Customer Reviews for

Anybody Out There?

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it.

    I had forgot how much I loved Marian Keyes. I had stopped reading her books about five years ago when I was totally up to date and then forgot about her books so i was delighted when I recently started again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Bittersweet, amusing and powerfully acute, this is a great literary character study.

    In Manhattan public relations specialist for punk cosmetics brand Candy Grrrl, Anna Walsh suffers sever injuries in a taxi accident that include a horrifying disfigurement across her pretty visage. Physically healing though suffering from multiple fractures, Anna mentally struggles especially with the facial scar so she returns home to her loving family in the Dublin area for nurturing.----- Dublin is no picnic as she finds herself embroiled in family affairs that the ocean kept her out of. Private eye sister Helen works with mobsters Rachel is acting crazy with her marriage coming soon and her mom is feuding with a dog pooping at the mailbox. With her husband Aidan not responding to email and seemingly vanished, a despondent Anna wonders if you can really go home that is if you can figure out where home is.----- Highly regarded Marian Keyes (see ANGELS, WATERMELON and RACHEL'S HOLIDAY) returns with her latest and best Walsh tale, which is saying a lot as this is a top rate series. Anna is terrific as the center of the family dynamics this time around. As she becomes involved with the escapades of her sisters and mom, her spouse back in Manhattan becomes a MIA. Bittersweet, amusing and powerfully acute, this is a great literary character study.----- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    Love, Love, Love this book

    Marian Keyes is one of the best authors I have read in a long time. This is the best book of hers that I have read so far. It's especially compelling because it deals with grief in a manner that makes it seem real to me as a younger person. I would recommend this author and particularly this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2007

    my favorite book, the end

    she hits many points in the spectrum. intense book that includes humour well so that you don't want to shoot yourself after reading it.doesn't hurt that it's nearly impossiblt to stop reading it. If you've read any of her walsh series you'll love this one, the best sofar, though i'm looking forward to the last sister

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2007

    My favorite

    This is probably my favorite book she ever wrote it. This book is truly good. It was funny and sad. I almost cried. Keyes is a wonderful writer. She made Anna feel sooo real to me. IEvery book Keyes wrote is different. Each sisters has their own story and own personality. You must read this book. I read it in 2 days.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    This is On My Top 10 of All Time List

    I really like Marion Keyes books in general, but this is one that I really loved. I actually LIKE many books, but love very few. Anybody Out There? was so touching and poignant and was in my opinion far and away Ms Keyes best work yet. I will reread it for years to come. It is an excellent piece of work. It touched my heart and left it's footprint on it. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    Fantastic!!!

    While I enjoyed Keyes' other books, this one by far evoked the most emotion. At times, I laughed so much that I cried, and at other times, I just cried. What a powerful, heartwarming, incredible book. I cannot describe it any better without giving away the plot. It's a MUST READ!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    Marian Keyes does it again

    WOW - is the only way I can start this. This book is a scream! So funny and yet so heartbreaking. I must say that alot of it mirrored my own life and my own tragedies and therefore it became hard to read and yet I couldn't put it down. Marian Keyes proves that she can write not only comedy but straight from the heart. I don't know Marian's own personal circumstances, but coming from someone who went through something quite similar, I can say that woman knows what she writes. I now can not wait for the next 'Walsh installment' to see how Anna is and what the future holds for her, as anyone who read the book knows, it holds something good....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Another Fabulous Book

    Ever since i randomly pictured up 'Angels' at my public library, i've been obsessed with marian keyes books. There are so many authors writing about the same subject, women in there 30's looking for love. Keyes is able to create wildly entertaining stories, with fresh humor and insight. I loved this book because i could relate, and Keyes was right on with the reality of Anna's situation. if you liked keyes past books, this one is worth your time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Read this book years ago and it still gets me

    Fantastic. Keep the kleenex handy though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Catching

    I really felt the heartache and love of the main character. This is an excellent story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    It made me laugh and cry, often at the same time. This was easily my favorite book out of all the Walsh Sisters books so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    great book

    I couldn't put it down! I love all of her books. this was my favorite. funny and heartwarming-I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    My favorite of Marian keyes

    I really enjoyed this book. I love all the sisters, but Anna was one of my favorites! It was very touching and sad, with a LOT of laughs!! Great writer!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Lucky Find

    Working out of a hotel in Finland for two weeks, alone, not speaking (or reading) Finnish, and looking for something to while away my evenings, I found this book in the hotel store. It's a lovely, heart-wrenching, and funny read. One of those stories that I find myself thinking about even a year later. Lucky to have come across this author and have added her to my favorites list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    I loved this book. It has really stayed wih me. One of those that, although sometimes heart breaking, you don't want to end. Although the book could be very sad, you also suddenly find yourself laughing out loud. I have read all the books by this author and always enjoy them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    Her best novel yet..

    This book has everything, heartbreak, humor and family disfunction. Keyes is in her element when describing life from the inside out. Love, love, love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    My favorite Book by Marian

    Have you ever read a story that you just couldn't read fast enough? This book did that for me..I couldn't wait to find out what happened next. From the very beginning I was hooked- It was definitely full of twists and turns and I was truly sorry it ended.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Couldn't stop reading!!!

    This beautifully written book is the first Marian Keyes for me. The characters are quirky, funny and just jump off the pages. You will laugh, cry and thank G_d for your loved ones. Don't miss this book. It's terrific.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    Amazing Read

    This was an amazing book and I could not put it down. It made me cry, laugh, and really look around at those I love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2