Customer Reviews for

Antrax (Voyage of the Jerle Shannara Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    One of Brook's best! Antrax picks up where Isle Witch left off a

    One of Brook's best! Antrax picks up where Isle Witch left off and pushes the characters even further. Probably the best book in the Voyage series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    INCREDIBLE!!!

    The whole story was great and i found that it was detailed and i loved it the whole way through. I ended up finishing the book and i was so captivated by what was happening at that time(trying not to give anything away here) that I was practicly forcing my parents to take me to our bookstore to i could read Morgawr(which i also loved!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2003

    Terry Brooks is GREAT!!!!!

    I have read all of his Shannara books and Antrax is just flat out awesome. I couldn't put it down. I am ready for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    Just as AWESOME as the first!!

    This is such a great book! Couldn't put it down! Action-packed and full of adventure, it is a GREAT book. Terry Brooks is a great author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    Spell Binding and Pure Magic

    Bringing to life the magic, beauty, and greed of distant lands and characters, Terry Brooks has capture my attention! You just seem to fall into the cast and feel thier pain, fear, and joys as they do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    Brenden Eden, shannara fan writes

    I am only thirteen, but I still think this is an awsome book. You could get lost in the words as Terry Brooks casts his spell on you in his new book, Antrax. Like the first book in this series, this books ending will make you want read the third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2002

    WOW

    I have read an own most of terry brooks work an i find this book to be the best so far...lets hope the next one is better still

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2002

    great book

    Antrax picks up right where Ilse Witch left off with s much action and so many characters you care about! I thought the book had unexpected twists and was absolutely fabulous. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    You've outdone yourself, Mr. Brooks!

    I could not put this book down and neither will you! I read the last 200 pages without leaving my bed, and when I was called away with 20 pages left, I could not wait to rush home to finish it. I've read every single one of the Shannara books, and this I think was one of the best since the original three. Exciting and riveting, this is a page-turner that keeps you thirsting for more. Well done, Mr. Brooks - well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2002

    Brooking brilliant!

    A 'can't put down' read. If only there were more writers like Terry Brooks. His characters are a delight and the world he creates indulges all of your fantasies and brings the book to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2002

    Terry Brooks Rocks!

    This is Terry at his best! I haven't liked a book this much since Keeper Martin's Tale. Thank you Terry!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2002

    This book ROCKS!

    I haven't been this delighted about a book since reading Keeper Martin's Tale and Elf Queen's Quest. Thank you TB for finally delivering a book I knew you could. This is such a wonderful book! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2002

    Renewed Passion for Fantasy!!!

    I began reading Terry Brooks when I was 11 and fell in love with his original Shannara series and The Heritage of Shannara. This latest book shows his great improvements and mauturation as a writer and returns to his greatest asset: great storytelling. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2002

    Wonderful!

    After a bit of a dry spell for Brooks, I was delighted to find the Voyage of Jerle Shannara so well done. This book is simply awesome and if you've been reading the Shannara books, I don't see how you couldn't read this one. Fans of Robert Stanek's works (Keeper Martin's Tale, Elf Queen's Quest, Return from Exile) will be delighted by this as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2001

    Let's go for another ride

    This book is continuing where the last let off and it does not slow down. From beginning to end there are fights, flights, intrigue, and plot twists. You can always tell a writer is confident in his own story when he allows a major character to die. Brooks is very confident. I'd recommend this book to anyone either familiar with the Shannara series or looking for a nice 3 book set to pick up and pass some quality time. My review: Eye-opening-yes. Disappointments-none. Delectible-as always. Read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2001

    An Adenaline Rush

    This has to be the single most fast paced book I have ever set eyes upon in my entire life. This book is the sequel to the bestseller Ilse Witch which is a great book in it¿s own right and left the reader with a cliffhanger ending. Terry Brooks takes the scene he has set in Ilse Witch and runs away with it. He continues off exactly from where he left off in Ilse Witch. This book has the best character development I have ever seen. A mystical world that grabs your attention. Twists that keep the story going at an amazing pace and an ending that captures your heart. The ending is the best twist I have read in a long time most people will never guess it. This story has great conflicts, arousing scenes, and action that can¿t be beat. The better question is what¿s not to like. Well if you¿re some fem who only likes romance and hates action and great storyline then no you won¿t like it but otherwise read the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2001

    delivers again

    Ripped through it in 5 hours. Exactly what readers have come to expect from T.B..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2001

    Terry Brooks does it again!

    Terry Brooks never ceases to astound me with that God-Given talent of his to sweep the reader right out of the armchair and into the depths of his incredible imagination! Move over Tolkein! I can hardly hold my horses till I can pounce on the next installment of Walker Boh's fablulously dangerous journey, all for the sake of the preservation of MAGIC!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    Fortunate to read an advance copy of Antrax

    This is intended to be a 'spoiler-free' review of 'Antrax.' I was fortunate to get my hands on a bound galley version prior to general publication. Brooks' writing has gotten tighter over time, and it shows in Antrax. Where 'Ilse Witch' spent lengthy chapters describing how the 'Four Lands' had changed, Antrax stays focused on character conflict. Certain characters, Truls, Ryer, Grianne and Tamis, are given interesting backstories which explain their actions and increase their appeal. Also interesting was the increased gruesomeness of Brooks' depictions of violence. In his early work, characters rarely were injured or hurt. When Brooks killed a character, he died a 'heroic' death, struggling through the pain to the end. In Antrax, blood and guts are spilt often. Body parts are blown off. Characters are torn in to quivering chunks. Main characters drop like flies. I felt that the depiction of violence made Antrax the least Tolkien -esque of the Shanarra novels. A good think, in my opinion. I was also impressed by Brooks' introduction of science-fiction into what was ,up to this point, a pure sword-and-sorcery world. This could easily have been flubbed, with elves and dwarves walking around agape at laser cannons and computer screen. But Brooks pulls it off well, making the technology seem eminently reasonable with an expanded backstory of Antrax and the Shanarra world. Some may accuse Brooks of cliché in criticizing Antrax¿s cliffhanger. A character dies. A legacy is passed on. A secret is revealed. But despite the ending¿s sense of been-there, done-that, I honestly finished the book not having any clue as to how the trilogy would end. There were so many directions the story could go. Would this character return to the Four Lands and seek vengeance? Would that character repent his/her wicked ways? How would the discoveries at Castledown change the course of events back home? No clue. So, the book worked well for me, and I look forward to the final installment¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    Great

    It was pretty good. (or at least the excerpt was).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2