Customer Reviews for

Anything for You: A Coming Home Short Story

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

You don't have to read the first book to read this one!

Jessica first introduced readers to Shane Garrison and Jen St. James in Because of You. If you are a fan of Shane and Jen you are going to love this book. Even if you haven’t read Because of You, like me, you’re going to love this book.

In Because of You, Sergean...
Jessica first introduced readers to Shane Garrison and Jen St. James in Because of You. If you are a fan of Shane and Jen you are going to love this book. Even if you haven’t read Because of You, like me, you’re going to love this book.

In Because of You, Sergeant First Class Shane Garrison was almost killed in Iraq. Once back stateside, Jen was his nurse. Even before Jen and Shane spent time together trying to get Shane back on his feet,they shared a memorable kiss before he left for Iraq. Spending so much time together allowed Jen and Shane to fall in love with each other.

Anything for You picks up where Because of You left off. Even though I haven’t read Because of You, I have read various excerpts and I immediately fell in love with these characters. It’s no wonder they won’t let Jessica put them to rest. You can completely feel the love these two have for each other.

Anything for You is a short story that will allow you to see and feel the love these two have for each other. It’s about what they’re willing to give up to make sure the other is safe. This is a story that will have you laughing. It will also leave you wanting more of Jen and Shane and their incredible love story.

Source: Author
Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

posted by ReadYourWrites on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good novella

Consisted if 20 pages. This could have easily been included as the epilogue of previous book

posted by 8941603 on January 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 30 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    I love reading novellas. They¿re perfect for a quick late night

    I love reading novellas. They’re perfect for a quick late night read or a ‘in between’ book when you’re not quite ready to dig into another novel. They can be stand alone short stories or introductions to series, but I think my favorite type of novella is one that lets readers revisit characters that they have already been introduced to. That’s exactly what Jessica Scott treats readers to in Anything for You.
    Jen and Shane were featured in the first book in Scott’s Coming Home series, Because of You.  I loved this couple. Because of You was an intense read and even painful at times, but it was real and honest. Even though they still had a lot to overcome by the end, there still was hope that their love would win out. Revisiting them in Anything for You was just as real. They still had struggles to overcome and the fears that they each had in the first book didn’t just melt away because of their love for each other. The novella stayed just as true to the characters as their book did and I loved that.
    Reading Anything for You made me want to start reading the series all over again. A few of the supporting characters from the series made appearances, but since this was just a novella the main focus was on Jen and Shane. That was enough though. As short as this story was, a lot was packed into those pages. If you haven’t started this series yet, you need to pick it up. It’s a great glimpse into not only military life but relationships in general. I’ve said before that there’s no fluff or sugar coating to this series, it’s intense and real. There are no easy answers, no perfect solutions and no guarantees, just enough love and respect between two people to take a chance and sometimes that’s all you need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    **I received an Advanced Copy of this novel to read from the aut

    **I received an Advanced Copy of this novel to read from the author**


    This short story takes place a few months after “Because of You”, with Shane and Jen. With their wedding approaching and Shane’s recovery from having been blown up going well, Shane has turned his thoughts to having a family with Jen… not in the way you would think. In this emotional short story, you see the demons that both Jen and Shane still continue to face and fight.

    Once again we are drawn into Shane and Jen’s life; one where cancer is as real as a threat as going to war is. Shane has a ‘surprise’ for Jen. One he wants to discuss in his own way, when she finds out about his surprise, she gets thrown for a loop and has to look at things from his point of view. Their love and devotion to each other bring them through this new obstacle.

    We are also reunited, briefly with Shane’s friend and fellow trouble maker, Carponti for a bit of comic relief.

    Jessica did a fantastic job on this short story and gave me more of the story that captured my attention last year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    We've all read those books with characters that we fall in love

    We've all read those books with characters that we fall in love with and when the book is done, we wonder what happened to? In this novella, we get the next part of Jen and Shane. In this story we get to find out how deep their love is and what they're willing to sacrifice for each other because of that love.

    While reading this my heart ached for both of them, I could feel emotions for both of their sides of the issue facing them. Would you be willing to not prevent even the smallest chance of preventing a return of Jen's cancer? Would you ever ask the man you love to give up a part of who he is and was when you met him to keep him safe for you? These are the questions Shane and Jen have to answer.

    I do recommend reading Because of You first to get the first part of Shane and Jen's story. I loved this story. Well done Jessica!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Shane and Jen are the best

    Jessica Scott writes complex, flawed charactors that you can't help but love. From Jessica's first word, these two drew me in. Her treatment of this part of thier lives was realistic and inspiring. The relationship between fear and courage is often present in Jessica's work, it is a welcome trait in a genre that does not always handle this realistically. It so well articulated in both Jen and Shane that you can't help but be drawn in. I loved this book, and can't wait for Reza.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A special treat for Shane and Jen fans! After reading Because of

    A special treat for Shane and Jen fans!
    After reading Because of You, Shane and Jen immediately became one of my favorite couples. I craved to read about them again. Set around their first Valentine's Day together, Anything for You is a continuation of their story, and what a special treat it is!

    Although short, Anything for You is every bit satisfying, romantic, and, well, so very Shane and Jen! I love that this story goes beyond being light and fluffy. These two deal with some pretty heavy issues as they build a life together. Mostly, its about them facing their biggest fears as a couple, and learning to work as a team, since they are very much in love and together now. In the midst of all the seriousness, a little amusement is thrown in, too. I had to giggle at some of Carponti's remarks as Shane tries to discuss a very difficult subject with him.

    When I reached the end, I couldn't help but go back and read it again. Anything for You has the right combination of tension and romance for a short story. Thank you, Jessica Scott, for giving your fans more from this couple. I hope Shane and Jen whisper in your ear again so that we can revisit them in the future. In the meantime, I'm very much looking forward to see how the loose ends are tied up with Laura and Trent in Back to You.

    So for fans of the Coming Home series, this is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Anything For You A Coming Home Short Story by Jessica Scott Shan

    Anything For You A Coming Home Short Story by Jessica Scott
    Shane Garrison is back from the war recuperating. His physical therapist is Jennifer St. James who he now lives with. They have a loving caring relationship til he decides he might need to take the future into his own hands, but he does want to discuss it with her.

    Hot steamy sex scenes only add to the intensity of their love for one another. She's got fears of him returning to the war and he does also but more about the cancer that may return in her body.
    He never gets to bring it up first as she finds out and doesn't understand at all. Luckily Jen talks to her girlfriend and she has other ideas that might solve the problem they are faced with.

    Love their meeting place to get away from it all and how they are able to listen to each others fears about the future and how to go about it so neither will get harmed.

    They got each others backs....
    Liked that there were only a handful of characters to concentrate on because then you can get inside their heads.
    An excerpt BITTEN BY DECEIT by Shawntelle Madison is also included.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 30 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2