Customer Reviews for

Anything but Typical

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating, challenging, enthralling, and incredibly well scripted

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for something a bit different from the ordinary. It will make you think, it will make you dream, it will make you believe in all that can be possible.

posted by 2767367 on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

The best part of this book is the artwork on the cover. I wish I hadn't wasted money on it, the reviews are misleading. There are many better authors to choose from. I think the writer was trying too hard or something.

posted by christie14 on March 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fascinating, challenging, enthralling, and incredibly well scripted

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for something a bit different from the ordinary. It will make you think, it will make you dream, it will make you believe in all that can be possible.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Nobody

    This is an amazing book. I have a cousin with autisum and it made me respect and understand him better than ever before!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Loved it!

    I love this author. She takes the time to research whatever she is writing and turns it into an enjoyable read!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    CarllzReviews!LOL!!!!!!¿

    The person who said he has adhd is wrong he has autism and this book was really god and touched my heart!¿

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    Disappointing

    The best part of this book is the artwork on the cover. I wish I hadn't wasted money on it, the reviews are misleading. There are many better authors to choose from. I think the writer was trying too hard or something.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Autism

    As having an older brother with autism, tuberuscerlosis, and many other health problems, I thought this book was amazing! If you are intrested in this subject I also reccomend the book, RULES.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Has a great meaning

    This book is not only good but it has a meaning that no one could say this any better! Now i understand how the people feel! Like their no buddy...wow!

    I love this book!

    Seny from my nook

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    If you want a great book then you are lookig at it. This is a sad but happy. Its heart wrenching. I am sure you will enjoy this book. This book will make you view not only the world and people differently, it will make you view yourself differently. All i can say is i love this book. What about you?
    LIVE LEARN LOVEc

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Amazing

    I have read this book over 3 times and learn something unique and different each time i read it!(:

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo

    Jason is different from other 6th-graders. He loves routine, hates noisy, overcrowded places, and constantly reminds himself to breathe.

    He is obviously not like other NT's (neurotypicals), the so-called "normal" people in the world. The NT's say things, but nothing is ever behind the words. Jason doesn't understand why people talk and never mean what they say. This is why he doesn't look at anyone. Jason gets distracted by faces - the way they morph when someone is speaking.

    Such is the life of a young autistic boy. He longs to make everything okay, for his parents' sake, but progress is slow. Jason only feels "quiet" when he is on the computer. His stories allow him to take on different personas, and in that realm, he is safe and content.

    This novel gives an extraordinary view of an autistic child's life. Having Jason narrate his own story allows the reader a view into his world. It is chaotic, and sometimes frightening, but there is also hope.

    Jason's love of writing opens a whole new world to him. In that world, he can be whoever he wants to be; in that world, he is a "normal" kid.

    ANYTHING BUT TYPICAL is an excellent novel that everyone should read. It is eye-opening, unexpected, and thoughtful. Ms. Baskin deserves major kudos for this wonderful piece of writing.

    Reviewed by: LadyJay

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Anything But Typical, BORINGGG :p

    Anything But Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin is not a very interesting realistic fiction novel. Anything But Typical, was a pretty stupid book. The topic jumps around to much, which confusing and unclear. Also the main character, Jason Blake, is an autistic boy and he doesn't do anything typical. The novel is set in modern day New Jersey, a small quiet town.
    In the novel, Jason Blake is a big fan of writing, since not many people like him, he turns to make believe stories to take up him time. Jason's parents decide to take him to the "Story Board Convention," that happens every year. Jason's cyber girlfriend, Rebecca, is going too. When Jason finds out that she is also going, Jason freaks. He doesn't want her to find out who he really is, because he feels frivolous in the elite crowds.
    Jason was a normal kid, he played baseball and went to friend's houses, until he reached 6th grade. In kindergarten, the teachers recommended Jason to get tested for ADD, and ADHD. Jason got older and his conditions became worse. He was almost behind in every class, every subject. Kids made fun of him constantly. For instance, in computer class Jason likes a specific computer, his computer. He saw that the computer was being used. His skin hurt, he couldn't breathe easily. Also when Jason went to visit his Uncle Bobby and cousin, Seth. Seth made Jason angry by making fun of him, calling him "special" so Jason lost all control. He hit Seth, and didn't even realize what he did.
    In the novel, you're basically reading everything from how Jason feels, to his perspective on every situation of every day. The author also uses Jason's high vocabulary skills in her writing.
    If you like slow paced books, then this book is good for you. Also if you enjoy knowing everything the character is thinking, feeling, and saying, you should read this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet and Touching all the way!!!

    This book intrigued me by page one. The daily struggled of the main charicter makes me want to cry! I read through this in only three days, I recoment this to anyone who wants a read of all you can want!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Eleveen year old

    I really liked the book it reminded me of a book callednout of my mind whitch is about an autistic girl.Both stories help non autistics or nuerotypicals in jason's veiw see inside an autistic mind.See that they think about the same things that we do that they are not as dome as they seem and sometimes smarter

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Love

    A must read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Omg!!!!!

    This book is great

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Rate and review

    It was a good but sad book but att times i would get confused at
    if what the book was saying was happening or was it just jason and hisidea ofhowthat event would occur.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Great

    Its about a boy who has adhd and fines someone like him when he thinks no one is.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Luv it

    I loved it. I thought Nora did a good job explaining his thoughts

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    I like

    Very good. Is a great way how nora r. Baker makes rebecca turn out to be........... i wont spoil the ending. Over all a great read in my opinion

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Watching Grass Grow Would be More Interesting Than Anything But Typical

    Anything But Typical is about 6th grader Jason Blake. Jason is different from everybody else (the neurotypicals), he has Autism. Jason doesn't understand the neurotypicals, like why do they lie so much or why do they treat him like a baby. Afraid, is how Jason feels most often. He's afraid, that at anytime something could go wrong and he will embarrass himself, which will then result in his parents intervening. Jason's passion is writing, and he comes across a tiny amount of understanding, when PheonixBird, a girl actually named Rebecca, posts about his story. They then talk frequently online over the writing website, StoryBoard, and Jason really feels like he can be himself while he's talking to her. Then Jason discovers that he may meet Rebecca at a StoryBoard convention and he's once again afraid, thinking that when she sees him, she will have the same reaction as all the other neurotypicals do and shun him like everyone else. This book takes Autism in the first person and really shows that just like regular people, all they want to be, is accepted. Anything But Typical talks too much about Jason's feelings, and does not talk enough about his experiences. There are hardly any exciting parts in the story and very little dialogue too, which may bother some like it bothered me. Other parts are about Jason and his struggles, which seem so simple and could be fixed so easily, yet they portray Jason as someone who doesn't really want to change and someone who doesn't even want to or try to solve the conflicts. Also, the relationship between Rebecca and Jason, turns out to be pointless and doesn't have much significance to the book, as he really doesn't say anything to her. The only thing that kept me from rating this a one star, was that there is one surprising twist near the end, and it keeps the ending slightly interesting. I would recommend this book to female teenagers, as males may think this book is too boring, and to people who know an autistic person, so that they may get a feel to how they see things.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5