BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Antiques Roadkill (Trash 'n' Treasures Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A charmer

Brandy Borne is not sure if she is on antidepressant medicine because of her recent divorce or returning to her hometown of Serenity, overlooking the Mississippi River, to live with her unhinged Red Hat mother Vivian and her social airs elitist wannabe sister Peggy Sue....
Brandy Borne is not sure if she is on antidepressant medicine because of her recent divorce or returning to her hometown of Serenity, overlooking the Mississippi River, to live with her unhinged Red Hat mother Vivian and her social airs elitist wannabe sister Peggy Sue. However, adding to Brandy¿s depression is that her mom, under some powerful meds, sold family antique furniture to an unprincipled dealer, Clint Carson, for almost nothing. Irate Vivian confronts Carson over his conning a mentally deficient person, but the dealer says legally he provided the consideration in terms of the agreed upon compensation.---------------- Not long after her public outrage towards Carson, someone runs him over on a remote country lane near the dealer¿s farmhouse. Local law enforcement feels Brandy has the motive making her the prime suspect with the only other person of interest being her mother, who may have been motivated by her daughter¿s tantrum. Brandy thinks otherwise as the list of people wanting to kill Carson is much of the county, but especially a horde of senior citizens he cheated just like he did her mom. Brandy and Vivian high on medicine investigate as neither trust the cops to be thorough, but there are warnings from much of their neighbors to back off as no one wants the secretes of not so Serenity revealed.------------- Amateur sleuth fans will enjoy traipsing around Serenity looking for a valuable antique amongst someone¿s garbage as much as observing Brandy and Vivian tripping over one another seeking to uncover the identity of the killer. During their detecting the two women unearth many of their neighbors¿ skeletons, which is why so many tell the Borne duo to back down. Fans will enjoy this lighthearted antiques whodunit with Brandy¿s side tips on collecting a bonus.---------- Harriet Klausner

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

In Allan’s mystery novel, Brandy Borne has moved back home with her mother following a divorce. A shifty antiques dealer has swindled her mother, Vivian out of the family heirlooms. But when he’s found dead, Brandy and Vivian are under suspicion. Determined to clear ...
In Allan’s mystery novel, Brandy Borne has moved back home with her mother following a divorce. A shifty antiques dealer has swindled her mother, Vivian out of the family heirlooms. But when he’s found dead, Brandy and Vivian are under suspicion. Determined to clear their names, the duo investigate on their own only to find themselves the target of a very determined murderer.

Small town setting and quirky characters.

posted by debbieaheaton on July 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Pretty Good

    I got really tired really quickly of having to read about what every single person was wearing throughout the whole story, but I got through it. Then I read the second book in the series and loved it! I've read all to date so far!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    A charmer

    Brandy Borne is not sure if she is on antidepressant medicine because of her recent divorce or returning to her hometown of Serenity, overlooking the Mississippi River, to live with her unhinged Red Hat mother Vivian and her social airs elitist wannabe sister Peggy Sue. However, adding to Brandy¿s depression is that her mom, under some powerful meds, sold family antique furniture to an unprincipled dealer, Clint Carson, for almost nothing. Irate Vivian confronts Carson over his conning a mentally deficient person, but the dealer says legally he provided the consideration in terms of the agreed upon compensation.---------------- Not long after her public outrage towards Carson, someone runs him over on a remote country lane near the dealer¿s farmhouse. Local law enforcement feels Brandy has the motive making her the prime suspect with the only other person of interest being her mother, who may have been motivated by her daughter¿s tantrum. Brandy thinks otherwise as the list of people wanting to kill Carson is much of the county, but especially a horde of senior citizens he cheated just like he did her mom. Brandy and Vivian high on medicine investigate as neither trust the cops to be thorough, but there are warnings from much of their neighbors to back off as no one wants the secretes of not so Serenity revealed.------------- Amateur sleuth fans will enjoy traipsing around Serenity looking for a valuable antique amongst someone¿s garbage as much as observing Brandy and Vivian tripping over one another seeking to uncover the identity of the killer. During their detecting the two women unearth many of their neighbors¿ skeletons, which is why so many tell the Borne duo to back down. Fans will enjoy this lighthearted antiques whodunit with Brandy¿s side tips on collecting a bonus.---------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Funny

    Light and funny!
    I have never read a book where the character writes a explanation about their or someone else actions. Different takes getting use to.
    Yes, I am going to buy more of Trash n Treasures.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Needs an editor -- stat!!!

    I was shocked when I read the credentials of this team...this is really quite badly written, way too cutesy and desperately needs an editor. With little work this could be made better, but as of now, if I were the publisher I'd be embarrassed. Oh and lose the "tips" -- they're lame.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Good Read

    In Allan’s mystery novel, Brandy Borne has moved back home with her mother following a divorce. A shifty antiques dealer has swindled her mother, Vivian out of the family heirlooms. But when he’s found dead, Brandy and Vivian are under suspicion. Determined to clear their names, the duo investigate on their own only to find themselves the target of a very determined murderer.

    Small town setting and quirky characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Read the whole series---------

    I throughly enjoyed the entire series. Didn't want it to end!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    I liked it

    Chik lit is not my genre but this was pretty funny on a day that i needed humor. I liked it enough to get the next book.

    The main character moves home after a divorce to live with her wonkey mother. She quickly becomes embroiled in a murder.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Warning

    There seems to be one person that goes to all the reviews just to give a bad one. I say one person because they all seem to sound alike. Please pay no attention to these reviews( if you read reviews it is very easy to spot them) . Listen to the other reviewers, please. Books are to be enjoyed. Please do

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable Read

    I really loved this book and look forward to the next books in the series. The characters were fun and a little crazy. I love dogs and was happy to read about a very cute one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    A good story

    This was fun to read & I'm looking forward to reading the rest

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    Fun read

    Quirky characters kept me involved until the end. Nice, light-hearted read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute and laugh out loud funny

    This book is well worth the money. An easy read, is for those days when your brain doesn't want to do anymore. I found several of my small town residents written right there in the pages. Weve all been there and some of us have even done that too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    as if i'm talking to myself

    I really thought i wouldn't like this- had no reason but thought it would be what I call a "throw-away" and yet it was funny, sarcastic and I could sure picture some scenes in my own life read it in a few days cause I couldn't stop

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Completely enjoyable!

    A well written cozy! Her descriptions are so fluid as well as her use of dialogue. This is a joy to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Religious Intollerance

    The author knows Wicca is a religion, describes it as "benign" in her own pages, and still uses "witchy" as an insult and alternative for a foul word. Insulting, biggoted, and offensive.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    good book

    Enjoyed this book. Had some lol moments. Quick fun read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Couldn't finish. Blathering.

    That pretty much sums it up. Didn't make it past the 4th chapter. Found the characters one dimensional, idiotic and frankly just generally annoying. Brandy was exceptionally shallow and insipid. I'm sorry I am unable to get my money back on this book. Even 4 chapters were a waste of time.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Not that good

    I had a really hard time with this book. The main character has to be about the dumbest person ever. She was irritating and just plain stupid not to mention irritating. I really wanted to like this book, but it just wasn't that good! Read at your own waste of time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    R

    Quite dull.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2