Customer Reviews for

Another Place at the Table

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I began this book as someone who never imagined that I would wan

I began this book as someone who never imagined that I would want to be a foster parent, and finished it with the inspiration to pursue it as soon as possible. Harrison is not a superhero, as I previously imagined foster parents to be; she is an ordinary person who has ...
I began this book as someone who never imagined that I would want to be a foster parent, and finished it with the inspiration to pursue it as soon as possible. Harrison is not a superhero, as I previously imagined foster parents to be; she is an ordinary person who has given an extraordinary piece of herself to those members of our society who need it most. Her story, and that of the children she loves, deserves to be read. This book is about Kathy Harrison's real life as a foster mother and the story about a couple of the children that came into her home. She talks about her true emotions and feelings as she tries to hold these "shattered" children together with, as she puts it, just love and "band aids."   I cried as she wrote about letting Lucy go to an adoptive home. She loved Lucy but not in the same way as the children she adopted. She wanted to keep her but also wanted Lucy to have that unconditional, total love she deserved. The pain of letting Lucy go tore open those feelings and what we went through with two little boys I had for three years. It will bring you to tears and will make you angry. It won't make you laugh and it doesn't have a happy ending. But it will make you think about the foster care system, and maybe it will encourage you to make a difference.     

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on September 29, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Informative, eye opening, shocking

they are doing something wonderful, loving and with all the best of heart intentions, that few of us would ever dream of doing, no doubt its a calling!!! but while reading this book, I kept feeling the urge to scream enough already! please dont say yes again, I felt my ...
they are doing something wonderful, loving and with all the best of heart intentions, that few of us would ever dream of doing, no doubt its a calling!!! but while reading this book, I kept feeling the urge to scream enough already! please dont say yes again, I felt my heart breaking for the unbonded tylers of the world who have lost their families, placed in a safer place but still are unable to get the special attention and care they need to bond and heal.
after taking care of two toddlers with attatchment issues, I would expect any prospective foster parent to question the history of the child, in order to help them and would never consider this voyeurism.
my heart broke for Dan. His time was running out fast for bonding.
this book is very informative, and I would suggest it for anyone who is or might be involved with foster care in any way, it definately portrays the realities of everyones choices involved in the whole process, good or bad, and is an excellent tool, thoughtprovoking,
I highly recommend reading when Love is not enough for anyone dealing with this type of child.

posted by thebooksharer on August 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I began this book as someone who never imagined that I would wan

    I began this book as someone who never imagined that I would want to be a foster parent, and finished it with the inspiration to pursue it as soon as possible. Harrison is not a superhero, as I previously imagined foster parents to be; she is an ordinary person who has given an extraordinary piece of herself to those members of our society who need it most. Her story, and that of the children she loves, deserves to be read. This book is about Kathy Harrison's real life as a foster mother and the story about a couple of the children that came into her home. She talks about her true emotions and feelings as she tries to hold these "shattered" children together with, as she puts it, just love and "band aids."   I cried as she wrote about letting Lucy go to an adoptive home. She loved Lucy but not in the same way as the children she adopted. She wanted to keep her but also wanted Lucy to have that unconditional, total love she deserved. The pain of letting Lucy go tore open those feelings and what we went through with two little boys I had for three years. It will bring you to tears and will make you angry. It won't make you laugh and it doesn't have a happy ending. But it will make you think about the foster care system, and maybe it will encourage you to make a difference.     

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fairly realistic view of what you may be getting into.

    I read this book hoping to learn more about what it was like to be a Foster Parent, and that is absolutely what I got. It is realistic, it does not paint a picture that is deliberately bleak, nor does it sugar coat things. Harrison lays out what it is like to be human, whilst helping children cope with what they have been/are going through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    Informative, eye opening, shocking

    they are doing something wonderful, loving and with all the best of heart intentions, that few of us would ever dream of doing, no doubt its a calling!!! but while reading this book, I kept feeling the urge to scream enough already! please dont say yes again, I felt my heart breaking for the unbonded tylers of the world who have lost their families, placed in a safer place but still are unable to get the special attention and care they need to bond and heal.
    after taking care of two toddlers with attatchment issues, I would expect any prospective foster parent to question the history of the child, in order to help them and would never consider this voyeurism.
    my heart broke for Dan. His time was running out fast for bonding.
    this book is very informative, and I would suggest it for anyone who is or might be involved with foster care in any way, it definately portrays the realities of everyones choices involved in the whole process, good or bad, and is an excellent tool, thoughtprovoking,
    I highly recommend reading when Love is not enough for anyone dealing with this type of child.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read this book shortly after my own children were put in foster care. At that point, I was very angry and could not begin to understand how an agency that would rip babies from the arms of loving parents could be allowed to even exist in a 'free' country. It was reassuring to me to know that there were good foster parents out there. It was also helpful to me to learn details of WHY the system exists, that there are children who are actually put in danger by their parents, who are truly neglected or abused. I'd done a report on child abuse in junior high, but that was a long time ago and I'd spent a couple years trying to defend my family against people who lectured me for being a bad mother because my home had safety hazards like pennies on the floor and nasty gunk under the fridge and I sometimes took my eyes off my children for long enough to use the toilet. Thus, I had expected that foster parents would all be GOOD parents, who wouldn't do things like get distracted and not notice a child flushing a washcloth down the toilet, or have multiple criseses (crisi?) occur too close together to have one finished before th e next one started. That seemed like something I'd do, and that would look horrible in a report if CPS stopped by at the wrong moment. I also expected that most of the biological parents of the children would be basically like me- normal, loving parents who got overwhelmed, stressed-out, and didn't have the economic and social resources to overcome their problems without attracting the attention of CPS. Oddly, the parts about the horrible abuse some of the children had suffered didn't seem real enough to be imagined, so the parts that hit me hardest were the little details, like a child not having a toothbrush, or a girl being fed nothing but peanut butter sandwiches because her mom was too busy partying to have time and money to make real meals. I'd recommend this book to other parents like myself who are dealing with CPS, as well as foster parents and anyone curious about the foster care system. Mostly, I'd recommend it to social workers who are overworked and maybe need a reminder of what they are supposed to be concerned about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    An Amazing Read!

    As a prospective Foster-Adopt parent - I found this to be a very eye-opening read. I believe that all perspective Foster or Foster Adopt Parents should read this book. It gives you the day-to-day perspective you do not get from other books on the topic. I could not put it down and it really made me stop and think about what I was about to get myself into by adopting a special needs child. I hope she comes out with another book on this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2003

    Gentle opening of a little soul, leaving memories of happiness

    Kathy Harrison and her husband must be made of the most beautiful and toughest mettle...! The little Danny to whom they opened their home was so well described and their efforts to give him some love and an opportunity to remember good times despite his closed little soul reverberates.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2006

    This is a wonderful book!

    I've read this book twice. The first time was just before I began to do foster care and it scared me half to death, wondering what I was getting myself into. Then I read it again after I had been a foster mom for a year and I laughed all the way throught it. This is a wonderful book for anyone thinking of jumping into the trenches. Don't let it scare you, being a foster mom has been a very rewarding thing for me--I adopted my first 2 foster children!!!! She now has a sequel to this book called 'One Small Boat' and now I'm hoping she writes a third book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    With no time...I still clould not put it down!

    We have 9,8,2 & 1 year old girls...The older three are our foster daughters, that we are planning on adopting...I have not read a book since they were placed with us...Even with the little time I know I have I could not put this book down...What an expertly written book...I am so glad I opened it up and started to read it...I too would buy a sequal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    A must read book if in foster care

    Wonderful book. I felt like I was reading about myself.Kathy seems to have the same feelings on a lot of the issues that I too have faced in foster care. Being from NZ, this book was also very revelent. Different country, but same issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2003

    Hard to put down!

    The worst part of this book was that it ended. I couldn't put this book down. She shared some of the same feelings I have about my own foster child. I hope she writes another one. I need a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1