Customer Reviews for

Another Piece of My Heart ($9.99 Ed.)

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

This book was so great. The only part I disliked was the language as I am not fond of the F word, but the story was very realistic, honest, felt like you were part of the family as Emily went through her stages in life. I would tell any reader to get this book and defin...
This book was so great. The only part I disliked was the language as I am not fond of the F word, but the story was very realistic, honest, felt like you were part of the family as Emily went through her stages in life. I would tell any reader to get this book and definitely it's a keeper. So glad I read it.

posted by MCSNYD on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not worth it

Trite unsophidticated and repetitive

posted by 13124530 on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Awesome

    This book was so great. The only part I disliked was the language as I am not fond of the F word, but the story was very realistic, honest, felt like you were part of the family as Emily went through her stages in life. I would tell any reader to get this book and definitely it's a keeper. So glad I read it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    A beautiful well-written honest book. A MUST READ!

    As a huge fan of Green's I was so excited to get my hands on her newest book. Another Piece of My Heart may be her BEST BOOK YET! As usual, Jane's characters are so believable and real, and with the addition of getting into the characters voices, I was really able to understand both sides of the story.

    I'm not sure which book the previous reviewers were referring to, but it certainly was NOT this one. I loved that this book took place in California, as I was able to relate to the feeling of living there. I think every woman will be able to relate to this story of wanting to be heard.

    Another home run Jane, can't wait to reread Another Piece of My Heart...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    I was immediately pulled into the storyline. Today, it is very

    I was immediately pulled into the storyline. Today, it is very common for children to belong to blended families. Providing a glimpse into the story of one familly that is dealing with the effects of alcohol, drugs, teen issues, infertility, adoption, and trying to stay together. Told through the perspective of the step-mother, biological mother, teenager, and author, the reader is able to get a better understanding behind each character’s thoughts, behaviors, and motivations.

    Jane Green does a remarkable job at keeping the storyline authentic, as she covers real life issues, in a fast paced story. The story doesn’t seem bogged down or too water downed. There were times where it was difficult to understand and like some of the characters. However, Jane Green then shows the individual perspective of that particular character, and the reader soon can empathize with her, too.

    Reading from Andi’s perspective, the reader is able to truly understand her desire to have children, feel her pain each month that she finds out she isn’t pregnant, and feel her struggles as she tries to make peace with the oldest teen, Emily. However, Emily appears as this rebellious teen. As a reader, I could sense the anger and understand her frustration as she tries to keep the family together, be a wife and mother to her husband’s children, and struggles with her own issues of fertility. However, Emily often argues with her, is dismissive towards her and the family, appears to be a manipulator, and just an overall rebellious teen. Reading from Emily’s perspective gave the reader an opportunity to understand her motives, the struggle she has of dealing with an alcoholic mother, trying to fit in at school, feeling her father doesn’t listen to her, and seeing Andi as fake and wanting her father and younger sister without her being a part of the family.

    The family dynamics are truly realistic and it’s a story that gives a well rounded view of a blended family and it’s issues.

    I highly suggest this book to those who love contemporary fiction, reading about families, enjoy books told through multiple point of views, and deal with complex issues that aren’t always so black and white.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Enjoyable and Interesting!

    I wasn't sure I would like this book but found it difficult to put down. It ignited a spark that let me know that good writing comes in many forms.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    HER BEST ONE YET !! A riveting read from the first page is how I

    HER BEST ONE YET !!
    A riveting read from the first page is how I found "Another Piece of My Heart." This book tugged at all the emotions...I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. Great job, Jane -- keep writing and we'll keep reading!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Fabulous book!

    Loved loved loved this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    ok, not as good as Green's other books...

    it was an enjoyable read - finished in two days - but didn't think it was nearly as good as her other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Loved the story, cried at the end. Couldn't wait to get back to

    Loved the story, cried at the end. Couldn't wait to get back to the book and hated to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Great read

    Great easy reading. Very dramatic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Oh my, one of the best.......

    Enjoying reading Jane Green.....fast summer reads........thought provoking......meaningful......touches the heart strings. Would be good around a warm fire in winter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Great book

    Another great book by Jane Green. It was somewhat predictable, but I was very sad when the book came to an end. Very much worth your time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Good

    I was hooked from the first. I think the story was so real and emotional

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Recommended

    I am only half way through the book. But I love it!!! I love Jane Green's book anyway. I have never read one of her books that I didn't like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    enjoyed this book

    once started hard to put down. good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2