Customer Reviews for

Any Given Doomsday (Phoenix Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Compelling story but annoying heroine

Elizabeth Phoenix has always wanted to be normal but she's never fit in anywhere. She never knew her parents and was a street urchin until she was taken in by her foster mother, Ruthie. And, oh yeah, she's a psychic. She's working as a bartender when she's compelled to ...
Elizabeth Phoenix has always wanted to be normal but she's never fit in anywhere. She never knew her parents and was a street urchin until she was taken in by her foster mother, Ruthie. And, oh yeah, she's a psychic. She's working as a bartender when she's compelled to leave in the middle of her shift to go to her foster mother. She finds Ruthie lying in a pool of blood barely clinging to life. Ruthie lives just long enough to tell her it's up to her, the final battle has begun. Elizabeth finds she's now the leader of a band of seers and demon killers at the dawn of the Apocalypse. The book leaves the reader anxious for the next installment in spite of a whiny heroine who just wants to be 'normal.' Her whining goes on for far too long considering she clearly doesn't have a choice. The bad guys have been trying to kill her ever since tneir successful attack on Ruthie! She seems to have adjusted by the end of the book and hopefully her character will continue to mature.

posted by Anonymous on August 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Any Given Doomsday -- Not what it's cracked up to be

I received this book as an early reviewer. I wanted to like it but after the first two chapters I wanted to throw it away. If you like fantasy, vampires or any other creatures of this genre then I cannot recommend this book. I won't spend any time writing a synopsis ...
I received this book as an early reviewer. I wanted to like it but after the first two chapters I wanted to throw it away. If you like fantasy, vampires or any other creatures of this genre then I cannot recommend this book. I won't spend any time writing a synopsis as others have already done a fabulous job. I will say the book was shallow and juvenile (but certainly NOT suited for teen reading). Full of soap opera scripted language that was tiring to read. The sex/rape scenes were long and cheapened the plot. The parade of vacuous characters became almost pitiful. You could have deleted 3/4ths of the book and not missed a thing.

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    supernatural

    A dark and erotic supernatural thriller. A psychic ex-cop turned bartender finds herself thrust into a dark world of un-humans in the midst of the biblical war between good and evil. Dream, magic and legend are the strands that weave this tale. Faced with losing a beloved friend, and dealing with an ex-lover that is full of surprising secrets, Elizabeth Phoenix is forced to find her way through a world she never would have believed existed. A steamy, action packed romp through an alternate reality. For fans of the supernatural, it is well worth the time. I look forward to the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    Any Given Doomsday -- Not what it's cracked up to be

    I received this book as an early reviewer. I wanted to like it but after the first two chapters I wanted to throw it away. If you like fantasy, vampires or any other creatures of this genre then I cannot recommend this book. I won't spend any time writing a synopsis as others have already done a fabulous job. I will say the book was shallow and juvenile (but certainly NOT suited for teen reading). Full of soap opera scripted language that was tiring to read. The sex/rape scenes were long and cheapened the plot. The parade of vacuous characters became almost pitiful. You could have deleted 3/4ths of the book and not missed a thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Compelling story but annoying heroine

    Elizabeth Phoenix has always wanted to be normal but she's never fit in anywhere. She never knew her parents and was a street urchin until she was taken in by her foster mother, Ruthie. And, oh yeah, she's a psychic. She's working as a bartender when she's compelled to leave in the middle of her shift to go to her foster mother. She finds Ruthie lying in a pool of blood barely clinging to life. Ruthie lives just long enough to tell her it's up to her, the final battle has begun. Elizabeth finds she's now the leader of a band of seers and demon killers at the dawn of the Apocalypse. The book leaves the reader anxious for the next installment in spite of a whiny heroine who just wants to be 'normal.' Her whining goes on for far too long considering she clearly doesn't have a choice. The bad guys have been trying to kill her ever since tneir successful attack on Ruthie! She seems to have adjusted by the end of the book and hopefully her character will continue to mature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    This is the start of a promising new good versus evil series. Th

    This is the start of a promising new good versus evil series. The tale is well written with realistic and mostly likeable characters. The good versus evil war is within each person as well as a literal good guys versus bad guys war. Ultimately, love will win. At least that is Ruthie's promise at the conclusion of the first episode. I look forward to Liz's and the Federation's future battles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Great series

    First bok in a fab series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it but not if you have a weak stomach!

    Review by Jen:
    This is the first book in Lori Handeland's new series, The Phoenix Chronicles. These books follow Liz as she comes to terms with her new life, exploring her new powers, and saving the human world from destruction. Book two is scheduled for release in mid 2009.

    I won this book in an ARC (Advanced Reading Copy) drawing on Library Thing. It was my first full length Lori Handeland novel. I wasn't entirely sure what to expect. The publishers aren't marketing the book as romance, where in the past her books were. I always get a little nervous when an author deviates from the genre he/she gained their fan base. But I think there's enough "romance" --perhaps not in the traditional sense, seeing as there isn't a happily ever after -- to keep fans happy.

    I like this world Lori created. She pulled paranormal creatures from a variety of cultures to spin a unique world. And the character of Liz is unlike any I'd read before. She's thrown into this bizarre world, has this totally unique role and is so unsure of herself, stumbling through her new role in life, yet she deals with it with sarcasm and trial and error. I think it was the sarcasm that won me over. A word of warning though. If you have a weak stomach when it comes to blood and gore, you're forewarned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    New urban fantasy

    Fast,easy read. Interesting characters and plot. Graphic sex is used as a major plot mover. Some of the minor characters and background plot were underdeveloped. It seemed to be quickly plotted and I wished I knew more about Phoenix and her world. But all in all I am looking forward to the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Solid, original paranormal story

    This was a good start to what will hopefully be an exciting and original new series. There are a lot of urban fantasy series out there right now, but Handeland manages to put a new spin on the conventions of the genre. The characters are the strongest part of this book--both the main and supporting characters are original, complex and carefully drawn. The world-building is very well done and the premise is intriguing and has a lot of potential for sequels, while at the same time pointing to a series arc that should have a definite end point. The weakness is the plotting; while the story is exciting and moves along at a good pace, if often requires the characters to accept extraordinary circumstances far too quickly and the pacing often feels off. Also, a warning: Handeland is probably best known for romance, but while there are the usual romantic entanglements and trysts with supernatural men founds in these types of novels, anyone looking for a happy romantic ending will be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Yippee--a new series by Handeland

    I love the way Handeland always seems to come up with unusual supernatural issues to write about and doesn't just focus on the stereotypical myths.
    I am always fascinated with her twists and turns.
    I dislike books that don't quite end expecting you to wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mixed bag of nuts

    I¿m not really sure how I feel about this book. I found it extremely entertaining, never once did I get bored with it but towards the end it started to get a bit cheesy. Lizzy Phoenix is an ex-cop who has the survival of the human race on her shoulders. She is a seer who has been gifted w/ empathic abilities. Her foster mom sacrificed herself so Lizzy could inherit her powers and become even more powerful. Lizzy is forced to deal w/ new revelations about the paranormal while simultaneously juggling fighting the Nephilim and also the man that stole her heart. This book does have quite a bit of action, lots of sex (not all of it was necessary) and lots of mythical, as well as mystical creatures. I don¿t know why authors seem to follow the same format of having the protagonist not know about the paranormal community, but they have special powers that they aren¿t really sure what to do w/, something happens to them and now they believe¿¿anyway despite these issues I am still looking forward to reading book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Readable urban fantasy

    I enjoyed this book. It's not great literature, but it is a fun paranormal romp. I thought the world building was interesting. The magic is similar to other stories (let's face it, there are only so many ways to describe demons and shapeshifters and the like) but Handeland came up with enough twists to keep things entertaining. I'm looking forward to her next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Any Given Doomsday

    Elizabeth Phoenix knows she is psychic. It's one of the reasons she lost her job as a police officer. However there is much Elizabeth does not know, which she only starts to suspect when she rushes to the home of her foster mother, only to find the woman who raised her bleeding and dying on the floor. Everything in Elizabeth's life is about to change. When a werewolf pays her a threatening visit one night, she begins to realize just how much it's going to change. Now Elizabeth Phoenix is human-kind's best chance at survival and all she needs to do is find out how to use her powers to save the world and the man she loves.<BR/><BR/>This paranormal romance starts off solidly, easily keeping the reader's interest with a plot that reads more like an urban fantasy than a romance - except of course for the cookie-cutter tough-chick protagonist and hottie bad-boy love interest. Even the first love scene plays nicely into the supernatural atmosphere and seems an integral part of the story. However, once the author reveals that our heroine needs to "sleep" her way into her powers, the plot swiftly turns into nothing more than a flimsy vehicle to just make sure our protagonist ends up in a lot of beds through the course of the series. Taken as a whole this was just an OK read for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A disappointing romance

    Any Given Doomsday, for better or worse is best summed up as what the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton would be if all supernatural creatures (almost) were actually the spawn of fallen angels, left on Earth to challenge (aka slaughter) humankind.<BR/><BR/>The set up demands that readers accept the absolute existence of God and the Christian mythos, whereas most urban fantasies ask a reader to believe in the creature, but leave religion out of the picture. This can potentially bring Christian readers into urban fantasy, if they can get past the sex.<BR/><BR/>And the sex... is non-consenting. Definitely an aspect that will turn off many readers Elizabeth, the heroine, is drugged, and raped graphically multiple times within the book. This is completely forgivable (in the context of the story) because sex is vital to Elizabeth's powers. While I normally avoid giving such blatant spoilers these I found particularly troubling.<BR/> <BR/>The story itself starts when Elizabeth Phoenix finds her foster mother dying on floor of her home, attacked by something Elizabeth can't explain. With a few cryptic words and a dark vision Ruthie passes something on to Elizabeth that lands Elizabeth in a coma. When she wakes up Elizabeth learns from her ex-coworkers, the Milwaukee PD, that her foster brother and ex-lover Jimmy is their number one suspect. Jimmy himself breaks the news that Ruthie passed her powers to Elizabeth, which makes Elizabeth obligated--for her own safety--to hunt down Ruthie's killers. And Elizabeth isn't just a seer, she's THE prophesied seer, meant to be the most powerful one, a seer and a demon killer and the person who is supposed to lead the side of good in the war against the evil Nephalim.<BR/><BR/>Elizabeth's complete lack of knowledge about the supernatural world does not set the story up in a good frame. Instead of being introduced to the rules of the magical world slowly it leads to the reader, like Elizabeth, to have no clue what's going on, but being pressured to accept tension, and to see Elizabeth attacked with no real idea of how these things are important. The pacing is slow, the revelations convenient and Elizabeth herself is a much quieter, less dynamic urban fantasy character.<BR/> <BR/>The pace is unsure, more than once a fact is hidden from the reader for effect, though the story is told in first person and Elizabeth herself already knows of it. Readers are never given a solid idea of the "rules" of magic and the paranormal because they seem cherry picked for effect rather than for character building. While all Nephalim are absolutely evil both men presented as love interests have Nephalim blood and Elizabeth herself may have (after all, she has everything else that might make her powerful, other than strength of personality).<BR/><BR/>Any Given Doomsday has action, but feels slow despite it, reluctant to participate in or commit itself to its own story. The similarities to other series and the Biblical/Apocalyptic set up could bring in a fan base, but many will find this book vapid and unsatisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    1st in series and can't wait for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally : A Paranormal That Leaves The Whine Out

    Lori opens the new Series "The Phoenix Chronicles" by introducing us to Elizabeth Phoenix; ex-Milwaukee cop, psychic and as we soon find out so, so much more. Elizabeth is very much like you and me, ( paraphrased from back cover) "she's lost her partner, job, a man - but she keeps going on." And that say just about everything that you'll need to know about this book. "She keeps going on." <BR/>We soon find out that the end of the world as we know it is soon coming; and through a variety of things that happen to Elizabeth, she will be the only one to stop it. Lori has set up this world wonderfully, her characters are vividly drawn and perfect, you either sympathize with them, love them , dislike them, or even hate them...Lori knew what she was doing when she wrote them.<BR/><BR/>A fast paced read, filled with many questions. But unlike some authors, Lori actually take the time to give us enough answers that we never feel frustrated or cheated and leaves just enough unanswered questions to keep us wanting more. Though the characters could certainly bemoan the hand that fate has dealt them, they don't. This makes for a very refreshing read, and may I also mention that Elizabeth is reminiscent to Jessie McQuade, the female lead from "Blue Moon". She's tough, sharp, wise cracking, and funny as hell.<BR/><BR/>Ms Handeland makes a point of mentioning Laurell K Hamilton and wanting to write urban fantasy. Well I'm here to tell you that Lori has outdone herself, let me explain: When Liz gained a new power from sex magic (yes that's how she gains new powers), she does get a bit upset with the new status quo. She had never wanted any power to start with and had hoped there was a way to get rid of it...(sound familiar to you yet? Does Ms Hamilton's character Richard come to mind?) but this from her mentor/sex magic partner Sawyer, brought it into context for her - "Did it occur to you that if you don't follow your destiny, if you become the normal woman you think you wish to be, the world you wish to be normal in will no longer exist?" And with this one simple deep thought and phrase Liz accepts who and what she is. I wish Ms Hamilton would take a page from Ms Handleland and realize that her characters need to learn this lesson.<BR/><BR/>I encourage you to read this first book in this new and exciting series. I know I will be waiting with bated breath for the next installment "Doomsday Can Wait", to be released in May of 2009.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    vampires, werewolves, shape-shifters....

    Any Given Doomsday is a fun book. It was very humorous and overall enjoyable to read. In it vampires, werewolves, shape-shifters and even fairies live among humans. Some of the plot points are a little thin and I found myself rolling my eyes at some especially corny parts but it's all in good fun. If you don't take the story too seriously and are good at suspending your disbelief then this is an entertaining read. I really liked Elizabeth, the heroine, and her sarcastic and biting temperament. This page-turner is the first in a series of novels with number two coming out next spring. I'll definitely be picking that one up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    A Quick Favorite

    I was lucky enough to recive this book as an ARC and just finished reading it. Although i have never heard of Lori Handeland before i opted to give the book a try. I was not disappointed. Lori Handeland has created a world so vivid and imaginative that you won't want to put this exquiste book down! She not only has the talent and skills to match Laurell K Hamilton but her story leaves you wanting more right away. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys Laurell K Hamilton. I can't wait for the second installment in what is sure to be a quick favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    A great urban fantasy.

    Former policewoman Elizabeth Phoenix once used her unique skills as a psychic to help fight injustice. But when her partner was killed Liz¿s guilt forced her to leave the police department and work as a bartender. While working one afternoon Liz heard a voice shout ¿Leave¿ and followed the inner feeling to rush to her foster mother¿s home. Liz finds Ruthie viciously murdered gets knocked unconscious at the scene. When Liz wakes up her whole existence is turned upside down. Ruthie has passed on a gift and Liz has now become a powerful seer. Teaming up with her a former lover who once betrayed her is Liz¿s only option to learn the truth about Ruthie¿s killer. Jimmy opens Liz¿s eyes to a supernatural war that has raged since the dawn of time in which innocent people are hunted by evil beings disguised as humans. But Jimmy has a secret that will rock Liz to her core and put the survival of the human race in peril. I¿m very new to the urban fantasy genre and I¿ve read other reviews of this book that knocked it down a lot but I loved this book. I can agree with more than one reviewer on the one aspect that takes my rating from a 5 to a 4. There are too many ¿evil beings¿ in the book. If Handeland would have kept it to 2-3 different types of beings I feel the book would have benefitted more. Other than that I loved the writing and the interaction of Liz and the two other main characters. The storyline was a lot different than I guessed it would be from the synopsis, prequel short story and the opening chapters. I recommend this book to both long-time urban fantasy fans and newbies like me. I¿m looking forward to book 2 in the series, Doomsday Can Wait due out May 2009.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2