Customer Reviews for

Any Man of Mine

Average Rating 4
( 417 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(144)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Another Seattle Chinooks Book-It's a winner!

Autumn Haven is the wedding planner for Faith Duffy and Ty Savage (from "True Love and Other Disasters")trying to avoid Sam LeClaire. She was married to Sam years before in Las Vegas until the day after the wedding night when he took off without a word. To add insult to...
Autumn Haven is the wedding planner for Faith Duffy and Ty Savage (from "True Love and Other Disasters")trying to avoid Sam LeClaire. She was married to Sam years before in Las Vegas until the day after the wedding night when he took off without a word. To add insult to injury, she became pregnant. Sam has been an intermittent father at best so Autumn doesn't have him on her like list. After they meet again at the wedding, Sam has a little maturity spurt and he puts little effort into his relationship with his son. In the process, he and Autumn rekindle the spark that led to the impulsive wedding in Vegas. Sounds perfect! Not so fast- Autumn has just about gotten the tread marks off her heart where he drove over it and she isn't sure she is ready for a second heartbreak nor does she want to expose her son. Sam will have to go through some major hoops, Autumn will need to become more secure in her feelings, and her anti-Sam brother Vince (an ex-SEAL) will need to do a total turn around.

Loved the book! I'm not a hockey fan but I have read all of the books in this series since the first one-"Simply Irresistible". It was great to see lots of the characters from earlier books. Hopefully this is not the last we will see of the Chinooks!!

posted by SharonRedfern on February 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not her best

Sam's ex-wife, Autumn Haven, is the wedding planner of a wedding he is attending which takes him by surprise since they haven't seen each other in over two years. They share a five year old son, Connor, and to spare him the baby mama drama of which they have a great dea...
Sam's ex-wife, Autumn Haven, is the wedding planner of a wedding he is attending which takes him by surprise since they haven't seen each other in over two years. They share a five year old son, Connor, and to spare him the baby mama drama of which they have a great deal, they agree to pass him back and forth through Sam's assistant.

To have a good romance one must have believable conflict. Autumn and Sam have believable conflict in spades. Sam is quite possibly one of the most unlikeable Heros in any romance I have ever read. The couple got married in Vegas after knowing each other for five days. Autumn has fallen head over heals for the hottie hockey player but after their drunken Elvis impersonator wedding and unfortunate name tattoos (tattoo shops really should have Breathalyzers) he splits in the morning without a word and starts divorce proceedings. When she tells him she is pregnant, through his lawyer since he won't give her his cell number, he demands a paternity test before he will take any responsibility or even see the baby. Yeah, he's a real winner and only goes downhill from there. He likes his hockey rough, his women brainless, big boobed and undemanding, and to see his son only when it is convenient which isn't very often. He supports Connor financially but sees him rarely often canceling on him at the last minute. So it is no mystery why Sam is not Autumn's favorite person. He wasn't mine either.

If one is going The Reformed Rake route the reformation must be believable and credible. Did Sam get there? Maybe. In the beginning he has the maturity and self-awareness of a three year old. Gibson gives him a painful back story to try give us a reason for his bad behavior and soften his toolishness but for his amount of narcissism and selfishness it falls a bit short. He finally decides that maybe Autumn is right and he has been a pretty uninvolved father and his son is getting old enough to notice. He decides that he will change his ways and spend more time with Connor and thus spend more time with Autumn. As his priorities change so do his feelings about Autumn.

I really liked Autumn. She was strong and capable and very protective of her son. She had to be. She always tried to keep the drama of his parent's relationship away from Connor after a particularly bad fight that he witnessed when he was three. What I didn't understand was why she would go down the relationship road with Sam again. He didn't have to do too much to earn a second chance either when this is one Hero who should have been put through a wringer twice to get his second chance. That is why I'm not sure if he is completely reformed. He didn't have to work very hard for it. I might trust him again after two years but not two months. This is one book where I thought that if he became a good father and lived his life in a more responsible manner and Autumn found a different man who was worthy of becoming part of Autumn and Connor's family, I would have considered it a happy ending.

posted by KristinTX on July 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 420 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Seattle Chinooks Book-It's a winner!

    Autumn Haven is the wedding planner for Faith Duffy and Ty Savage (from "True Love and Other Disasters")trying to avoid Sam LeClaire. She was married to Sam years before in Las Vegas until the day after the wedding night when he took off without a word. To add insult to injury, she became pregnant. Sam has been an intermittent father at best so Autumn doesn't have him on her like list. After they meet again at the wedding, Sam has a little maturity spurt and he puts little effort into his relationship with his son. In the process, he and Autumn rekindle the spark that led to the impulsive wedding in Vegas. Sounds perfect! Not so fast- Autumn has just about gotten the tread marks off her heart where he drove over it and she isn't sure she is ready for a second heartbreak nor does she want to expose her son. Sam will have to go through some major hoops, Autumn will need to become more secure in her feelings, and her anti-Sam brother Vince (an ex-SEAL) will need to do a total turn around.

    Loved the book! I'm not a hockey fan but I have read all of the books in this series since the first one-"Simply Irresistible". It was great to see lots of the characters from earlier books. Hopefully this is not the last we will see of the Chinooks!!

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Any Man of Mine: Will Love Me Unconditionally Baggage and All Right?

    Autumn Haven is a successful wedding planner leading a structured, ordered life and doing just fine raising her son without her son's father Sam LeClaire in her life. He tends to waltz in and out whenever he feels like it, leaving her emotionally exhausted, and trying to explain the missed visits to her son when Sam doesn't show up. Autumn sees Sam LeClaire living his life like he plays the game of hockey for the Stanley Cup winning Seattle Chinooks - fast, loose and completely on his own terms.

    They met in Las Vegas by chance and Sam is the only time Autumn left her list behind and went with her heart - a huge mistake she will never repeat. Autumn found herself after meeting Sam married to him, divorced from him and pregnant with his son as a result of their encounter. Autumn adores her son and has her brother to help keep her grounded but now that Sam appears to have had a moment of Zen and wants more involvement in his son's life after 5 years with an objective to not be the man his father was will Autumn believe everything he is saying and let go of the grief he created from that time in Las Vegas? There may be physical hockey injuries for Sam but the emotional scars are still haunting Autumn all these years later and she is having trouble letting it go.

    Autumn may run hot and cold but Sam like a furnace is and always turned on and fired up for great time. Their adventures together make them appear to be a family but is that the truth or just a myth that Autumn is making up for herself only to let the big hurt happen again?

    When Rachel Gibson writes a book the reader s before it even arrives at my door that you are going to love it. Ms. Gibson blends the reality of life with the romance in our hearts together and always makes you take a deep sigh of satisfaction when you are done with her book. Autumn and Sam are great characters in that they are shown as imperfect, holding on to some childhood pain and learning to trust one another after a less than perfect start to their relationship. Rachel Gibson takes you on a great ride and when it comes to and end the reader must decide if the couple's flame is there forever or will it fizzle out after the heat of passion is exhausted?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

    I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Not her best

    Sam's ex-wife, Autumn Haven, is the wedding planner of a wedding he is attending which takes him by surprise since they haven't seen each other in over two years. They share a five year old son, Connor, and to spare him the baby mama drama of which they have a great deal, they agree to pass him back and forth through Sam's assistant.

    To have a good romance one must have believable conflict. Autumn and Sam have believable conflict in spades. Sam is quite possibly one of the most unlikeable Heros in any romance I have ever read. The couple got married in Vegas after knowing each other for five days. Autumn has fallen head over heals for the hottie hockey player but after their drunken Elvis impersonator wedding and unfortunate name tattoos (tattoo shops really should have Breathalyzers) he splits in the morning without a word and starts divorce proceedings. When she tells him she is pregnant, through his lawyer since he won't give her his cell number, he demands a paternity test before he will take any responsibility or even see the baby. Yeah, he's a real winner and only goes downhill from there. He likes his hockey rough, his women brainless, big boobed and undemanding, and to see his son only when it is convenient which isn't very often. He supports Connor financially but sees him rarely often canceling on him at the last minute. So it is no mystery why Sam is not Autumn's favorite person. He wasn't mine either.

    If one is going The Reformed Rake route the reformation must be believable and credible. Did Sam get there? Maybe. In the beginning he has the maturity and self-awareness of a three year old. Gibson gives him a painful back story to try give us a reason for his bad behavior and soften his toolishness but for his amount of narcissism and selfishness it falls a bit short. He finally decides that maybe Autumn is right and he has been a pretty uninvolved father and his son is getting old enough to notice. He decides that he will change his ways and spend more time with Connor and thus spend more time with Autumn. As his priorities change so do his feelings about Autumn.

    I really liked Autumn. She was strong and capable and very protective of her son. She had to be. She always tried to keep the drama of his parent's relationship away from Connor after a particularly bad fight that he witnessed when he was three. What I didn't understand was why she would go down the relationship road with Sam again. He didn't have to do too much to earn a second chance either when this is one Hero who should have been put through a wringer twice to get his second chance. That is why I'm not sure if he is completely reformed. He didn't have to work very hard for it. I might trust him again after two years but not two months. This is one book where I thought that if he became a good father and lived his life in a more responsible manner and Autumn found a different man who was worthy of becoming part of Autumn and Connor's family, I would have considered it a happy ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Left wanting more...

    While I found this book enjoyable, I was left wanting....more. There wasn't any real drama. There was more of a yo-yo affect going on. I liked the characters more or less, but I just felt that if there was chemistry there wasn't a lot of it. It was great to see some of the past characters, Mini Pit and Pit Boss also plan a wedding during this book. Getting to visit with Faith and Ty was enjoyable but Autumn and Sam....just felt rushed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Great Summer Romance

    I loved this book!! This is one of my favorite Rachel Gibson's books the best of the Seattle Chinooks series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Not her best. Predictable, dull in spots, and neither the hero n

    Not her best. Predictable, dull in spots, and neither the hero nor the heroine are all that likable. The transformations don't seem believable for either of the characters, either -- it read as if the scenes were all written out of order and then stitched together, so that the character development isn't smooth or understandable, but rather they jerk back and forth between complete tool and great guy (or awesome chick and stubborn witch). The rest of the series is better. The wasn't worth the money, IMO.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    great for a romantic

    love the mix of sports and love

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Short... but not so sweet

    I am a huge Rachel Gibson fan. Sadly, this was the first time that i was disapointed with her work. The plot in this book was oddly similar to one of her previous books ( girl hooks up with hot hockey player, gets pregnant, raises the child alone, then reconciles with the baby daddy and lives happily ever after). Also, this book was way too short. It was still worth reading, but more plot development would have been nice. Dont get me wrong, its not a bad book. It just doesnt live up to the excellent reputation that Gibson has created for herself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging second hockey romance

    Six years ago, hockey star Sam LeClaire woke up the morning after a painful loss to learn he married Autumn Haven. He does not stick around skating away from the woman. However, she gives birth to his son Connor, but he remains distant from both though he provides financial support.

    Sam attends the marriage between his Seattle Chinook's team captain Ty Savage and Faith Duffy (see True Love and Other Disasters). The Haven Event Management owner and wedding planner, Autumn avoids the father of her son as in her mind he belongs permanently in the penalty box for a life misconduct. When they meet, a wiser Sam spends time with his son and wants a second chance with Autumn. However, he drove a Zamboni over her heart so she refuses to free him from the penalty box.

    This is an engaging second hockey romance in which readers will enjoy seeing the first stars of previous Chinook tales (see Nothing but Troubles) attending the wedding. The story line is faster than speed skater Bonnie Blair even with hip-checks sending the lead couple to the boards. While her angry former SEAL sibling wants to rip out Sam's guts, fans will root for Autumn who distrusts her feelings for a man who skated away from her and Connor. Sam knows he has his work cut out even more than he ever had in his sixteen year career to send this game into overtime.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    I really enjoyed the last novel in The Chinooks Hockey Team Seri

    I really enjoyed the last novel in The Chinooks Hockey Team Series. Loved the story & the charters. I was not a fan of hockey nor had I
    ever been to a game when I started reading the first book in the series. But, since then I have been to a couple games & I LOVE
    HOCKEY! No, you don not have ever seen a game or no nothing about it to enjoy he books at all. But, it doesn't hurt!

    I gave this one 4 stars.
    It felt like a different read from her previous ones in the series. Not, in a bad way. It read smoother… more
    evolved? Not a bad ending to it all...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Great story

    Great book in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    great series, love it

    love this hockey series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Great weekend book

    This is one or those romantic sappy books you just love to read. The story doesn't stretch till it gets boring. It's a great book overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Another great book from Rachel Gibson!

    Another great book from Rachel Gibson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book.

    Really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Great book!

    This was the very first book i read of hers, and i am now hooked on her books! This is a great read. Great story line and i fell in love w the characters!<3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Great Read

    This is one if my favorites. Great story and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Worth it

    Loved this book ! Read it over then weekend, at only 180ish pages its a fast read but very enjoyable. I highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    So good!

    I loved this book! It's an easy read and a fantastic one. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 420 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21