward to Craig's next book-maybe Longmire will find someone to share his retirement years with? :' 'not too soon because we want more books on Sheriff Longmire. I can highly reccomend 'Another Man's Moccasins' as a great read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Walt Longmire is Human and Fascinating

    I've enjoyed the Longmire TV series, but felt something was missing. Now I've found it.

    The character created by Craig Johnson is not only real, he's every one of us who went to war, then returned home to stay at war, by going into law enforcement. This cop, tortured by his combat history and PTSD, is each of us, fighting different villains, speaking other tongues, but still trying to make it right.

    If you've been "over there" or know someone who was, this book is must-read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Excellent read.. Just couldn't put it down.

    Enjoyed this book. Stayed up too late. Just couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Excellent police procedural

    The caller informs 911 that a female body lies alongside the highway in Absaroka County, Wyoming. Sheriff Walt Longmire goes to investigate. There he finds the corpse of Vietnamese woman Ho Thi Paquet nearby sitting on the ground holding the victim¿s purse as if it is sacred is Native American Virgil White Buffalo. However Walt is stunned when he goes through Ho¿s personal possessions to find a photograph of him when he served as a military inspector in Nam with a Vietnamese barmaid circa 1968. Walt concludes that the obvious in which Virgil killed Ho is not what happened. He and his friend Native American Henry Standing Bear investigate by trying to follow Ho's recent journey, They are shocked when the paths the young woman took lead back to a West Coast slave trafficking ring and the sheriff¿s Vietnam duty. --- This is the fourth Longmire police procedural (see DEATH WITHOUT COMPANY, COLD DISH and KINDNESS GOES UNPUNISHED), but this reviewer¿s first based on this superb tale this reviewer will have to go back to read them. The whodunit is fun to follow, but the look back to Walt¿s war time makes for a superior read as the present connects to four decades ago. Sub-genre fans will appreciate this engaging, engrossing thriller that ties late 1960s Viet Nam and 2008 Wyoming effortlessly together. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    Great!

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Love this series!

    Another fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Good series

    Started reading the books because I liked the tv show. The books are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    Fantastic read!

    In this book Longmire deals with two murders at the same time. One is happening now, and the other happened when he was a young Marine investigator in Vietnam. A fantastic read as usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Love this series!

    This series is "can't stop reading" for me. Great dialog, character development, and characters! I appreciate that the author assumes intelligence on the part of his readers, and with the exception of Under-sheriff Vic Moretti, the language is clean. The Sheriff is a classy, virtuous guy. Thank you Craig Johnson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Great Book

    I recommend starting this series with book #1 - the story has strong ties through all 8 books in the series, although there are short explantions for any significant references to prior books. Craig Johnson does a great job of writing about the west, with a good dose of humor while not a "profound" book, this series is well written, and a welcome relief from tediouslly worded fiction. Great story line. If you don't "love" Walt Longmire, you will LOVE Henry Standing Bear (all the women in the book seem to, too!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Very Good

    Waiting for next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    This book was sooooo unexepectedly good that I returned to the bookstore with a gift card that a friend gave me and bought the rest of the series. I'm impressed. It's also great to find a new author and new series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    Unexpected Twists

    Leave it to Craig Johnson to come up with a completely original way to tie the current day West of Wyoming to the dark days of Vietnam. A great read as always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    This is Craig Johnson's best yet in the Walt Longmire series.

    Realistic characters and vivid scenery put the reader right into the action. The author raises social issues without preaching. He gives us the back story of two main characters we've grown to love through flashbacks to Walt's and Henry's Vietnam experiences, and he links this history to current events. Kick your shoes off, sit back, and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2