Customer Reviews for

Another Piece of My Heart ($9.99 Ed.)

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

This book was so great. The only part I disliked was the language as I am not fond of the F word, but the story was very realistic, honest, felt like you were part of the family as Emily went through her stages in life. I would tell any reader to get this book and defin...
This book was so great. The only part I disliked was the language as I am not fond of the F word, but the story was very realistic, honest, felt like you were part of the family as Emily went through her stages in life. I would tell any reader to get this book and definitely it's a keeper. So glad I read it.

posted by MCSNYD on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not worth it

Trite unsophidticated and repetitive

posted by 13124530 on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    I really liked this book. Being a stepmom of two girls I felt li

    I really liked this book. Being a stepmom of two girls I felt like I could really relate to the main character. I also appreciated how realistic some of the content was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Wow, I really liked this book. I totally felt for Andi, our prot

    Wow, I really liked this book. I totally felt for Andi, our protagonist, and her struggles with being a step mom and wanting to have her own child. I was a little thrown at first by the reader because it was read by Jane Green (Who is British, who knew?). Once I was able to get used to the accent and remembering that this was a book about America, it got easier.


    One of the reasons that I liked this book so much was because of the conflict between Andi and her step daughter Emily. The resentment between the two of them was what made this story interesting and kept you reading. You felt frustration as Emily twisted things and tried to turn her father, Ethan, against Andi. You felt angry at Emily as she didn't change at all.


    Emily was super angry with Andi because she felt like she had stolen her father from him. The whole time I was listening, I just kept thinking how I wanted to beat the hell out of her. She was a truly detestable character, even when she came back three years after having her baby-she was selfish even when she tried to defend her actions as not being selfish. Like when she tried to take her baby back under the guise of doing it because it was what Michael wanted. She only wanted the baby to keep Michael happy and with her, which was totally selfish.


    I admired Andi's maternal instinct and her ability to stand her ground when it came to Emily returning to their lives and making mistake after mistake. I think that the book could have ended with Emily just up and leaving, but the jump three years in the future was nice just to see how things worked out for everyone even if it did lead to another two hours worth of drama to listen to (if not more than that).


    As I tried to review this book I realized that reviewing audiobooks can be harder because i listen to them over a long span of time, and not just that, but I'm not reading the words, for the most part, I'm passively listening, I get all the big stuff, but then I get distracted by the music being too loud at the gym or my mom trying to talk to me. Overall though I think this book was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Loved It!!!

    I thought it was a great read!!! A little slow at first, but it picked up!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    This story was very real and honest. At times you did not like

    This story was very real and honest. At times you did not like any of the main characters and isn't that just like life?
    Many times we want to just have a go at loved ones! I do not think I would have had the patience with the step daughter.
    She really was most unlikable.
    What really impressed me was the absolute,unsentimental honest portrayal having the young adult woman admit that
    even in her early twenties she was still not ready to be a mother and it was accepted. Too many times in our society we expect motherhood to be this all inclusive,miraculous personality,brain changing experience. All woman can biologically be mothers but no tall re cut out to be one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Good read!

    Entertaining light read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    My first read by this author, and I was pleasantly surprised. It

    My first read by this author, and I was pleasantly surprised. It turned out to be one of those books I couldn't wait to get back to, and was reading every spare moment. Very authentic emotions about remarriage and step-parenting. Also insightful about false expectations and fantasies in life. Wow is all I can say, and I feel I'm pretty hard to please. Plan to read more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable Read

    Posted on Romancing the Book'sblog
    Reviewed by~Ashleigh
    Review Copy Provided by~She Knows Book Club

    For Andi, love and marriage was something she had always dreamed about as a little girl, figuring that it would always happen when the time was right. But as the years past and still no change, Andi had to take matters into her own hands if she ever wanted to have children. Meeting Ethan was the best thing that ever happened to her, not only was he a great guy but he had a ready made family for her to join. Motherhood was in her sights. But life doesn’t always give you a happy ending without a lot of work before hand, and Andi definitely has her work cut out for her. If she wants to have her cake and eat it too, she will have to walk through hell and come out the other side first.

    Emily hates Andi. Andi has not only ruined her life, but has taken her daddy’s love too. No longer does Ethan think the world revolves around Emily, but Andi, and Emily isn’t willing to give up without a fight. Driving Andi away will bring her mom back and things will be better than they were before. Emily is willing to be the worst child in the world to make her plan work, but life gets in the way for her too, getting her into a kind of trouble that you can’t wish away. Will Andi be the answer to ever wish that Emily has in the end or will Emily ruin any chance she has with Andi as a mother before they even begin?

    This was an amazing story that really showed what life is like in a step parent situation, and all the struggles a real marriage goes through to make it work. I loved that Jane Green didn’t make light of the tough stuff and really showed everything in a bright light, but still made the book and enjoyable read. I will say the first part was a bit difficult to get through, and at times i thought that i wasn’t going to like the book at all, but about 70 pages in Andi and Emily really made the story come to life for me. From there I couldn’t put the book down until I knew how it ended. The twist towards the end was something that I didn’t expect at all, and it literally had be gasp. (I won’t give any spoilers – but let me just say it is an ending that you don’t expect to happen)

    Another Piece of my Heart isn’t my first read of Jane Green, and I can say that this is by far my favorite books of hers. I am so glad that I got the opportunity to read this one for Romancing the Book, and can’t wait to see what Jane has in store for us next. I am a fan for life, and will wait on batted breathe for the next great one from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1