Customer Reviews for

Anyone But You

Average Rating 4
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

This was my first Jennifer Cruise book. I was soooooooo engrossed in her story I could not put the book down. Loved all the characters except for the nasty ex-husband. Buy this and you will not be disappointed. I will be buying more JC's books.

posted by dpfavoriteauthorfan on June 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Meh...

This is my second Crusie novel and I was not impressed. After I read Bet Me, which turned out to be my favorite book of all time, I knew I'd be difficult to please. Anyone But You is cute and it's a quick read, but only because it was so short, not because it was a page...
This is my second Crusie novel and I was not impressed. After I read Bet Me, which turned out to be my favorite book of all time, I knew I'd be difficult to please. Anyone But You is cute and it's a quick read, but only because it was so short, not because it was a page-turner. Maybe it's because I didn't personally relate to it. I found the underlying story of Charity's novel much more intriguing than Alex & Nina's romance. As I mentioned, this was only my second Crusie novel, but there seems to be a slight theme: the men are madly in love with their women. I love that about her books. I don't think reading about a man's strong devotion ever gets old, for me anyway. It's romantic and adorable. I wouldn't say pass on this book, but perhaps stick it at the bottom of your list.

posted by i_love_my_us_marine on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    This was a cute story but was predictable. This was my first bo

    This was a cute story but was predictable. This was my first book by Jennifer Cruise but I will try others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    A cute story

    Shows opposites attract whether humans and animals or two people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, quick read

    This was a really fun, quick read - perfect for the summer. The characters were very likable and realistic. I enjoyed the set-up - younger man (with issues) falling for an older woman (with issues). The story unfolded naturally and it was nice rooting for the main characters. Take this to the beach or the pool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    Super cute story!

    Loved this one from the beginning, just could not put it down! The few antics by Fred the dog make it even funnier. Very short and well worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Enjoyable and fun read

    Started reading this about 10:00 pm and finished at 3:00 AM; needless to say, I enjoyed this book. Crusie is an easy read and her characters are real in their thinking. Sometimes her endings are altruistic, but if you aren't looking for a depressing book this is your author. This book is a sure thing for laugh out loud enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Short easy read

    I've read other Crusie books, and this one was not one of her best. It's on par with Manhunting, a little more on the serious side, not as humorous as some of her other ones. It was short, so she didn't develop the supporting characters as much; the storyline was meaningful but it could have been more well written. Welcome to Tempation is my favorite so far, and I have yet to read Bet Me and Agnes & the Hit Man. I hope to see more sassy and witty books from her. Overall, it's a quick fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    Come on, take a break

    Take a break from thrillers and mysteries to enjoy the one sit, entertaining, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    True to form for Jennifer Crusie!

    If you like her style this is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Super cute, funny, light read!

    I really enjoyed this book. It's short (123 pages total on my nook) but it was perfect! The characters were well developed and the story line was credible. The author mercifully spared us from the typical "uncharacteristic" moments that cause unnecessary drama...each character was true to themselves until the end, something I very much appreciated. This was the first Jennifer Cruise book I read, but it won't be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    I just finished this book, very cute. It's about a divorcee named Nina starting over - with a new life and a new pet. The adorable Fred, part Bassett, part Beagle, part ever changing is full of personality and really adds a smile (literally) to the story. And he also brings some new people into Nina's life, like Alex, the handsome young ER doc and kind neighbor. We get more of Fred's antics as well as follow Nina and Alex through the awkward almost courtship and a hopeful future. Add in the off the wall best friend of Nina and Alex's brother and you get a lot of fun. Humor, drama, friendship, it's not the most romantic story ever told, but still a very sweet love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2006

    My Favorite Crusie Novel!

    I LOVED this book! I've enjoyed most of her work, but this is by far my favorite. Really likable characters, funny dialoge. If you are looking for a light, easy read sprinkled with a touch of romance, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    The Trials of A New Life

    We live in a world where 'do-overs' are quite common. Second chances, second families, second lives are commonplace to many of us. There is a need to emphasize that we can achieve happiness, success and well being even if we made some mistakes and have to reconsider our lives. Jennifer Crusie tells a sweet tale involving all the fears, worries, emotions and myths carried by many women today. She gives us a warm view of how things can happen in a laidback, unassuming way that can relate to all lifestyles. If you know this author, you will enjoy this tale. If you have never read this author, take a leap of faith and join the many of readers who follow her writings loyally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Meet Fred...

    This is an enjoyable and quick read. I was laughing aloud at many of the scenes with Fred the manic depressive dog. I want a dog just like Fred. It is about love and growth from previous relationships. One of the best parts is realizing over 30 is not a death sentence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4