Customer Reviews for

Anyone But You

Average Rating 4
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

This was my first Jennifer Cruise book. I was soooooooo engrossed in her story I could not put the book down. Loved all the characters except for the nasty ex-husband. Buy this and you will not be disappointed. I will be buying more JC's books.

posted by dpfavoriteauthorfan on June 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Meh...

This is my second Crusie novel and I was not impressed. After I read Bet Me, which turned out to be my favorite book of all time, I knew I'd be difficult to please. Anyone But You is cute and it's a quick read, but only because it was so short, not because it was a page...
This is my second Crusie novel and I was not impressed. After I read Bet Me, which turned out to be my favorite book of all time, I knew I'd be difficult to please. Anyone But You is cute and it's a quick read, but only because it was so short, not because it was a page-turner. Maybe it's because I didn't personally relate to it. I found the underlying story of Charity's novel much more intriguing than Alex & Nina's romance. As I mentioned, this was only my second Crusie novel, but there seems to be a slight theme: the men are madly in love with their women. I love that about her books. I don't think reading about a man's strong devotion ever gets old, for me anyway. It's romantic and adorable. I wouldn't say pass on this book, but perhaps stick it at the bottom of your list.

posted by i_love_my_us_marine on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Meh...

    This is my second Crusie novel and I was not impressed. After I read Bet Me, which turned out to be my favorite book of all time, I knew I'd be difficult to please. Anyone But You is cute and it's a quick read, but only because it was so short, not because it was a page-turner. Maybe it's because I didn't personally relate to it. I found the underlying story of Charity's novel much more intriguing than Alex & Nina's romance. As I mentioned, this was only my second Crusie novel, but there seems to be a slight theme: the men are madly in love with their women. I love that about her books. I don't think reading about a man's strong devotion ever gets old, for me anyway. It's romantic and adorable. I wouldn't say pass on this book, but perhaps stick it at the bottom of your list.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    Wow!

    This was my first Jennifer Cruise book. I was soooooooo engrossed in her story I could not put the book down. Loved all the characters except for the nasty ex-husband. Buy this and you will not be disappointed. I will be buying more JC's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Fun read. I was able to really get into the characters

    This book was a very fun read. Characters were well developed. Storyline was engaging. I longed to get back to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is a light, airy read. One can get through it quickly

    This book is a light, airy read. One can get through it quickly in one sitting. The parts of the book that I loved the most were Fred's antics and Alex's mad devotion to Nina. Other than that this book was closely related to all the other books that I have read by this author. To say they become redundant after a while is an understatement. But, it was a cute, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Too cute

    Sooo cute. You will just love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Liam

    Lol k

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    This was a cute story but was predictable. This was my first bo

    This was a cute story but was predictable. This was my first book by Jennifer Cruise but I will try others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    GOOD BOOK

    I LOVE THIS BOOK GOOD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Loved it

    Too funny. Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    A cute story

    Shows opposites attract whether humans and animals or two people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Anyone But You By Jennifer Crusie Nina is turning forty and aft

    Anyone But You
    By Jennifer Crusie

    Nina is turning forty and after years of being married to a controlling man she is finally free and has decided her life needs a cute perky puppy, but then she sees Fred. Fred is mild aged and smelly and on his way to being put down in the local shelter. When she brings him back to her apartment she teaches him to use the fire escape to let himself out and in, on one of his excursions he stumbles upon Nina’s downstairs neighbor thirty year old gorgeous doctor Alex. Soon Nina and Alex find themselves in a fun and flirtatious friendship but nothing more Nina knows she is too old for him until one day she winds up in his E.R. and realizes he isn’t as immature as he seems.

    This was such a cute book with witty commentary and the most adorable dog. It is funny and well written the two combined bring to life a beautiful romance. The trials the two must overcome to be together are realistic which adds to the drama of this novel and in the end, like all good romances, there is a happily ever after. If you are a fan of contemporary romance, you should definitely give this one a try it is sure to please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Rather Lame

    I was told this author was good. Well I am not impressede. I rarely quit a book once I started one but I put this down. No more for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Excellent

    Cruise never fails to deliver a fun and sexy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, quick read

    This was a really fun, quick read - perfect for the summer. The characters were very likable and realistic. I enjoyed the set-up - younger man (with issues) falling for an older woman (with issues). The story unfolded naturally and it was nice rooting for the main characters. Take this to the beach or the pool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    Super cute story!

    Loved this one from the beginning, just could not put it down! The few antics by Fred the dog make it even funnier. Very short and well worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Character is too funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Not my favorite book by Crusie

    I usually love Jennifer Crusie books but found this one to be lacking her usual humor and fun story telling. It was ok but I really wouldn't recommend it unless you truly can't find anything else to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Enjoyable and fun read

    Started reading this about 10:00 pm and finished at 3:00 AM; needless to say, I enjoyed this book. Crusie is an easy read and her characters are real in their thinking. Sometimes her endings are altruistic, but if you aren't looking for a depressing book this is your author. This book is a sure thing for laugh out loud enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Short easy read

    I've read other Crusie books, and this one was not one of her best. It's on par with Manhunting, a little more on the serious side, not as humorous as some of her other ones. It was short, so she didn't develop the supporting characters as much; the storyline was meaningful but it could have been more well written. Welcome to Tempation is my favorite so far, and I have yet to read Bet Me and Agnes & the Hit Man. I hope to see more sassy and witty books from her. Overall, it's a quick fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    Come on, take a break

    Take a break from thrillers and mysteries to enjoy the one sit, entertaining, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11