Customer Reviews for

Antony and Cleopatra: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    When will the rest of the series be available for Nook?

    I am a history teacher and I love reading the whole series to give me insight about this most important time in Roman history. McCullough makes the past come alive throughout the scope of her series. My only complaint is that only the last couple of books are available for the nook. I am building my nook collection, but until this series is available for it, my collection will have a big hole. Please hurry and put these novels out for the nook soon!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    McCullough scores yet again!

    Colleen McCullough provides another masterpiece in her "Great Men of Rome" series. Who will succeed Julius Caesar? We know the historical answer but McCullough pulls us along with vivid characters, dramatic detail, and attention to history. Octavian is shown as miles ahead of Antony in his scheming and planning while Antony falls hopelessly captive to the Egyptian Queen. What always amazes the reader in McCullough's fictional histories is how interesting the small but critical political details can actually be in a well known story. To get a real feel for the age of Rome and just to escape for awhile in a really good read, pick up McCullough's "Anthony and Cleopatra."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Med den

    Legend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Antony and Cleopatra

    Beautifully written as only the author can do. It does get a little cumbersome with the roman names and geographical locations. You can overcome this by only remembering one of the many names each Roman has..

    If you like this time in history, you will enjoy this.

    I also found the descriptions of the people very intersting esp. the main characters.. Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Bought as Xmas gift for Obsessed Husband

    My husband really enjoyed receiving this book as a gift -- he loves this era of history and this author really brings the story to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not My Cup of Tea

    I know that Cleopatra, while known by name, is not a highly documented person so a lot of literary interpretations need to be made. I just didn't like the author's view. The book was a very slow read. I needed to consult the vocabulary in the back often to look up the meanings of the latin words. I prefer the love story of Antony and Cleopatra... this just wasn't it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    Although it does not portray Antony and Cleopatra's love they way I imagined it, I was able to see their strengths and weaknesses. I learned much about Rome, Egypt and even the other historical figures I previously knew nothing about. The author writes extremely well, I actually felt as if I was there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great book by Colleen McCullough

    All of Ms McCullough's fans will want to read this one and will not be disappointed. Her research of events of the period and her attention to detail is incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    Readable

    Readable, but just.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Antony and Cleopatra: A Tragedy

    I didn't know anything about the story of Antony and Cleopatra let alone they were a couple. This book gave me alot of insight into their story that'll make anyone remember and enjoy the telling of their tragic love. The author does an exceptional job in her writing style to really make the reader feel like they're right there in the action. The settings, clothes, atmospheres, and people are all described so well that you really understand what life was like in the Roman Empire and Egypt during 40 b.c. However, I did think it was a rather lengthy read that included too many specifics that are easily forgotten as you read along, but altogether it was quite entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Last, But Not Least.

    My one regret about finishing this book was the realization that it was the last of a wonderful, stupendous series of historical novels; and it is unlikely that there will be any continuation. Colleen McCullough is unbeatable in this style and substance of books. I shall miss ancient Rome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book. Though their story is timeless the author's detailed description of the characters and vast knowledge of Roman history brought them back to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    an awesome book

    this book is an awesome story about Cleopatra and her life. its one of the bests!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    this is a fabulous Masters of Rome entry

    Following the death of Julius Caesar in 41 BC, Rome is divided as to who rightfully should rule. Caesar¿s ambitious cousin Mark Antony and the late ruler¿s adopted son Octavian reach an agreement to divide the vast Empire. Whereas their only rival Lepidus flees to Africa, Antony takes charge of the East while Octavian rules the West. Neither of the two remaining partners from the triumvirate is pleased as both believe they should be the new Caesar.--------------- Antony shows little understanding of financing an army when he over extends his force in a failed war to suppress the rebellious Parthians. Needing a fast replenishment of his treasury before his rival learns of his weakness, Antony travels to Egypt to demand wealthy Queen Cleopatra provide reparations or else. Cleopatra has an agenda of her own to replace Antony and ultimately Octavian with Caesarion, the son she had with Julius when he came courting. To succeed she must make Antony her sex slave, which she easily achieves. Meanwhile Marcus Agrippa and Octavian¿s wife coax the co-ruler that the time is right for him to take over the entire Roman Empire. Cleopatra coaxes her pudding head lover to lead his forces against that of Octavian.------------------ Although the history is well known, this is a fabulous Masters of Rome entry as the key players especially the title characters come alive. Readers will appreciate Cleopatra¿s seduction that turns Antony into her willing sex salve doing her bidding and likewise Octavian¿s strong wife Livia pushing him to become the Emperor. Fans will enjoy Colleen McCullough¿s historical saga as two strong females propel their weaker minded mates to battle on an Ancient Mediterranean stage.------------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2