BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ANYTHING The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul By Jennie A

    ANYTHING
    The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul
    By Jennie Allen


    Often our familiarity with the concept of God keeps us from the reality of God and Jesus. We bring them out for special occasions, like a holiday decoration that has become a tradition over the years. But how do we make God and Jesus a real and tangible part of our being and our life?

    In Anything Jennie Allen takes us on a journey, a journey of turning over our lives to God. Until we give Him our anything we are incomplete. We will continue to live our lives trying to earn God's grace through works and outward shows, but grace cannot be earned. Jesus gave His anything to pay for my sin because He loved me. But to know God is a risk because He will reveal our true selves to us. God will sweep away all the pretense in our lives until realize we need Him.

    Many obstacles keep us from a true relationship with God. We like, Adam and Eve, hide our nakedness behind leaves – leaves of religion, morality, and good works but God sees through our leaves and sees to our very soul. We are ashamed of our sin, but He already knows our faults and has already forgiven us.

    We all desire approval, but instead of seeking after God's approval we turn to the world and make approval king of our lives to the exclusion of using our God-given gifts. We must let go of normal and embrace God and extraordinary that He is waiting to give us.

    We must give Him everything and anything. Anything we hold back from God becomes an idol in our life. But when we trust God with everything He provides a stability that we cannot find in the things of this world. Following God is not a guarantee of an easy life, nor was it an easy life for the first disciples.

    When we truly offer anything to God we are awakened to just how temporary this life and world are. We must let go and turn over control to God. We must to quit pretending our lives are perfect and worshiping this lie that we tell ourselves. When we surrender to God we are not consigning the rest of our life to bondage rather we are freeing ourselves to be who God created us to be.

    Giving our anything to God sometimes keeps us right where we were before we placed our lives on the altar. When we've handed our life over we are more fulfilled in our lives and we are able to fulfill a need that was before us all along.

    In giving His everything Jesus poured out His life to restore us, so how can we then refuse Him anything? We must be like Jesus. He loved me and He gave up for me. I, in turn, must give up for
    Him. He will never leave me alone in my doubts and fears, I need only call out to Him and turn them over to Him. The difficulties of my life are an opportunity for me to grow and to rely on God.

    Are you willing to give God anything or will you settle for the world? The choice is yours, are you willing to take the leap? Anything will help you take an honest look at your life. Is God king or have you allowed someone or something else to sit upon His throne? Anything will open the eyes of any reader and is perfect for either a personal or group study environment.

    I received a copy of this title for my honest review.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    A transparent book with a fresh perspective! Anything is a journ

    A transparent book with a fresh perspective! Anything is a journey of reckless abandonment. Jennie invites you into her life and shares the deepest parts of her soul as she surrenders every piece of her life to the calling of Christ. Anything gave me a new perspective of my life and revealed places in my heart I had not given God control. I laughed and cried alongside Jennie's stories and was taken to a place of complete surrender with the days I have left to live.

    Jennie's writing style reminds me of Donald Millers with a calling and passion to live for Jesus like Francis Chan or David Platt - but she specifically speaks to our generation of women. Her energy is contagious! A must read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    I was sucked into this book immediately, it is easy to read than

    I was sucked into this book immediately, it is easy to read thanks to the author's conversational and intimate style. I loved all the personal stories and it became a real page turner for me. Even though I've been a Christian for a while I found myself drawn closer to God as I wrestled with the questions and challenges that the book brings up. It's definitely a great book to read either individually or as a group, I would have loved to have discussed each chapter with some girlfriends. Either way, it truly was a life-changing book for me, I find myself desiring to know God more and truly figure out what I have put ahead of God in my life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Worth the Read!!

    The author is transparent and vulnerable in this book about praying "anything" into your life. An inspiring read that leaves you encouraged and desiring God's specific journey for your life. Don't miss it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    I highly recommend this book! Jennie offers an exceptional, yet

    I highly recommend this book! Jennie offers an exceptional, yet humble insight into our own souls and our relationship with God. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Pushes your commitment in practical ways.

    I found this book very true from my standpoint, not having always lived in U.S. culture and currently elsewhere in the world. She pushes U.S. culture and how we might change our thinking when we look at our relationships here on earth and with God. The ladies in our group here found the book refreshing, and questioning what it means to give everything when you may have thought you already gave it all. It was a wonderful book touching my soul in many ways!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Amazing

    Read this book. It will change your heart, soul, and life. God is using Jennie Allen mightily. He is moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Really Good Book!

    This is a great book so far! I would definitely recommend it. I did have to return this book for another one because it was missing some pages. Misprint. But besides that its good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Life Changing

    This book is written with courageuos honesty. Jennie Allen makes us think about our mission and ministry as she shares her insights and struggles to pray that she will do anything God asks of her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Jennie and her husband Zac prayed a prayer one night that told G

    Jennie and her husband Zac prayed a prayer one night that told God they would do ANYTHING he asked them to do. This prayer radically changed their lives and opened up the way for this book to be written.

    I’d read some great reviews for this book and was looking forward to reading it to see if it lived up to my expectations. I wasn’t expecting it to blow me away. It isn’t the style of writing or stories, although those are good. It’s the message that she is presenting. What would happen if every Christian opened themselves up to praying that prayer? What would happen if we were willing to let go and give up whatever God asked us to part with? The message in this book is all about total surrender to our God and living a life that isn’t normal.
    Not only did I enjoy reading this book, I felt convicted. It’s the type of book that I will be buying copies of to give to friends and family. It was just that good.

    I received this book free of charge from Shelton Interactive in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    This book was simply amazing. It is deep, insightful, and will a

    This book was simply amazing. It is deep, insightful, and will absolutely make you think about your relationship with the Lord and whether or not you're willing to do anything for Him.

    I had reviewed Jennie's Bible study, "Stuck" and it was so great I didn't think she could top that, but she not only topped it, she went way above and beyond!

    I think the first thing I love about reading her book was that she's totally real and open. She tells it like it is and doesn't sugar coat her feelings or life. I love that! This book was about her and her husband praying a prayer to the Lord that they would do anything He called them to do. Anything. I don't know about you, but that strikes a little fear in my heart! If you're like me, you pray, "I'll do anything for you Lord, but....." With Jennie and her husband, there was no "but". As I read her book, though, I realized how much God was working in their lives through this huge prayer!

    I wondered how much I was missing out on by not praying this prayer. How many things does the Lord have for me to do, but I haven't surrendered my will to His? Reading "Anything" made me want to pray this prayer, though, because I could see how much the Lord was doing through Jennie! How amazing to be used in such a wonderful way! Her Bible study and this book are a testament to her willingness to surrender and be obedient to God and I can see how much these two things have changed my own relationship with the Lord! Imagine if she hadn't been obedient and we didn't have these great resourses?

    She was honest that she and her family were attacked by the enemy when they became obedient to the Lord and prayed this prayer of surrender. I love that. She prepared us for the war that would be ahead of us if we chose to pray "anything" to the Lord. After reading this book, I'm ready. I'm ready to pray that prayer! I want the Lord to use me and I want to have the faith to be obedient to anything he calls me to!

    I highly, highly recommend this book! It will scare you to death, but in a good way! lol We all like to think we are in control of our lives, don't you know. You will come to see that surrendering all to the Lord is the greatest calling we can have in this life.

    *This book was provided to me for my honest review by Shelton Interactive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Life Changing

    I love this book!!! It opened my eyes to see how I had been holding back in an area of my life where I didn't want to. If you believe in God but aren't seeing Him move in powerful ways in your life, please consider reading this book. It's a wonderful story of the author's willingness to hand over the reigns of her life to God. Many of us have faith and even a relationship with God, but reading this challenged me to give Him everything, and let Him do ANYTHING He wants with my life. My life couldn't be more richer as a result of this simple but difficult act of faith. He is an adventurous, loving, exciting, deep, personal God who is pleased when His children trust Him with anything and everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    I flew through this book and couldn't put it down. Jennie openl

    I flew through this book and couldn't put it down. Jennie openly and vulnerably shares her story about handing her life and her family over to God. They way she talks about faith and God are compelling. This book challenges what I am tempted to hold onto for myself. It increased my desire to see God move in my life. I've started buying the book for friends so that we can have real conversations with each other about how we can offer God anything and everything. I'd recommend the book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    This book is not a typical "Christian Living" book. I'

    This book is not a typical "Christian Living" book. I'd say it's more like reading the journal of a good friend, except without the guilt. You find this friend on a journey to knowing more of God in the most personal of ways. In reading it, you close the book and envy that relationship she has and think, "Now what about me? Am I willing to let God have anything?" It's challenging, inspiring and convicting. Watch out, it might just mess with you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    You will love Jennie's raw and fresh approach in this book. God

    You will love Jennie's raw and fresh approach in this book. God used her to stir in my heart a passion for glorifying Him...whatever that may be. Jennie's vulnerability is contagious and led me to a place of opening up the tight grip of my hands...holding everything up to God and saying "All I have is yours". You will be blessed through the pages of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1