BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Anything Can Be Dangerous

Average Rating 3.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Anything Can Be Dangerous

I'm not normally a big fan of short stories, but this one worked for me. Creepy, gross and action packed, this book will keep you up late reading.

posted by NYM on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Ho-hum... At least it was free.

None of the stories could be considered "horrific" or "intense". Frankly, they made little sense and were in dire need of a descriptive overhaul. Once again, a free book that proves you get what you pay for.

posted by amydague on May 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Do you need a good scare?

    I read the first story "Anything Can Be Dangerous" and thought it was well written and scary in a bizarre and twisted way. I am a die-hard Stephen King fan and this writer managed to have my heart racing by the end of this short story. I read the second story "Feeding Frenzy" and was dying for more. I am not happy that the writer likes to end the story with absolutely no resolution to it. I got all worked up and was hoping for some scary ending and got NONE !!! I read the second story with the same hopes and was again disappointed. I am going to read the rest of the book and hope for more. Mr. Hults... please give us more to your stories and scare us more. (I do have to say that I thought twice about getting plastic bags to take my groceries home afterwards.)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    An exemplary set of short stories

    This is an anthology of four exemplary novellettes/novellas. The four stories manage to hit the high notes of the horror genre -- zombies, vampires, post-apocalyptic, and gore/slasher.

    It has been awhile since any horror story made me flinch, but "The Finger" had me kind of vomiting in my mouth for a moment. This story is perfect balanced against "Through Valley of Death" where a family wanders where they shouldn't. Then there is the hysterical humor (as in crazed laughter) of "Feeding Frenzy" juxtaposed against the hero and his memories of his mother in "Anything Can Be Dangerous."

    Delightful e-book, currently for free from both Barnes and Noble and Amazon, with a plethora of free samples in the back. Definitely a keeper, and I can't wait to read the samples.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    I am pleased to have found a free collection of short stories that also happened to be well written and with interesying stories to tell. I was left wanting more. This is some fantastically creepy and somewhat gory stuff! I would recommend this collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Loved it!

    This is a great little book. The stories are new and interesting and it is unlike so many of the books that I've read before. If you like Stephen King you will like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Paper only...

    I have since thrown away all my plastic grocery bags (once kept on hand for lunch and general use)...and Hefty bags - I can no longer look at my shower caps as innocuous waifts of cellophane. Thoroughly enjoyed the stories. The resulting psychosis - not so much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    LOVE!!!

    Awesome stories!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    is the story anything can be dangerous any longer or does it jus

    is the story anything can be dangerous any longer or does it just end like that??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Kamryn

    Wow this book was amazing. Everybody thinks its gross and scary. Nothing is scary to me but that is my opinion. Some people just think to much and put figurative images in their head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Need nook friends

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Good book!

    This is a great book if you want to get pucky and get your stomick churny. But if you dont want grafick images left in your head this book is not for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    A good, fast read.

    All the stories were well written and original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Wow

    I can turn any object to a weapon
    Ex. Pencil=knife or string=whip

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Very good

    Chilling, gross, horrifying, LOVED IT, do not usually read short stories , a lot of stuff packed into tthese pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Great stories

    Loved this book. Creepy stuff. Will recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    This book is whew!!!!

    Seriously this autor is soo cool his mind is brilliat and he just captured my interest. How can horror be soo terrifying but addicting keeping me coming back. I so wis to meet him one day so i can complimet him personally on his awesome book.
    D.J.L ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Keep coming back

    Out of all the books i flip flop around, I keep coming back! Just a great read and keeps my mind curious

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Awesome!

    This book is totaly awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Beautifully written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    OH MY GOD!

    Scary stuff, HIGHLY recomended makes me NEVER want to get plastic ever again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Fun!

    This book is a lot of fun. Some of it was scary, but some of it had me laughing. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2