Customer Reviews for

Any Bitter Thing

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Til the bitter beginnings

    Wonderfully written epiphany as a woman learns the bitter and better truths of her haunted past. The debth of the story and character devopment is riveting and kept me longing for a satisfying conclusion for all. The author delivers by weaving the time lines and multiple plot undercurrents seamlessly. Can't wait for book club to dicuss this great read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Wonderful

    The author, Monica Woods, can write! Very refreshing style, I loved it. Characters were developed well and we learn more about each one as the book flows on. It was thought provoking and stimulated a conversation with a friend who had read it. It has been a while since I read it but it lingers on--highly recommended

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful

    I read this book because someone selected it as our next book club read and I have to say that I was not looking forward to reading anything about child molestation. However, I am so glad that I read it! Once I started I couldn't put it down and I read it in one day. It is not at all what I anticipated and Monica Wood writes with such stunning and thought provoking imagery that there were several paragraphs that I slowed down and re-read savoring the words like poetry. The plot was completely unexpected and flowed smoothly from one shocking revelation to the next. I highly recommend this book and I will be looking into reading anything else written by this talented author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    Caught in the details

    I got completely wrapped up in this book with the detailed way that Mainards describe something but still keep the story moving. The second half of the book really picks up the pace with a few surprises.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    Beautiful and universal truths

    I loved this beautiful, thought provoking, heart-centered story of people at their best, in their deepest needs, and at their worst. Belonging and redemption are at the heart of this beautifully written story. I believe others of all faiths in a 'God' of their own particular belief system will see a universality about the people in this story, and their struggles to live within the bounds of their 'institutional' beliefs, and their own personal needs and failings. 'God' being a God who cares/loves but does not necessarily respond at our 'beck and call' to save all our struggles as we might want Him to do. The struggle to belong, be seen, be heard, and be loved for ourselves is handled with great care by Monica Woods in a surprisingly absorbing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    Her best book yet...

    I received this book in the mail one saturday morning, brewed a pot of coffee and devoured both on my front porch, not coming up for air until I'd finished late that evening. Impossible to put down - not only do you fall completely for the characters, but you cannot help but question your own tendencies to believe what you want to believe rather than the truth. A remarkable book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2005

    A beautiful book.

    Last year,my daughter gave me Monica Wood's book 'Ernie's Ark' . I loved it so much, that I presented eight copies of it to my book group. They all agreed. After reading it,I knew I had to read everything Ms. Wood wrote. 'Any Bitter Thing' surpassed my expections. I adored this book. She writes with such a passion for her characters. Please don't make this into a movie, the beauty of your words will get lost.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Great summer read

    This is my first book by this author. The book caught my attention right away and held it to the end. I cared about the characters and loved the imagery, the authors use of language, and the story line. In short, I really loved this book and could not put it down! I will definately be looking for more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Beautifully wordcafted

    Of human relationships, vows, sin and atonement, this author delivers a powerful story, each word deliciously crafted like fine chocolate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Loved it

    Started out a little confusing while I got used to the chaging POV. But quicly captivated me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Excellant Book!!!

    I could not put this book down. Characters so real I felt like I knew their history as I know my own. Even thought the story centers around a young woman, the real story to me was about a truly good man who selflessly loved the women in his life as he loved his God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    Wonderful

    This is the most heartwarming book I have read in a very long time. I couldn't put it down. Neither could my friends that read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1