Customer Reviews for

Anxious Hearts

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Great Read!

    I read this four years ago and could never forget it. A great read and an absolute must have on your bookshelf! 5 stars plus so many more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    ?..

    I like the book troy high!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Sounds good

    I wanna get it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Samantha Clanton aka Harlequin Twilight for TeensReadToo

    Gold Star Award Winner! There's always going to be those stories that capture your heart. Whether it's something that is heartbreaking and sticks with you, or something that is so pure and enticing that your heart envelops it; one way or another your heart becomes involved with the words and the characters inside. ANXIOUS HEARTS by Tucker Shaw is not only one of those stories, it's the latter of the two. It's the one that runs through your mind over and over again; it's the one that's so pure that you become one with the story. In 1847, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow published a poem, "Evangeline," that has now become one of his most notable works, and also one of the most commonly taught poems in English classes. This beautiful poem inspired Tucker Shaw to write ANXIOUS HEARTS, and for that I must thank Mr. Longfellow (Yes, I am going to thank a man who's been dead for somewhere around, oh, 125+ years). ANXIOUS HEARTS begins the story of Eva and Gabe, two teenagers who lost touch in each other's lives, only to pick back up years later as they explore the forests surrounding their seaside town. They follow the same paths, and are exploring the same tranquil forests, as Evangeline and Gabriel, two young lovers who did the same over one hundred years before them. On the day of Evangeline and Gabriel's wedding, their village was attacked by enemies and they were separated from one another. In the present, Gabe suddenly disappears from Eva and it seems as if their love will mirror that of the two lovers torn apart on their wedding day. The first couple of chapters threw me for a loop. I'm used to alternate points of view, but I don't think I've ever read anything that is not only alternate voices, but also alternate time periods. Eva and Gabe's story is told by Eva, while Gabriel and Evangeline's tale is told by Gabriel, some hundred years earlier. It only took a few chapters in for me to not only get used to the change, but to also welcome the bits of each tale I got. The imagery in ANXIOUS HEARTS is something I've not seen in a long time, not since AP English in high school. It's got the air of one of those old stories your teacher forces you to read, then you're thankful in the end. It's pure, beautiful, and vivid in the words that flow across the page. The beauty in Longfellow's tale weaves into Shaw's and the characters, both new and old, come alive on the page and leap into your mind. I found it really hard to find the words to describe ANXIOUS HEARTS. There were moments that made me laugh and smile, then there were the ones that made my jaw drop and stay hanging open in fear and pain for the characters that had woven themselves into my heart in fewer than 300 pages. Eva, Gabe, Evangeline, and Gabriel all found their own place in my heart, and I found myself understanding them in different ways and wanting the best for them. If you've never read "Evangeline" then I advise you not to read it until after you've read ANXIOUS HEARTS. It's been years since I've read it, but once I started reading the story of these lovers those years faded away and the story was there again. The story behind Shaw's words is just as important as the words themselves. This book is beautiful and lyrical; it flows with a fluid grace that enamors and captures the soul, all in the same page. Read the full review on the TRT website...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Anxious Hearts

    Anxious Hearts is the story of four people--Eva and Gabe in the present, and Evangeline and Gabriel in the past.
    The book is told in alternating views. Eva's voice in the present tense and Gabriel's in the past.
    On the day of their marriage, Gabriel and Evangeline are separated, newly weds who were wed only moments before losing each other.
    Throughout the story, readers read the tale of Gabriel's journey to finding his beloved Evangeline once again, while Eva ventures herself in the "real world" trying to find her Gabe.
    This book was intense. Normally, I dislike books that have alternating views, but Tucker Shaw made both points interesting. I was as entranced by Eva's tale as I was Gabriel's. This book doesn't disappoint!
    It kept me guessing-will Gabriel find Evangeline? Will Eva find Gabe?-until I closed the book after the last page.
    Will these four lovers be reconnected? You'll have to read Anxious Hearts to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Anxious Hearts :)

    I am always on the look for a good love story. One with depth, feeling, real emotion, something believable. This definitely quenched my heart's thirst in that regard. The imagery was beautiful, detailed descriptions of the golden forests in which half the story takes place. I loved, loved, loved it and I'm going to reread it as soon as possible and then when I get some money I'm going to buy it and I really think it should be made into a movie!!! So happy that I found this book....I would recommend this to anyone and everyone....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    This book had a really poetic feel. It switches narratives between Eva in today's world and Gabriel in the past. I actually liked Gabriel's story more than Eva's. It was more intense. The romance between Gabriel and Evangeline made sense. And I understood his devotion to finding her. It was heartfelt, romantic, and sad. Eva's story felt a little forced. I didn't understand her and Gabe as much. The explanation for Eva's obsession with finding him didn't seem as real. Plus, Gabe didn't seem to be worth her effort. I wasn't sure if he really returned her affections. I felt sorry for his circumstances, but it didn't really sit well with me. It was a fast read, but a story that would be easily forgotten. I did really like the way the book was set up (strange but the presentation was great). Gabriel's parts have darker pages, giving them a different feel. Eva's story has these pretty little designs on the pages. I hope the keep that format in the finished copy. I would recommend this to those who like dual narratives (past and present), historical fiction that is fast paced, and those who love the teen love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1