Customer Reviews for

Anything But Typical

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating, challenging, enthralling, and incredibly well scripted

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for something a bit different from the ordinary. It will make you think, it will make you dream, it will make you believe in all that can be possible.

posted by 2767367 on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

The best part of this book is the artwork on the cover. I wish I hadn't wasted money on it, the reviews are misleading. There are many better authors to choose from. I think the writer was trying too hard or something.

posted by christie14 on March 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    great!

    All right i will admit it, i havent read the whole book yet. From what i have read, it has made me realize that autistic people arent as we see them. In the beginning of the book, he talks about how much pain he feels from the lightest touch. I wonder if things really are like what i have read. I am goin to look up this auhor!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Good

    Its a good book but it was really easy to eat every word made sense and nothing challanged me

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Tomany parts to get lost in

    You can get very lost and bored easily it goes bac kto when he was little and doesnt tell you it is not a very good book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Ok

    It was really good then I got to the big part of the story and that part was short and lame then when you thought you were getting to the end it just ended. It was like they riped out the end. I mean i understood it but it was worth the read i guews

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Hard to read :(

    I also have to read this book for school and i get lost too many times to understand what is going on. If your smart... DO NOT READ THIS BOOK !!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Anthing but typical

    I love this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Boringgg

    I have to read thia book over summer for school and i cant get through it because its sooo boringg wish me luckk!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Amazing book!!

    This book was one of the best books I ever read. It really gives you insight on how an autistic boy thinks and feels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    amazing

    I loved this story its excellent one of my favorite books of all time! I think you should definetaley read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    love it

    my teacher read it to my class and it was amazing! a definitly must. read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is an amazing Book! I think every one will enjoy it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Awesome book real page turner

    I loved this book. Read it or you wouldnt have lived life! I highly recommend this to anyone age 9+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    Anything But Typical - Great for Educators

    This book gives readers insight to the struggles and challenges that students with autism deal with on a daily basis. Written from the point of view of Jason, a twelve year old autistic boy, the book does a remarkable job portraying his life. He strives to have normal relationships and friendships, but finds it difficult due to his disorder. The book can be a little bit confusing at times because it is hard to tell the difference between his thoughts and what is actually happening in the book.

    Jason's only escape from the world is his writing - it's the only thing that calms him down and gives him great joy. The book makes you appreciate the patience and kindness that his mom, dad, and brother have. As a general education teacher, I would recommend this book to other educators. I don't have a lot of experience working with autistic children, but I feel like the book makes you understand this disorder from a new perspective. Overall, a great read with a heartfelt message.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not just "another autism book"

    This book gives a wonderful, realistic insight into how a kid in the autism spectrum works from the inside, without being trite or condescending. He wants many of the same things all kids want, but he just operates a bit differently. As an elementary school librarian, I work with a variety of children with many personalities and needs, and this book showed me how sometimes what adults think is the obvious way of helping a child can be exactly what he doesn't need. A must read for educators on all levels.

    A great pairing with Cynthia Lord's "Rules" for upper elementary or middle school discussion. My fifth grade son loves it and has read it several times. It not only validates any child's feelings that he and his problems are unique, but also gives a window into how everyone has their own inner motivations and compensations to get through their days, which often cause misunderstandings with the parents in their lives. Then ending is somewhat obvious to adults, but the right way to end. The cover art on the hardcover is lovely--the paperback might appeal or put off some kids.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Anything But Typical - great book about autistic boy

    Anything But Typical is written in first person, from the point of view of a boy with autism. He talks about the present, as well as the past. He has a word - a different word every day - that comes to him while he's getting ready for school every morning. Usually, this certain word will pertain to things that happen to him that day.

    The boy, Jason, has quite a sense of humor though he cannot handle situations with too much stimuli, people, noises, large or too small of spaces. Some of his ways of coping are to cinch his belt as tight as he can, flap his hands around in the air, etc. He also has sudden fits of rage, usually when he's been pushed too far by other kids.

    One of Jason's hobbies is writing - in fact words in general have a lot of meaning to him. It's very important for him to get on his computer at a certain time each day, and he has a ritual for turning on his computer. He gets on a storyboard site and writes stories and has begun an online friendship with another writer.

    I loved Jason's point of view, his perspective of his family, of the teachers at school - some of whom seem just as troubled as they accuse him of being, and of the other students at school. The descriptions of his stressed out moments really bring home to me what it must feel like to be oversensitive to the environment, and at the same time have difficulty seeing other faces. He avoids looking at faces, just listens to voices and watches the body movements of others.

    Though I've seen, over the years, many books with Nora Baskin's name on them, I've never actually read one of her novels. But I just couldn't pass this one up, and I'm glad that I decided to read this to the fifth grade class. I'm also surprised, pleasantly surprised at this class. I thought that they would be impatient or not quite understanding or empathetic of this narrative voice, but they seem to be hanging on the words as I read them out loud. Sometimes I ask them a question, like why do they think he feels a certain way at a certain moment and I'm impressed with their answers, with their interpretation of his actions and feelings. This is a great book to share with a class or with your own children, if you're the parent who reads with their kids. I think classes should have more books like this on their required reading lists, than some of the outdated books that they use year after year. At the least they should add this one as required reading- it's entertaining at the same time it teaches about bigotry (against conditions rather than race), impatience and bravery. Because this kid is brave, to go back everyday to school.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Boring and Mediocre

    Not worth the read. I do not recommend this book. I don't know why it has such good reviews. I found the writing style annoying and silly and feel like the author writes about a subject she really knows nothing about. Sorry, I'd pass this one up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo.com

    Jason is different from other 6th-graders. He loves routine, hates noisy, overcrowded places, and constantly reminds himself to breathe.

    He is obviously not like other NT's (neurotypicals), the so-called "normal" people in the world. The NT's say things, but nothing is ever behind the words. Jason doesn't understand why people talk and never mean what they say. This is why he doesn't look at anyone. Jason gets distracted by faces - the way they morph when someone is speaking.

    Such is the life of a young autistic boy. He longs to make everything okay, for his parents' sake, but progress is slow. Jason only feels "quiet" when he is on the computer. His stories allow him to take on different personas, and in that realm, he is safe and content.

    This novel gives an extraordinary view of an autistic child's life. Having Jason narrate his own story allows the reader a view into his world. It is chaotic, and sometimes frightening, but there is also hope.

    Jason's love of writing opens a whole new world to him. In that world, he can be whoever he wants to be; in that world, he is a "normal" kid.

    ANYTHING BUT TYPICAL is an excellent novel that everyone should read. It is eye-opening, unexpected, and thoughtful. Ms. Baskin deserves major kudos for this wonderful piece of writing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    Absolutely Must Read! Jason has left a lasting impression.

    Jason is autistic. It doesn't make him any less human just more difficult to understand sometimes. His movements are erratic and he does not always behave the way his mother wants him to. He thinks like a kid, but can not verbalize it in a way we are comfortable with. He's just like everybody else when he is on the internet writing his stories. He connects online with a girl called PhoenixBird (aka Rebecca) and a friendship begins...until he meets her at a storyboard convention. This book describes the frustration of trying to fit in, and what each of us can learn if we keep our hearts and minds open. It is an educational and uplifting book. This is one I will read over and over again.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    Anything but Typical

    Anything but Typical is a novel about an autistic sixth grade boy named Jason Blake. It is written in first person from the perspective of Jason. The entire book is basically the way Jason thinks. He describes his experiences and tells his reasoning for almost everything. His point of view and process of thinking is a little different compared to most people, or "neurotypical" people, as he likes to call them.
    Jason lives with his loving parents and one nine year old brother named Jeremy. Jeremy seems to be smarter than his older brother many times throughout the novel. Jason is and outcast at school and rarely is talked to. When he is, he cannot think of the right words to respond with. It is much easier for Jason to listen than respond. His favorite thing to do is write short stories and post it on a blog. He loves to read the thoughts and opinions others post about them. On the blog, Jason meets a girl named Rebecca. He finds it exciting when she compliments his writing by calling it "beautiful" and "touching". He is overjoyed seeing as most girls are repulsed or disgusted by him, so he is hardly ever talked to by one. When Jason finds himself liking this girl a lot, he gets scared. He is scared to see her face to face because she may not accept him for his disability. However, the relationship will go no where if they continue to only talk online.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Out of my mind is about cerebral palsy

    Just bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5