Customer Reviews for

Any Way the Wind Blows

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2007

    LOVE THE DRAMA!!

    This is the first book that I have read of his and I loved it! this is a real page turner and all the drama and excitement made me really get into it, I love how he talks about real issues and current issues. I have bacame I fan of his because of this book. Its just too bad basil does not know what he wants :-) great job and will continue to read more of his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    This book was really good!

    I really liked this book as being the sequil to abide with me. I really think in the end of this Ms.Yancey got what she really deserved, and i think thats what she should have been all along.Alone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2003

    Very good book!!!!!

    THIS WAS ALSO A VERY GOOD BOOK. I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. I READ THIS BEFORE I READ THE FIRST PART(NOT A DAY GOES BY), BECAUSE THAT WAS AT THE TIME WHEN I DIDN'T EVEN KNOW THAT NOT A DAY GOES BY WAS THE FIRST PART OF THIS BOOK. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    UMMM, JUST OK

    i was not very intrigued by this one. this is my first novel by him, and this just didnt do it for me. the plot was not well developed, a bit unrealistic, and the end was a let down. the plot didnt reach a full peak. dont know if i want the read the next one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The novel is an easy read and a great book for any of Mr. Harris' fans.

    It's hard to imagine how far Mr. Harris has come from the days he sold his books door to door to these days when he can claim to be a decent author.

    Unfortunately, in Any Way The Wind Blows, Yancey Harrington Beaxton and Basil Henderson return as central characters in a story that seems more like a feature from a tabloid gossip column than a piece of well crafted and creative literature. While Harris is certain to mention just about every popular African American music and movie star on the scene today, he fails to deliver any new insight with this novel. After reading his previous novels, this one seems like a collage of themes introduced in his earlier work. While I found his previous novels entertaining, just like any good gossip can be, I had a hard time, while reading this novel, getting past the feeling that I've heard this story before. The novel is filled with clichés and didactic in tone. Both of these literary faux pas diminish the story and oversimplify the plot. At times, it seems the characters are only devices for Harris to preach his views on relationships and the role sexuality plays in them. Often times, it's hard to discern if the characters are giving the author the dialogue, or if the author is putting his words in their mouth.

    The novel is an easy read and a great book for any of Mr. Harris' fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    the best ever

    this was a really good book,it kept you on your toes.it made you read cover to cover non stop and wanting more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    TOO MUCH DRAMA!!!!!!!!!

    I can't imagine having to read the sequels...too much drama going on at once..good writer but bad storyline..I wanted to stop reading it after the first few chapters realizing that too many things were happening at once and the characters had enough going on to have their own books published!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    A Great Read!

    I read this book in a day. It was so good, and it had non-stop drama. This is my first E. Lynn Harris book, so I will definitely be reading more from him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    WOW*****and so the addiction continues

    I loved this book. Harris never fails to keep me entangled in his colorful characters and surprising story lines. You'll never guess the ending to this one. I am dying to read the next book. :-D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2002

    An eye opener

    The book really made me put alot of things into perspective. It is truly a masterpiece. One of E.Lynn Harris's best works ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    a true gay black woman

    i as a gay afro american female have only one thing to say about this book. it put a point accross to any one who is ashame of their sexuality. let it out, i have been gay for seven years i am proud of me, myself and who i am. if you are ashamed of what you do or who or what you are then just don't do it.maybe it is not for you, i am actually proud to be gay, i have a six year old daughter and loving wife that i care for and been with for a year now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    HERE WE GO AGAIN!

    Another Gay Harlequin Romance from a writer who is too good to keep putting out this trash! E Lynn Harris needs to get back to his REAL gay audience who is not superficial or closeted and write something that everyone can get into! He is a great writer but how many times can you keep putting out the same book over and over? His sales indicate FOREVER!!!!! Oh well just my opinion.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    You Must Read Them All...

    Just when I thought E. Lynn Harris had created the best of the best, he comes up with a book that's even more spectacular. I couldn't put the book down...I read it in 24 hours. This is a record for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    .....SAY WHAT?

    This book was very very good. I have read a couple of his other books and they are excellent as well. The author keeps you going...thinking. It did not take long to finish this book...especially towards the end. I highly recommed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2002

    Perfect Read

    If you enjoy reading about characters possessing non-stop drama, some of whom are as "jive" as they come, you will find putting this novel down virtually impossible. The characters are down right sexy and complicated, in no way, shape or form one-dimensional!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    Average...

    I'm reading his books backwards cause "A Love of my Own" was the first book I paid attention to. I loved that book! I thought it was excellent. But this one was pretty average. First of all, his constant use of the word "b's" is so irritating. Who edits your books? Snoop Doggy Dogg would probably be shocked at how much he uses the word over and over again. And why doesn't this man like commas? Try another editor please. People do not talk like "You are so beautiful and..." The word "and" in between descriptions of dialogue sounds so fake. I ordered another one of his books too. I'm hoping Ava isn't the villain in that one too. In "A love of my own", I thought Ava was a cool villain cause the story wasn't based around her. But after the second go-round, I was like "Her again?" It's cool to use the same characters if they work, but Ava is a little played out. I would've given this book three stars atleast but that whole Desmond part at the end was super fake! I was like Has Mr. Harris been watching "Days of our Lives" or some other corny soap opera. Now for the good parts, overall every single chapter had me cracking up. E. Lynn Harris has a wonderful habit of slick lines and sarcastic jokes that make you shake your head. Basil was a great character to follow with during the story. Yancey was fun to read about too when she came back down to earth and did stuff like follow people on beaches. I thought overall, the plot was good but the commas, b's, and Desmond were a big distraction! And Ava should have been nonexistent in this one (or maybe the other one?) The same villain lacks spontaneity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    An Eye Opener For Sure

    I recently finished reading Any Way the Wind Blows. This is the first of E. Lynn Harris' books that I have read. Out of all the books I have ever read, this one sure was an eye opener for me. The book is great, but yet surprisingly shocking and hillarious. Thanks E. Lynn Harris for being so open to your audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    absolutely fabulous

    E.Lynn Harris is constantly outdoing himself, each book is better than the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    E. Lynn Harris has done it again

    Harris has done a great job at creating this master piece. I am pleased at how the whole theme came into play in the book. I give this book hundred stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    A MUST READ

    E. LYNN HAS DONE IT AGAIN.THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ.I WAS SO ENGROSSED WITH THIS BOOK I COULD NOT AND WOULD NOT PUT IT DOWN UNTIL I WAS FINISHED.MY DAUGHTER TURNED ME ON TO E.LYNN AND AFTER READING HIS FIRST BOOK,I LOOKED FOWARD TO THE NEXT THEN THE NEXT AND SO ON.THIS BOOK HAD ME TOTALY ENGROSSED.TWO THUMBS UP MR.HARRIS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7