Customer Reviews for

Anything But Typical

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating, challenging, enthralling, and incredibly well scripted

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for something a bit different from the ordinary. It will make you think, it will make you dream, it will make you believe in all that can be possible.

posted by 2767367 on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

The best part of this book is the artwork on the cover. I wish I hadn't wasted money on it, the reviews are misleading. There are many better authors to choose from. I think the writer was trying too hard or something.

posted by christie14 on March 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    Disappointing

    The best part of this book is the artwork on the cover. I wish I hadn't wasted money on it, the reviews are misleading. There are many better authors to choose from. I think the writer was trying too hard or something.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Anything But Typical, BORINGGG :p

    Anything But Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin is not a very interesting realistic fiction novel. Anything But Typical, was a pretty stupid book. The topic jumps around to much, which confusing and unclear. Also the main character, Jason Blake, is an autistic boy and he doesn't do anything typical. The novel is set in modern day New Jersey, a small quiet town.
    In the novel, Jason Blake is a big fan of writing, since not many people like him, he turns to make believe stories to take up him time. Jason's parents decide to take him to the "Story Board Convention," that happens every year. Jason's cyber girlfriend, Rebecca, is going too. When Jason finds out that she is also going, Jason freaks. He doesn't want her to find out who he really is, because he feels frivolous in the elite crowds.
    Jason was a normal kid, he played baseball and went to friend's houses, until he reached 6th grade. In kindergarten, the teachers recommended Jason to get tested for ADD, and ADHD. Jason got older and his conditions became worse. He was almost behind in every class, every subject. Kids made fun of him constantly. For instance, in computer class Jason likes a specific computer, his computer. He saw that the computer was being used. His skin hurt, he couldn't breathe easily. Also when Jason went to visit his Uncle Bobby and cousin, Seth. Seth made Jason angry by making fun of him, calling him "special" so Jason lost all control. He hit Seth, and didn't even realize what he did.
    In the novel, you're basically reading everything from how Jason feels, to his perspective on every situation of every day. The author also uses Jason's high vocabulary skills in her writing.
    If you like slow paced books, then this book is good for you. Also if you enjoy knowing everything the character is thinking, feeling, and saying, you should read this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Watching Grass Grow Would be More Interesting Than Anything But Typical

    Anything But Typical is about 6th grader Jason Blake. Jason is different from everybody else (the neurotypicals), he has Autism. Jason doesn't understand the neurotypicals, like why do they lie so much or why do they treat him like a baby. Afraid, is how Jason feels most often. He's afraid, that at anytime something could go wrong and he will embarrass himself, which will then result in his parents intervening. Jason's passion is writing, and he comes across a tiny amount of understanding, when PheonixBird, a girl actually named Rebecca, posts about his story. They then talk frequently online over the writing website, StoryBoard, and Jason really feels like he can be himself while he's talking to her. Then Jason discovers that he may meet Rebecca at a StoryBoard convention and he's once again afraid, thinking that when she sees him, she will have the same reaction as all the other neurotypicals do and shun him like everyone else. This book takes Autism in the first person and really shows that just like regular people, all they want to be, is accepted. Anything But Typical talks too much about Jason's feelings, and does not talk enough about his experiences. There are hardly any exciting parts in the story and very little dialogue too, which may bother some like it bothered me. Other parts are about Jason and his struggles, which seem so simple and could be fixed so easily, yet they portray Jason as someone who doesn't really want to change and someone who doesn't even want to or try to solve the conflicts. Also, the relationship between Rebecca and Jason, turns out to be pointless and doesn't have much significance to the book, as he really doesn't say anything to her. The only thing that kept me from rating this a one star, was that there is one surprising twist near the end, and it keeps the ending slightly interesting. I would recommend this book to female teenagers, as males may think this book is too boring, and to people who know an autistic person, so that they may get a feel to how they see things.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Hard to read :(

    I also have to read this book for school and i get lost too many times to understand what is going on. If your smart... DO NOT READ THIS BOOK !!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Boring and Mediocre

    Not worth the read. I do not recommend this book. I don't know why it has such good reviews. I found the writing style annoying and silly and feel like the author writes about a subject she really knows nothing about. Sorry, I'd pass this one up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Out of my mind is about cerebral palsy

    Just bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Jason is autistic. He is becoming normal, but is still hav

    Jason is autistic. He is becoming normal, but is still having trouble talking to people. The book talks through his life as he is trying to communicate. His mother shows him a wevsite where he can put his stories that he writes on. Finally, he goes to the storyboard convention and noticed that a friend that he met online is there. Her name is Rebecca.
    I liked that it showed the stories that he posted. Also, I liked that he was able to communicate in some way. I didn't like it because it didn't keep me interested. I also disliked that it only showed his views, I did not know what the other kids thought of him.
    I wouldn't recommend this book for others because it feels like a biography. It is just not my kind of book. There is not a lot of action to it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1