BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Answering 911: Life in the Hot Seat

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An honest view from the other side of the phone

This book is honest, raw, touching, sarcastic and full of the stories the public never gets to hear. Caroline does a fantastic job showing us the less-than glamourous life our emergency responders deal with. This is a quick read, and one you won't want to put down. Lif...
This book is honest, raw, touching, sarcastic and full of the stories the public never gets to hear. Caroline does a fantastic job showing us the less-than glamourous life our emergency responders deal with. This is a quick read, and one you won't want to put down. Life in the hot seat will entertain any reader that appreciates gut wrenching honesty and an eloquence unexpected from the girl next door.

posted by Anonymous on July 30, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

if you liked 'A Million Little Pieces' you will love this book....

It contains about the same amount of factual information. The true story here is one of sour grapes and the author not finding her place in this field either. True: It takes a tough-skinned person with alot of common sense and quick thinking to do this job. False: Dis...
It contains about the same amount of factual information. The true story here is one of sour grapes and the author not finding her place in this field either. True: It takes a tough-skinned person with alot of common sense and quick thinking to do this job. False: Dispatchers are a pack of uncaring wolves. They take on this HUGE responsibility because they want to help people. The pen is a powerful tool for revenge and it's sad the author uses it that way. Signed, A 911 Dispatcher at the depicted center

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    if you liked 'A Million Little Pieces' you will love this book....

    It contains about the same amount of factual information. The true story here is one of sour grapes and the author not finding her place in this field either. True: It takes a tough-skinned person with alot of common sense and quick thinking to do this job. False: Dispatchers are a pack of uncaring wolves. They take on this HUGE responsibility because they want to help people. The pen is a powerful tool for revenge and it's sad the author uses it that way. Signed, A 911 Dispatcher at the depicted center

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    An honest view from the other side of the phone

    This book is honest, raw, touching, sarcastic and full of the stories the public never gets to hear. Caroline does a fantastic job showing us the less-than glamourous life our emergency responders deal with. This is a quick read, and one you won't want to put down. Life in the hot seat will entertain any reader that appreciates gut wrenching honesty and an eloquence unexpected from the girl next door.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2014

    This book was not what I expected. I thought it would be filled

    This book was not what I expected. I thought it would be filled with amusing antidotes of being a 911 Operator but instead it is the true story of a woman who became a 911 Operator and her journey there. One of the interesting things is that she is from my home town of Minneapolis/St Paul MN which brought it all home for me. It was very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I found this book to be very interesting and pretty funny at tim

    I found this book to be very interesting and pretty funny at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Easy read

    This book has a lot of not-so-good reviews, and I have to say that I am surprised. This book is a lot of what I was expecting - a memoir with a little bit of 911 call center drama mixed in. While it did get repetitive at times, it was certainly interesting to see how one woman rose above her past and has kept at her pursuit of happiness - one of these pursuits being a job at a 911 call center. The calls she describes were interesting and I found the progression of her skin getting thicker very intriguing - as someone who works in a field where a think skin is necessary, I saw where she was coming from. It was an easy read, a bit confusing in a couple of places where I had to re-read to understand what person was talking to the other, but overall an enjoyable 2-day read. I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    Loved this book!

    I love reading about all kinds of medical drama..and found this book hard to put down! I never realized that being a 911 dispatch operator could be so stressful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    Good Read

    I finished this book within 2 days. I could definately relate to this book! Definately gives you the details of being a dispatcher and the goofy calls you get...good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    The life of a dispatcher couldn't be described any better

    This book was amazing. I marvelled at how similar we (dispatchers) all are. It was like reading a book about my own Comm Center. I suggested to all my co-workers, especially the new hires, to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I'd like to recommend this book to anyone in the field or anyone with a relative that is a dispatcher/911 operator. For those of use whose job this describes it's a humorous story and nice to know we're not alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    This book is the way of life for 911 Dispatchers

    I just read this book and it was like I was reading about myself. If you want to know what it takes to be a 911 Dispatcher then you need to read this book. All about the ups and downs of the worlds second most stressfull job. You will enjoy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1