Customer Reviews for

Anticancer: A New Way of Life

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    Cancer survivor.

    Being I lived what most would consider a pretty healthy life style and still to have gotten breast cancer, I wanted answers to the many questions I had about changes I could make to increase my chances of no reoccurance. It seemed very difficult to get straight answers from my oncologist. This book provided that for me, backed and footnoted for my fairly cynical mind. This Book is full of useful informations about diet, environment and lifestyle in an easy to read format. Plus it tells the journey of the author a doctor and a survivor himself. It works. It empowered me to feel I can make a difference in my future. I love this book.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    This is a very important book for anyone that wants to stay healthy, and avoid the many diseases our modern way of living has inflicted on us. Our lifestyle is killing us. This doctor speaks from personal experience.

    I am an RN, and I know the information in this book is physiologically accurate. We have too many people developing cancer, and other diseases at younger, and younger ages. We need to take responsibility for what we put into our bodies. This author shows you why, what we need, and how much. He spent 15 years doing research to examine (among other things) how cancer cells use our poor diet to grow and spread, and how we can prevent many threats to our health. The information is easy to understand the way it is written. I highly recommend this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    This can be a very life-changing book with life-giving information!

    I truly liked this book. I am interested in maintaining good health and helping my family do the same. If you are ready for a change or at the very least - looking in a new direction for health tips - then this book is for you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    More Than a Cancer Book

    I assigned this book as part of a health credit for my 13 and 15 yo homeschooled highschoolers after I read it. Great charts/graphs/diagrams and a heartfelt biography by the author/Dr. who encourages us to have hope instead of fear. This is a book that anyone can read to better equip themselves with the knowledge of how cancer starts and grows and what you can do (diet/exercise/meditation) to lower your risk of developing cancer. I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    Wow What An Eye Opener

    Working with cancer patients for 18 years this book was an absolute page turner. What an absolute factual, heartwarming and sad at times, this book is number one. I will be sharing this one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    Ideas for limiting cancer growth --readable, scientific and practical -- a book I will use repeatedly!

    This is a very readable book written by a psychiatrist who twice developed brain cancer. He was dissatisfied with the lack of information he received on how to avoid future cancer episodes so he started researching cancer.

    He discovered that even in populations with low incidence of cancer (oriental groups, etc.), people who died from other causes were often found to have microtumors in their bodies and he wondered why they remained small. He searched out information on what limits and what stimulates cancer growth and presents that information in this book.

    He also discusses why cancer is prevalent (epidemic) and concludes it is due to 3 factors: environmental (pollution & chemicals in our food); the type of food that we eat and the stressful and also
    sedentary nature of our lives. He gives specific suggestions for lifestyle changes that people can take to improve all 3 of these areas and feels that there are no harmful side effects from his suggestions, only the possibility of improved health.

    After reading it, I am buying 2 copies of this book -- one for me to keep for reference and lifestyle change and one for a friend who is going through chemotherapy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Balance Your Life With A Book

    This book does a good job of blending Western and Eastern medical approaches to something that scares most people -- cancer. With language that is readable, the author maps out a way of living that helps a body fight off cancer cells. I appreciate the way this book does more than name things that are healthy, such as Omega-3s; it explains why these things are healthy. That gives the book more scientific credibility than any 30 second sound bite you might run across on the TV newscast. This books is well-worth reading for both cancer patients and those who want to support them, but also for all those who want to avoid getting the dreaded disease.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Anti-Cancer: A New Way of Life

    My husband was recently diagnosed with cancer and at one of our appointsments with our hemotology oncologist he mentioned that he was reading this book. I drove straight to the bookstore after the appointment to buy this book. It is MUST reading for everybody. Cancer is not going away.... it is getting stronger. They predict one out of four will be diagnosed with cancer. I saw that U.S. News and World Report also plugged this book in their recent Feb. '09 issue.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Anti-Cancer - a New Way of Life

    Every person should read this book and pass the knowledge onto others. This is one of the best researched, well written books detailing causes of cancer and the environments which create it. We can protect ourselves and make significant changes AND CHOICES in our lives and others. Cancer is not a mystery disease and people need to know how they contribute to their health -or not. We are not powerless or at the mercy of disease. We CAN make better choices. The information in this book is not new - what it does is validate with research what we've suspected about the causes of this disease and how we can combat it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    Anti-Cancer Diet (and More)

    This book should be on every high school reading list. It has a wealth of information about what everyone should consume and not consume to be healthy. The author comments in detail about how profit drives the food industry, regardless of the effect of unhealthy production practices such as corn fed cattle. You might have to wade through the first few chapters, but after that it is hard to put the book down. The title doesn't do the book justice, because the information applies to much more than just avoiding cancer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    VERY VERY helpful

    I would recommend this book to anyone who is a survivor and wants to do everything in their power to prevent its return. Easy to read, motivating, and applicable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Amazing, accurate, inspiring book. Excellent balance of practical day to day information and accurate physiological background. I have read many, this is the best!!

    If you are looking for a book to start or continue your study of food as cancer therapy, I highly recommend this book. I used it as the basis for my physiology presentation because of the accuracy and ease to read. All of the primary research I did pointed back to the same conclusions in this book. Excellent reference!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    This is one of the best

    I found this to be an amazing book. The author has as much credibility as anyone could possibly have for exploring his subject. He is an MD, has a PhD in neuroscience, and is a cancer survivor. I am astonished that other readers of this book have given it so few stars. For my money, this is one of the BEST guides I've ever seen to restoring health after cancer. Servan-Schreiber is open-minded enough to discuss alternative treatment modalities which often have considerable supporting evidence, in addition to the traditional medical approaches. The book is a fascinating combination of scholarly material and his personal journey.<BR/><BR/>I'm a cancer survivor, and this work is guiding my life. I highly recommend it for those who are struggling with cancer and for anyone who wants to live a lifestyle that helps reduce the risk of developing cancer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2