Customer Reviews for

The Anti-Romantic Child: A Memoir of Unexpected Joy

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Poetry and Parenting

    The author is a professor of English who, like all moms, is delighted when her firstborn child turns out to be a phenomenal reader. However, the boy's special skills are a symptom of hyperlexia, which is on the autism spectrum somewhere near Asperger's. The beautiful poems of Wordsworth become a 'soundtrack' of sorts as the author discovers how to best help her child find a place in the world. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    GET THIS BOOK!!!! It is completely worth it. I am currently doin

    GET THIS BOOK!!!! It is completely worth it. I am currently doing a book study about this book and I couldn't have chosen a better book!! It was so touching to read all Mrs. Gilman's experiences with Benjamin (her son). Trust me, you will feel that you are a part of her family because of how detailed and personal her experiences are throughout the book. Throughout the book there wasn't a page that left me without tears! I want to praise Mrs. Gilman for writing this book because it is extremely personal but it has definitely helped many cope with similar experiences! Even if you think you can't relate, pick up this book and you WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!! I read it once and I will read it again and again! Be prepared to finish it in one sitting (because you will always want more- trust me); and definitely be prepared to be in tears!

    If you are going through similar experiences, this book will definitely help you cope and show you that there is light at the end of the tunnel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    highly recommended

    I cannot say enough about this book she has writen, she has shown the disappointment, struggles, fights and ultimate joy when raising a special needs child with such clearity and understanding and respect..i have always felt kind of alone in my experiences with my daughter but i don't feel so alone anymore...thank you for that..every parent should read this book..my other daughter is going to read it now..

    i laughed and cried throughout the whole book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enhancing, Loving, & Nuturing the Life of a Very Special Little Boy ~~ Benj

    Priscilla has truly written one of the most heart-warming & touching books that I have ever had the pleasure to read. Being the mother of a special needs child, I could immensely feel the emotions that Priscilla expressed in the book in regards to the admiration, devotion, fear, & love that she has for Benjamin (Benj). A parent of a special needs child works so very hard to get him/her to progress to their highest potential without pushing him/her too far to where it may be above what he/she can handle. Priscilla shows such determination & motivation to do everything possible to make Benj's life accessible for him in the ways that he can tolerate & handle in his world. She expresses in words & through the use of William Wordsworth's beautiful poetry, the true love that she has for Benj & his younger brother, James. She expresses with true intensity the feelings that a parent experiences upon learning that his or her child has a diagnosis that may limit he or she in society. She expressed this feeling in words so well, that I could literally feel the pain again that I felt on the day that my youngest son was diagnosed as deaf in both ears. I also could relate very well with her when she spoke of how her marriage began to deteriorate. My marriage deteriorated as well. To hear her express the emotions of disapointment & the pain that goes along with a deteriorating marriage & to have a child that needs you both is a very familiar emotion to me & I could relate so well with her descriptions of the feelings that she was experiencing during that time. Priscilla writes of Benj in such a way that I feel as if I have literally met this wonderful, little guy. He is such a remarkable, little boy in so many ways & Priscilla has done an excellent job in detailing the hurdles that he has overcome & the immense achievements that Benj has accomplished. I can sympathize with Priscilla in the worry that she has experienced & will continue to experience to a degree, regarding Benj possibly being bullied or picked on by other children, as I have had those same worries myself for my son. However, so far, I have been fortunate, like Priscilla, to have had some of the kindest instructors, baby-sitters, & other people that are involved in my son's life. My son, Ryan, is typically adored by all that encounter him, just as Benj has been. Through reading about Benj & his wonderful personality, he has to be like sunshine brightening up a dark day. Priscilla describes the incredible and remarkable lengths that she has gone through to make sure that Benj's world is accessible & easier for him to venture through. I truly believe that no other person could have done any better at this than she has at making sure that her wonderful son gets just as good of a chance at a fruitful life & education as any other child would. She is truly a very remarkable woman. As the reader of the book, you too will experience the intense love & dedication that she has for Benj. I can relate very well with her on this point also. My ex-husband & I have taken every advantage & opportunity that we can to enhance Ryan's world with him now having bilateral cochlear implants. Speech therapy has to be very intensive with him to learn to speak appropriately & I can definately relate with Priscilla when she speaks of the appointments to various physicians, therapy, & other faculties to aid our ch

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    I say, "Wow!". I am overwhelmed.

    To me, "The Anti-Romantic Child" is a story of love, patience, heartbreak and fulfillment. I am enthralled by the main characters: the author Priscilla, her husband/ex-husband Richard, her hyperlexic son Benj, and, to a lesser extent, her father, her younger son James, Yale, Vassar and New York City.
    Benj's story is thrilling. He is dealt a dreadful hand and somehow overcomes adversity. The author places me - the reader - in Benj's mindset. Frightened by the world, grasping at the world, enveloping the world. Ms. Gilman describes the transition beautifully, and the reader makes the journey with Benj and her. My sense is that the author's tender loving care is key, but I also sense Benj's becoming a brave boy, taking risks, surprisingly intuitive and creative. I hope Benj reads this book at some unknown future date. It is a love story. It is a story of his travails, his conquests and his Mother's love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Highly recommended

    A moving account of a mother's devotion to her special child and how her relentless pursuit to understand and love him transforms not only her preconceived dreams for Benj, but also for herself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Mom's Choice Award Recipient!

    The Anti-Romantic Child is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom’s Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS’s Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times best-selling Author and; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books. Parents and educators look for the Mom’s Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Highly recommend for those who want to reflect on the "essential self"

    My deep appreciation for Priscilla Gilman's book The Unromantic Child is two-pronged. First, without sap or spite, Gilman reveals her journey of enlightenment as a mother, for how she aligned herself with her son's needs and gifts, reconciling to reality.

    From that last sentence above it is too easy to think that this is a book just for the parents of children with special needs. Of course, it shares a perspective that they should find helpful. It certainly reached out to me, as I have a son who reflects Benj's diagnoses except for the hyperlexia. Like Benj, my son "clearly has shades of obsessive-compulsive disorder, . sensory-integration disorder and social-pragmatic language disorder" and is said to have mild Asperger's. A Rule Boy with tics and quirks, he is nonetheless a very different child from Benj. For one, music is not a solace for him, though writing and drawing are. The differences between our two sons serve as great testimony for Gilman's plea - that we "appreciate[e] the complex, intricate person" each child is, beyond labels.

    And while that is an intrinsic message that we should all follow, I also want to discuss another element that deserves attention from a wide readership. That is Gilman's journey through the works of Wordsworth, offering his poetry in the context of her life before Benj and since.

    I hadn't really met Wordsworth until five years ago, when I wandered through his Dove Cottage-not "lonely as a cloud," but with my son alongside. I picked up a dog-eared copy of The Illustrated Lake Poets at a second-hand shop in Grasmere and from there, we experienced the landscape through Wordsworth's poetry.

    Shielded by our Gore-Tex from "flying showers," we "rove[d] [t]hro' bare grey dell, high wood, and pastoral cove . [t]hro' craggs, and forest glooms, and opening lakes . to willowy hedgerows, and to emerald meads ." and through it all, I found "the sense [o]f majesty, and beauty, and repose, [a] blended holiness of earth and sky ."

    And in our roving, I gained a profound appreciation not only for how Wordsworth captured that landscape with verse, but also for how his very writing helped to galvanize others into safeguarding the Lake District so that we also, nearly two centuries later, could be "Wild Wanderers"-not only seeing firsthand the world that was once his, but also discovering the real reason why we should wander there: simply to "Be happy."

    I thought I knew Wordsworth, but then I read Gilman's book. Compared to her encounters with him, mine feels pragmatic. Not hollow, but shallow. Wordsworth's poetry did not launch my emotions-no, it was the landscape itself that sent them soaring. Rather, his words helped me latch more firmly to my feelings, to name them, frame them. So as I embraced the landscape, I echoed Wordsworth. I wasn't breathing in the poetry and letting it burn through my heart, whereas it is clear that Gilman has done just that.

    So, those who appreciate Wordsworth, good poetry, the hold that poetry can take on a soul (or the help that it offers for fathoming the profound) should also read this book.

    In her use of Wordsworth to show how she came to commit herself to the "battle for Benj's essential self," Gilman provides not only specifics that can help parents fight for their own child's "essential self," but can help all readers reflect on their own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1